Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

Performatik17

Festival

BODILY ATTEMPTS AT SOCIAL SCULPTING

Since the sixties, performance art has been going through a second wave, also in our museums. It is like a vat of indefinable visual creations that mix up genres in a huge variety of locations; last anything from a single minute to a whole year; and are aimed at a single person, a crowd or a chance passer-by. The body often plays a central role.

Performatik17 will be entering the intriguing twilight zone where artists – in collaboration with a number of different Brussels-based partners – tinker with the codes of visual arts and the performing arts. And with your position as a spectator. For if a revival of performance art is bringing about a renewal in the arts, then this now chiefly lies in the radical questioning of your position: your gaze as a museum visitor, your role as a theatrical spectator, or something beyond this.

In Performatik17 the intrinsic meaning of a work is less important than the act of creating something together in the here and now. This is what collectively we so ardently crave – at a time in which even ‘public’ space no longer brings people together. Instead it seems to be an accumulation of individual islands, each encased by a bubble – the bubble of facebooktwittersnapchatinstagram through which we pass on experience before we fully experience it ourselves. Or vice-versa: we follow an experience somewhere else without being present ourselves.

In Performatik17, Alioum Moussa and Maarten Vanden Eynde invite you for a discussion about what (in)dependence means. Daan ‘t Sas and Lotte van den Berg enter into a wordless discussion with you. And Kate McIntosh allows you to rediscover the playful and tactile side of communication. Visual artist Grace Schwindt – in her first creation for the theatre – infuses Bernini’s sculpture of Daphne and Apollo with movement. Conversely, choreographer DD Dorvillier presents a danced collection of her works while a youngster in the New York 90’s. Ieva Misevičiūtė heads outside to explore survival modes in the public space. Elsewhere there is construction and demolition going on: Philippe Quesne brings the landscape painter Caspar David Friedrich’s studio onto the stage, while Feiko Beckers constructs hermitages on stilts. In the meantime, Jozef Wouters, Meg Stuart and Jeroen Peeters construct the artists’ spaces of the future.

This edition of Performatik puts two historical anchor points in the spotlight. Trajal Harrell and Ola Maciejewska take as their starting point the work of Loïe Fuller, a performance artist – long before the term was invented – who influenced both Picasso and modern dance. Bozar will be paying tribute to Yves Klein by showing unseen masterpieces and rarely exhibited visual works. Pieter Van den Bosch and Miet Warlop are literally empowering the opening of the exhibition, turning Klein’s heritage into a modus operandi for today.

From movement in sculptures to the sculpting of movement: body sculptures play a central role in this edition. They are never monumental, and are always fragile. Performatik17 opts for probability over certainty. For the careful creation of social sculptures. Together with you.

PARTNERS ARGOS centre for art and media | Beursschouwburg | Bozar | CC Strombeek | Centrale For Contemporary Art | Enough Room for Space | Muntpunt | Passa Porta | Q-O2 | Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain | Wiels | workspacebrussels | ZSenne artlab

with the extra support of the Brussels Capital Region

read the article on Performatik 2013 by Pieter T'Jonck

Performatik17 press page

Performatik17 pro page

Presented by
Kaaitheater Argos Boghossian Foundation Bozar Beursschouwburg CC Strombeek De centrale ENOUGH ROOM FOR SPACE Passa Porta Q-02 WIELS workspacebrussels Zsenne Artlab Muntpunt

Programmed in Performatik17:

Events

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

Performatik17

Festival

TENTATIVES PHYSIQUES DE SCULPTURE SOCIALE

L’art de la performance connaît un second souffle depuis les années 60, dans les musées aussi. Comme un creuset de créations visuelles indéfinissables qui brassent les genres, dans les lieux les plus divergents, d’une durée allant d’une minute à toute une année, conçues pour une personne, pour une foule ou pour le passant fortuit. Le plus souvent avec le corps comme élément central.

Performatik17 se rend – avec différents partenaires bruxellois – dans l’intéressante zone d’ombre où les créateurs tripotent aux codes des arts plastiques et du spectacle vivant. Et à la position du spectateur. Car, si le revival de l’art de la performance suscite un renouvellement des arts, c’est précisément dans ce domaine. Dans la remise en question radicale de la position du spectateur, allant du regard muséal au spectateur de théâtre et au-delà.

Dans le cadre de Performatik17, la signification intrinsèque d’une œuvre a moins d’importance que la création dans l’ici et maintenant. C’est ce à quoi nous aspirons collectivement – à une époque où même les espaces publics ne réunissent plus les gens, mais se révèlent un empilement d’îlots individuels dans une bulle. La bulle facebooktwittersnapchatinstagram qui nous fait transmettre l’expérience avant même de l’avoir pleinement vécue nous-mêmes. Ou inversement, suivre un vécu qui se déroule ailleurs sans être soi-même « présent ».

À l’occasion de Performatik17, Alioum Moussa et Maarten Vanden Eynde nous invitent à une discussion sur la signification de l’(in)dépendance. Daan ‘t Sas et Lotte van den Berg entament, quant à eux, un dialogue muet avec le public. Et Kate McIntosh nous fait redécouvrir l’aspect ludique et tactile de la communication. Dans sa première création pour le théâtre, la plasticienne Grace Schwindt anime la sculpture Apollon et Daphné du Bernin. Inversement, la chorégraphe DD Dorvillier présente une collection dansée de ses œuvres de jeunesse dans années 90 à New York. Ieva Misevičiūté sort explorer les modes de survie dans les espaces publics. Ailleurs, on construit et on démolit : Philippe Quesne reconstitue l’atelier du paysagiste Caspar David Friedrich sur scène, tandis que Feiko Beckers bricole des cabanes d’ermites sur pilotis. Entre-temps, Jozef Wouters, Meg Stuart et Jeroen Peeters réalisent les espaces artistiques du futur.

Cette édition braque les projecteurs sur deux points d’ancrage historiques. Trajal Harrell et Ola Maciejewska partent de l’œuvre de Loïe Fuller qui, en tant qu’artiste de la performance avant la lettre, a influencé aussi bien Picasso que la danse moderne. Bozar rend hommage à Yves Klein en exposant des chefs-d’œuvre rarement exposés ou inédits. Pieter Van den Bosch et Miet Warlop électrisent littéralement l’inauguration de l’exposition en transformant l’héritage de Klein en mode opératoire contemporain.

Du mouvement dans des sculptures à la sculpture du mouvement : les sculptures vivantes sont au cœur de cette édition. Elles ne sont jamais monumentales, toujours fragiles. Performatik17 opte plutôt pour la probabilité que la certitude. Pour la création prudente de sculptures sociales. Avec vous.

PARTENAIRES : ARGOS centre for art and media | Beursschouwburg | Bozar | CC Strombeek | Centrale For Contemporary Art | Enough Room for Space | Muntpunt | Passa Porta | Q-O2 | Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain | Wiels | workspacebrussels | ZSenne artlab

avec le support extra de la région Bruxelles-Capitale

'Dix jours pour découvrir cet art fragile, éphémère, fait de “sculptures sociales”, comme disait Joseph Beuys, et de peintures dansées.' - La Libre sur Performatik17

Performatik17 page presse

Performatik17 page professionels

 

Presented by
Kaaitheater Argos Boghossian Foundation Bozar Beursschouwburg CC Strombeek De centrale ENOUGH ROOM FOR SPACE Passa Porta Q-02 Wiels workspacebrussels Zsenne Artlab Muntpunt

Programmed in Performatik17:

Events