Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Spoken World 09

Festival

A gigantic ‘acceleration’ in world history

After 40 years of Cold War, in 1989 the world turned upside down. In just one year, all the communist states of Central and Eastern Europe  and finally also the Soviet Union itself  disappeared. The symbolic moment of course was the fall of the Berlin Wall. 1989, however, was much more than the lifting of the Iron Curtain. It was a pivotal year everywhere in the world: the bloodbath at Tiananmen Square in Beijing, the death of Khomeini in Iran, the withdrawal of Russian troops from Afghanistan (with an enormous impact on the entire Central Asian region), the triumph of neo-liberalism, the beginning of the end of Apartheid in South Africa…

After all of these events, expectations were high throughout the world. Bush Sr. announced a ‘New World Order’ at the start of 1990. World order and world chaos, however, were more closely intertwined than anyone could surmise in 1989.

In its second edition of Spoken World, Kaaitheater gives the floor to artists, writers and opinion leaders who will speak about this gigantic ‘acceleration’ in world history that characterised the two decades between 1989 and 2009, and the world that resulted from it.

Spoken World Tickets: prices from 20 years ago!
- video, debates, speech acts, party: free!
- performances: only €7.50* (except Belarus Free Theatre and the Brussels Brecht-Eisler Koor: €15/12)

Spoken Dinners: The chef of the Kaaicafé will be preparing special festival dishes during Spoken World, inspired by the countries the artists come from. In the Kaaistudios we shall be serving small savoury snacks, but only on the days when there are festival performances.

Speech Acts: Artists and writers here talk briefly and to the point. At the invitation of the Kaaitheater, they give highly personal views of 1989 and related topics. Free.

Spoken World Bookshop: During Spoken World, De Groene Waterman bookshop offers a fine selection of books related to the themes of the festival. In the Kaaitheater.

The image for the Spoken World poster was designed by the Spanish artist Alicia Framis (1967). She deals with social and political topics in both performances and visual work. She lives and works in Shanghai.


A Kaaitheater festival, in association with Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren (Brussels) | thanks to Argos (Brussels), MO*magazine (Brussels) and Theatre in Motion (Beijing) | special thanks to De Morgen & Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest/Région de Bruxelles-Capitale

 

 

Programmed in Spoken World 09:

Events

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Spoken World 09

Festival

Une « accélération » gigantesque dans l’histoire du monde 

Après 40 ans de Guerre froide, le monde a basculé en 1989. En un an, tous les pays communistes d’Europe centrale et d’Europe de l’Est ont disparu, jusqu’à la désintégration de l’Union soviétique, deux ans plus tard. Le moment le plus symbolique est bien entendu la chute du Mur de Berlin. Mais l’année 1989 représente bien plus que la levée du Rideau de Fer. C’est une année charnière dans le monde entier : le massacre de la place Tian’anmen à Pékin, la mort de l’ayatollah Khomeiny en Iran, le retrait des troupes soviétiques de l’Afghanistan (et l’impact énorme que cela a exercé sur toute l’Asie centrale), le triomphe du néolibéralisme, le début de la fin de l’apartheid en Afrique du Sud…

Après tous ces événements, les attentes étaient à leur comble, mondialement. Au début de l’année 1990, Bush senior annonce un Nouvel Ordre mondial. Mais ordre et désordre mondial se chevauchent bien plus que quiconque ne pouvait s’en douter en 1989.

Pour sa deuxième édition de Spoken World, le Kaaitheater donne la parole à des artistes, des auteurs et des leaders d’opinion à propos de l’accélération gigantesque de l’Histoire qui marque les deux dernières décennies et du monde qui en a émergé.

Spoken World 09 : des billets aux prix de 1989 !
- vidéo, débats, party & speech acts : accès gratuit !
- spectacles : seuls € 7,5 (sauf Belarus Free Theatre & Brussels Brecht-Eisler Koor: € 15/12)

Spoken Dinners : Tout au long de Spoken World, le chef du Kaaicafé prépare des plats « spécial festival », inspirés des pays d’origine des artistes. Au Kaaistudio’s nous servons de petits snacks savoureux, uniquement les jours où l’on y donne des spectacles du festival.

Speech Acts : Artistes et auteurs s’expriment brièvement, mais sans mâcher leurs mots. À la demande du Kaaitheater, ils donnent leur vision hautement personnelle de l’année 1989 et de thèmes concomitants. Gratuit.

Spoken World Bookshop : Pendant Spoken World, la librairie De Groene Waterman propose une sélection intéressante d’ouvrages dont les thèmes recoupent ceux du festival. Au Kaaitheater.

L’affiche de Spoken World est une conception de l’artiste espagnole Alicia Framis (1967), dont les performances et les œuvres visuelles abordent des thèmes sociaux et politiques. Elle vit et travaille à Shanghai.


A Kaaitheater festival, in association with Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren (Brussels) | thanks to Argos (Brussels), MO*magazine (Brussels) and Theatre in Motion (Beijing) | special thanks to De Morgen & Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest/Région de Bruxelles-Capitale

Programmed in Spoken World 09:

Events