conversations

ARTIST TALK

Teheran

conversations

Teheran
Teheran
Kaaistudio's
Sat 18.02.23

The artists featured in the festival will discuss the current artistic scene and the social and political context in Tehran.

Maarten vanden Eynde & Femke Herregraven

Charging Myths (working title)

conversations

Charging Myths (working title)
Charging Myths (working title)
Online
Wed 29.03.23

As part of the programme around the exhibition Charging Myths, artists Femke Herregraven and Maarten vanden Eynde (collective On-Trade-Off), delve into the technological, social and mythical dimensions of global extraction as a part of their research into lithium mining in Congo.

Manuela Infante

Things we know we will never know

conversations

Things we know we will never know
Things we know we will never know
KVS BOL
Mon 17.04.23

There is a place that human knowledge can never access. The horizon marks that boundary, but it’s also in here, in our body, psyche, biography and history. This evening focuses on the Horizon as a stretching, morphing boundary, exploring the connection of the unknown-out-there, and in the unknown-in-here. A night to talk about the things we know we will never know.   

Amanda Piña, Paz Rojo & Victoria Pérez Royo

Less-than-human

conversations

Less-than-human
Less-than-human
Online
Fri 05.05.23

Artists and researchers Amanda Piña, Paz Rojo, and Victoria Pérez Royo find each other around practices of decentralizing the classical-western human condition. They boldly propose the less-than-human, instead of adding new and extra attributions.

The Wonders of Multilingualism #4

Language and Power

conversations

Language and Power
Language and Power
Kaaistudio's
Tue 09.05.23

In this fourth instalment of 'The wonders of multilingualism', we talk about language and power. Each time, this series explores a different aspect of our multilingual society. Short artistic interventions fuel the conversations, both in group and among themselves.

Chiara Bersani & Giulia Traversi

Everybody is in need of care

conversations

Everybody is in need of care
Everybody is in need of care
Online
Wed 07.06.23

Artist Chiara Bersani and curator and producer Giulia Traversi have been collaborating for nearly ten years — and care work based on interdependence has been a big part of their time spent together. Drawing upon more-than-human and intersectional feminist accounts of care, Chiara and Giulia will open up a discussion on the many questions their joint care work has raised. 

FATSABBATS

FATSABBATS

workshop sharing party conversations

FATSABBATS
FATSABBATS
Kaaistudio's
Fri 09.12 - Sat 10.12.22

FATSABBATS is a self-managed, polymorphous, and safer space created by and for queer and racialised communities and their allies in Brussels. For two days and two nights, it showcases the skills of these communities at the Kaaistudio’s through concerts, performances, exhibitions, memorable sweaty parties, and more.

NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA

conversations debate

NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA
NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA
De Kriekelaar
Fri 28.10 - Sat 29.10.22

Met IT’S EXTRA nodigen we je uit wat langer te blijven en iets extra te ervaren. Kunstenaars gidsen je door het universum van hun voorstelling en kiezen hier verschillende vormen voor: na NECROPOLIS maken we tweemaal tijd voor een gesprek.

Ana Vujanović & Bojana Cvejić

Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"

conversations

Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"
Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"
Kaaistudio's
Thu 20.10.22

During the book launch of Toward a Transindividual Selfat the Kaaistudio's, authors Ana Vujanović & Bojana Cvejić invite four guests. Together they'll look into the process of individuation, which precedes and exceeds the individual, encompassing biological, social, and technological conditions of becoming whose real potential is transindividual, or more specifically, social transformation.

Ecopolis 2022

OPGELET: DIT EVENEMENT VINDT PLAATS IN DE ANCIENNE BELGIQUE  !!!

colloquium debate conversations

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Ancienne Belgique
Sat 15.10.22

Social, ecological and economic crises force us to think about a radically different way of living. "The world is not about to end; we are already living with a different world," writes philosopher Bayo Akomolafe, speaker at the eighth edition of Ecopolis where artists, thinkers and doers break open our frames. This year, Ecopolis brings stories that depict an inclusive and sustainable future for this new world.

Between Glitter and Compost

Suzana Milevska and Myriam Bahaffou, moderated by Philsan Osman

conversations

Suzana Milevska and Myriam Bahaffou, moderated by Philsan Osman
Suzana Milevska and Myriam Bahaffou, moderated by Philsan Osman
Kaaistudio's
Fri 14.10.22

In May 2021 Kaaitheater invited art theorist and curator Suzana Milevska for an online lecture on ecofeminist art practices. This October she will resume this talk in live Brussels and will be joined by researcher and ecofeminist activist Myriam Bahaffou. Join us for a fruitful ecofeminist dialogue between two researchers who value the place of the dirty, the mixture and the hybrid.

How to recognize, fight and prevent domestic abuse?

Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 

conversations

Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 
Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 
LaVallée
Sat 12.03.22

One of the most harmful outcomes of the pandemic has been the sharp increase in domestic violence all over the globe. In this conversation, we ask Triene-Mie Le Copmpte, Anne Groenen and Olivier Slosse, professionals in the field to shed their light on the realities of domestic violence as portrayed in Markus Ohrn’s piece.

conversations

ARTIST TALK

Teheran

conversations

Teheran
Teheran
Kaaistudio's
sa 18.02.23

Les artistes invités dans le cadre du festival discuteront de la scène artistique actuelle et le contexte social et politique à Téhéran.

Maarten vanden Eynde & Femke Herregraven

Charging Myths (working title)

conversations

Charging Myths (working title)
Charging Myths (working title)
Online
me 29.03.23

Dans le cadre du programme autour de l'exposition Charging Myths, les artistes Femke Herregraven et Maarten Vanden Eynde (collectif On-Trade-Off), se plongent dans les dimensions technologiques, sociales et mythiques de l'extraction mondiale dans le cadre de leur recherche sur l'exploitation du lithium au Congo.

Manuela Infante

Things we know we will never know

conversations

Things we know we will never know
Things we know we will never know
KVS BOL
lu 17.04.23

Il y a un endroit auquel la connaissance humaine ne peut jamais accéder. L'horizon marque cette frontière, mais il se trouve aussi ici, dans notre corps, notre psyché, notre biographie et notre histoire. Cette soirée se concentre sur l'Horizon en tant que frontière qui s'étire et se transforme, explorant la connexion de l'inconnu là-bas au loin et de l'inconnu intérieur. Une nuit pour parler des choses que nous savons que nous ne saurons jamais.  

Amanda Piña, Paz Rojo & Victoria Pérez Royo

Less-than-human

conversations

Less-than-human
Less-than-human
Online
ve 05.05.23

Les artistes et chercheuses Amanda Piña, Paz Rojo et Victoria Pérez Royo se rencontrent autour de pratiques de décentralisation de la condition humaine classique occidentale. Elles proposent avec audace le moins qu'humain, au lieu d'ajouter des attributions nouvelles et supplémentaires.

The Wonders of Multilingualism #4

Taal en Macht

conversations

Taal en Macht
Taal en Macht
Kaaistudio's
ma 09.05.23

Dans ce quatrième épisode de Les merveilles du multilinguisme, nous parlons de langue et de pouvoir. Cette série explore à chaque fois un aspect différent de notre société multilingue. De courtes interventions artistiques alimentent les conversations, tant en groupe qu'entre elles.

Chiara Bersani & Giulia Traversi

Everybody is in need of care

conversations

Everybody is in need of care
Everybody is in need of care
Online
me 07.06.23

L'artiste Chiara Bersani et la commissaire d'exposition et productrice Giulia Traversi collaborent depuis près de dix ans - et le travail de soins basés sur l'interdépendance, a constitué une grande partie de leur temps passé ensemble. S'appuyant sur des récits féministes de soins plus qu'humains et intersectionnels, Chiara et Giulia ouvriront une discussion sur les nombreuses questions que leur travail commun portant sur les soins a soulevées.

FATSABBATS

FATSABBATS

workshop sharing party conversations

FATSABBATS
FATSABBATS
Kaaistudio's
ve 09.12 - sa 10.12.22

FATSABBATS est une plateforme safer polymorphe autogérée, portée à bout de bras et imaginée par et pour les communautés Queer et les personnes racisé·es ainsi que leurs allié·es à Bruxelles. Pendant deux jours et deux nuits au Kaaistudio’s iels mettens en valeur les savoir-faire de ces communautés au travers de concerts, performances, expositions, soirées moites mémorables, et bien d'autres.

NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA

conversations débat

NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA
NECROPOLIS | IT'S EXTRA
De Kriekelaar
ve 28.10 - sa 29.10.22

MAvec IT'S EXTRA, nous vous invitons à rester un peu plus longtemps et à vivre une expérience extra. Les artistes vous guident dans l'univers de leur spectacle et choisissent pour cela différentes formes : après les représentations de NECROPOLIS, nous organisons un débat et une discussion d'après-spectacle.

Ana Vujanović & Bojana Cvejić

Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"

conversations

Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"
Book launch "Toward a Transindividual Self"
Kaaistudio's
je 20.10.22

À l'occasion du lancement du livre Toward a Transindividual Self, au Kaaistudio's, les autrices Ana Vujanović & Bojana Cvejić convient quatre invitées. Elles se pencheront ensemble sur le processus d'individuation, qui précède et dépasse l'individu, englobant les conditions biologiques, sociales et technologiques du devenir, dont le véritable potentiel est le transindividuel, ou plus précisément la transformation sociale.

Ecopolis 2022

OPGELET: DIT EVENEMENT VINDT PLAATS IN DE ANCIENNE BELGIQUE  !!!

colloque débat conversations

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Ancienne Belgique
sa 15.10.22

Les crises sociales, écologiques et économiques nous forcent à réfléchir à un mode de vie radicalement différent. "La fin du monde n'est pas imminente ; nous vivons déjà dans un monde différent", écrit le philosophe Bayo M. Akomolafe, intervenant à la huitième édition d'Ecopolis, où des artistes, des penseur·euses et des créateur·ices brisent nos cadres. Cette année, Ecopolis propose des histoires qui dépeignent un avenir inclusif et durable pour ce nouveau monde.

Between Glitter and Compost

Suzana Milevska & Myriam Bahaffou

conversations

Suzana Milevska & Myriam Bahaffou
Suzana Milevska & Myriam Bahaffou
Kaaistudio's
ve 14.10.22

En mai 2021, le Kaaitheater a invité la curatrice et théoricienne des cultures visuelles Suzana Milevska pour une conférence en ligne sur les pratiques artistiques écoféministes. En octobre prochain, elle reprendra cette conférence en direct à Bruxelles, et sera rejointe par la chercheuse et activiste écoféministe Myriam Bahaffou.  L’objectif est de générer un dialogue écoféministe fructueux entre deux chercheuses qui valorisent la place du sale, du mélange et de l'hybride.

How to recognize, fight and prevent domestic abuse?

Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 

conversations

Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 
Triene Mie Lecompte, Anne Groenen, Olivier Slosse & Annabelle van Nieuwenhuyse 
LaVallée
sa 12.03.22

L'une des conséquences les plus néfastes de la pandémie a été la forte augmentation de la violence domestique dans le monde entier. Dans cette conversation, nous demandons à trois professionnel·les compétent·es dans ce domaine, de nous éclairer sur les réalités de la violence domestique telles qu'elles sont dépeintes dans le performance de Markus Ohrn.