Third Space / Lotte van den Berg [NL]

Dying Together

16.03 – 17.03.2019

What happens on a fully booked airplane of people who do not know each other when it becomes clear that it is going to crash? Do the passengers become isolated within themselves or do they turn to one another for support? And how do the bodies relate to each other after the crash? Does it matter who was a Christian, Muslim, or atheist?
‘Death deserves our attention, not our fear,’ Lotte van den Berg says. ‘In this work, I hope to create a space in which we as a group can explore situations in which people die together. Not in order to evoke horror or sentimentality, but to focus our concerted attention on the relationships that these people enter into with one another at the moment of their death, whether or not they really want to.’
In Dying Together, you will take part in a physically performed thought experiment. A gradually changing constellation of people – and the physical relationships between them – creates a colourful pallet of possible relationships.

• The work of theatre director Lotte van den Berg investigates the ways in which we relate to each other. She blurs the boundary between the performers and the audience, such as in her earlier work Building Conversation, which was presented during Performatik17.

 


concept & direction Lotte van den Berg | together with Floor van Leeuwen (performer), Gerindo Kamid Kartadinata (performer), Justyna Wielgus (performer), Matteo Bifulco (performer), Lukas von der Lühe (performer), Polly Lapkovskaya (composition), Breg Horemans (scenography), Vinny Jones (lighting design), Tobias Staab (dramaturgy) & Salomé Mooij (assistant director) | production Third Space | co-production Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Schauspielhaus Bochum, Festival BLVRD, Vooruit, BUDA, SoAP, BIT Teatergarasjen, Nanterre-Amandiers | made possible by Fonds Podiumkunsten, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, VSBFonds, Ammodo Fonds & Fonds21

Third Space / Lotte van den Berg [NL]

Dying Together

Dying Together
Dying Together

16.03 – 17.03.2019

Que se passe-t-il quand, dans un avion rempli de passagers qui ne se connaissent pas, il devient évident que l’appareil va s’écraser ? Les passagers se replient-ils sur eux-mêmes ou s’accrochent-ils les uns aux autres ? Et comment les corps se rapportent-ils les uns aux autres après l’accident ? Est-ce encore important de savoir qui était chrétien, musulman, juif ou athée ?
« La mort mérite notre attention, pas notre peur », explique Lotte van den Berg. Avec cette production, j’espère créer de la latitude pour pouvoir regarder conjointement des situations de décès collectifs. Non pas pour éveiller le sentiment d’horreur d’une telle situation, mais pour accorder une attention apaisée à la relation que ces personnes engagent, volontairement ou involontairement, au moment de mourir ensemble.
Lors de Dying Together, nous participons à un exercice de réflexion exécuté de manière physique. Dans une constellation qui change graduellement, de même que les rapports entre les personnes qui la composent, naît une palette multicolore de relations possibles.

• L’œuvre de la femme de théâtre Lotte van den Berg analyse les manières dont nous interagissons. La frontière entre qui est performeur et qui est spectateur s’estompe, comme précédemment dans Building Conversation, qui était au programme de Performatik17.


concept & direction Lotte van den Berg | together with Floor van Leeuwen (performer), Gerindo Kamid Kartadinata (performer), Justyna Wielgus (performer), Matteo Bifulco (performer), Lukas von der Lühe (performer), Polly Lapkovskaya (composition), Breg Horemans (scenography), Vinny Jones (lighting design), Tobias Staab (dramaturgy) & Salomé Mooij (assistant director) | production Third Space | co-production Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Schauspielhaus Bochum, Festival BLVRD, Vooruit, BUDA, SoAP, BIT Teatergarasjen, Nanterre-Amandiers | made possible by Fonds Podiumkunsten, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, VSBFonds, Ammodo Fonds & Fonds21

programmaboekje

Sujets apparentés

‘The crash forced bodies together’, zei men.

Een gesprek met Lotte van den Berg

‘The crash forced bodies together’, zei men.
‘The crash forced bodies together’, zei men.

article

je 21.02.19

Voor Lotte van den Berg heeft kunst te maken met ruimte creëren: ruimte om te onderzoeken hoe we ons verhouden tegenover elkaar. Nu laat ze ons in Dying Together kijken naar verhoudingen tussen mensen tijdens grote catastrofes. Een gesprek met Lotte van den Berg.