#newarrivals

We are welcoming these artists to Kaaitheater for the first time

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

dance

minor matter
minor matter

dance

Fri 09.03 - Sat 10.03.18

Ligia Lewis turns to the colour red – in between love and rage – while asking questions about (re)presentation, abstraction, and the limits of signification. Three performers push their bodies against the boundaries of the theatre while simultaneously showing their humble relationship with it. Exhaustion reaches increasingly high levels on a journey to the stage's essential matter: black. Lewis was awarded the prestigious Bessie award for minor matter.

Kyoko Scholiers

Misconnected

installation

Misconnected
Misconnected

installation

Wed 09.09 - Sun 13.09.20

Kyoko Scholiers had a telephone booth travel around for a year. She took it to prisoners, refugees, the homeless, prostitutes, patients, and the unlucky. During Misconnected, you enter the phonebooth yourself and you hear five-minute audio fragments. Just briefly, you witness the problems and complaints that one caller told Scholiers over the course of that year.

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

music theatre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

music

Sat 04.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

For this adaptation of Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo called on Ben Okri, who adapted the novel into a magic-realist story about the gulf between high and low, rich and poor. Josse De Pauw and the soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga take to the stage to perform an energized and jazzy opera about the need for rapprochement in an increasingly polarized society.

Mădălina Dan & Agata Siniarska

Mothers of Steel

performance

Mothers of Steel
Mothers of Steel

performance

Thu 05.12 - Fri 06.12.19

During a meditative crying marathon that lasts almost an hour, two futuristic female characters question the mechanisms that turn personal emotions into political phenomena. In a choreography that uses video and large sheets of paper – simultaneously protest signs and drying laundry – their tears of weakness become an act of political power.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Nu ben ik Medea

theatre

Nu ben ik Medea
Nu ben ik Medea

theatre

Wed 11.03 - Thu 12.03.20

In this personal performance, Khadija El Kharraz Alami blends perspectives from Euripides’ Medea with her own story about growing up between both the Western and the Moroccan world – and about the clash of forces within the self.

Katja Dreyer

Ophelia comes to Brooklyn

theatre

Ophelia comes to Brooklyn
Ophelia comes to Brooklyn

theatre

Tue 25.09 - Wed 26.09.18

Ophelia Comes to Brooklyn is a theatre script that Antje Katcher wrote in 1982. In 1967, when she was 20 years old, she emigrated from a small German town to New York City. When she died in 2014, she left an inheritance for her niece: Katja Dreyer. Now, by staging Ophelia Comes to Brooklyn, three actors are attempting to decipher that play and Antje’s life itself.

Rochdi Belgasmi

Ouled Jellaba

dance

Ouled Jellaba
Ouled Jellaba

dance

Thu 01.01.70

In this solo production, Rochdi Belgasmi brings the swinging twenties in Tunis back to life. In the evening, the bakeries, fish shops, and butchers’ shops were transformed into café chantants, and men transformed into ‘Ouled Jellaba’. They poured tea, juggled, and sang, but more important than anything else, they danced – as women.

Iggy Lond Malmborg

Physics and Phantasma

performance

Physics and Phantasma
Physics and Phantasma

performance

Fri 31.01 - Sat 01.02.20

While many creators praise the empty stage as the central place for fantasy, in Physics and Phantasma it becomes compulsive and traumatic. The vacuum must at all costs by filled with something! To this end, Iggy Lond Malmborg takes you on a journey to random and dark corners of your imagination: the place where this solo takes shape.

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

dance

Salt
Salt

dance

Thu 19.10.17

As a new voice within the contemporary Indonesian dance landscape, Eko Supriyanto explores the relationship between Javanese cultural heritage and the rhythm of the underwater world – a world without gravity where new perspectives emerge. He draws from his classical dance training, his diving experience, and the Javanese agricultural tradition of carving in the ground. 

Emke Idema

STRANGER

theatre

STRANGER
STRANGER

theatre

Wed 28.03.18

Step into a playful and probing social laboratory. STRANGER is a life-sized board game that explores first impressions. Can you share with others the thoughts you have when you see an unknown face?

Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada

Symphony of Expectation

music

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

music

Wed 18.03.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Symphony of Expectation combines two iconic, 20th-century compositions: Sinfonia by Luciano Berio and Erwartung by Arnold Schönberg. One second of the maximal spiritual excitement of a female main character explodes into an intense theatrical experience.

Anneleen Keppens

The moon is the moon is the moon

dance

The moon is the moon is the moon
The moon is the moon is the moon

dance

Fri 27.04 - Sat 28.04.18

The moon is the moon is the moon deconstructs the structure of a dance trio and exposes its building blocks. Just like the preparatory sketches for a painting, the performance begins with various perspectives and movements. The individual layers that you discover in the choreography invite you to see things in new ways.

Pages

#newarrivals

Des artistes que nous accueillons pour la première fois au Kaaitheater

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

danse

minor matter
minor matter

danse

ve 09.03 - sa 10.03.18

Ligia Lewis se tourne vers la couleur rouge – interrogeant la (re)présentation, l’abstraction et les limites de signification. Trois performeurs poussent leurs corps jusqu’aux frontières du théâtre tout en montrant simultanément l’humble relation qu’ils entretiennent avec la discipline. L’épuisement atteint des niveaux toujours plus élevés au cours d’un trajet vers la matière essentielle de la scène : le noir. minor matter a valu à Lewis le prestigieux Bessie award.

Kyoko Scholiers

Misconnected

installation

Misconnected
Misconnected

installation

me 09.09 - di 13.09.20

Kyoko Scholiers a fait voyager une année durant une cabine téléphonique. Lors de Misconnected, vous entrez dans la cabine et vous y entendez un montage sonore de cinq minutes. Vous êtes brièvement témoin des lamentations qu’un des interlocuteurs a confiées à Scholiers au cours de cette année.

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

musique théâtre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

musique

sa 04.04.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Pour cette adaptation de Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo a fait appel à Ben Okri. Celui-ci a revisité le texte qui devient un récit magique réaliste sur le fossé entre haut et bas, riche et pauvre. Sur scène, Josse De Pauw et la soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga interprètent ensemble un opéra jazzy dynamique sur la nécessité d’un rapprochement entre les êtres humains dans une société toujours plus polarisée.

Mădălina Dan & Agata Siniarska

Mothers of Steel

performance

Mothers of Steel
Mothers of Steel

performance

je 05.12 - ve 06.12.19

Pendant un marathon de pleurs méditatif de près d’une heure, deux personnages féminins futuristes remettent en question les mécanismes qui transforment les émotions intimes en phénomène politique. Dans une chorégraphie émaillée de vidéo et avec de grandes feuilles de papier – à la fois des pancartes de manifestation et du linge qui sèche –, leurs larmes évoluent d’un aveu de faiblesse à un acte de force politique.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Nu ben ik Medea

théâtre

Nu ben ik Medea
Nu ben ik Medea

théâtre

me 11.03 - je 12.03.20

Dans ce spectacle personnel, Khadija El Kharraz Alami entrelace des perspectives de Médée d’Euripide et sa propre histoire : grandir entre le monde occidental et le monde marocain et sentir en soi des forces qui s’entrechoquent.

Katja Dreyer

Ophelia comes to Brooklyn

théâtre

Ophelia comes to Brooklyn
Ophelia comes to Brooklyn

théâtre

ma 25.09 - me 26.09.18

Ophelia comes to Brooklyn est un texte de théâtre qu’Antje Katcher a écrit en 1982. Quinze ans auparavant, alors âgée de vingt ans, elle avait quitté sa petite ville allemande et émigré à New York. À sa mort, en 2014, elle a laissé un héritage pour sa cousine : Katja Dreyer. À présent, dans la mise en scène d’Ophelia comes to Brooklyn, trois comédiens tentent de déchiffrer l’histoire – la pièce de théâtre et la vie d’Antje Katcher.

Rochdi Belgasmi

Ouled Jellaba

danse

Ouled Jellaba
Ouled Jellaba

danse

je 01.01.70

Dans ce solo, Rochdi Belgasmi ranime la Tunis swinguante des années 20, quand le soir, les boulangeries, les poissonneries, les boucheries se transformaient en cafés chantants et qu’y apparaissaient des hommes en Ouled Jellaba. Ils servaient le thé, jonglaient et chantaient – mais ils dansaient surtout, habillés en femme !

Iggy Lond Malmborg

Physics and Phantasma

performance

Physics and Phantasma
Physics and Phantasma

performance

ve 31.01 - sa 01.02.20

Là où de nombreux créateurs vantent les mérites d’une scène vide comme l’espace ultime de la fantaisie, elle adopte quelque chose d’obsessionnel et de traumatisant dans Physics and Phantasma. Il faut coûte que coûte alimenter le vide de contenu et pour ce faire, Iggy Lond Malmborg vous emmène en voyage dans des coins aussi sombres qu’arbitraires de votre imagination – le lieu où se déroule réellement ce solo.

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

danse

Salt
Salt

danse

je 19.10.17

Cette nouvelle voix du paysage de la danse contemporaine en Indonésie engage le dialogue avec ses antécédents javanais et les marées changeantes des cultures maritimes. Salt part en quête de l’anti-gravité sous-marine alors que les cultures hiérarchiques et les perspectives de changements requièrent l’attention.

Emke Idema

STRANGER

théâtre

STRANGER
STRANGER

théâtre

me 28.03.18

Entrez dans ce laboratoire social aussi ludique qu’analytique. STRANGER est un jeu de société grandeur nature qui sonde les premières impressions. Peut-on partager avec autrui ce qu’on pense à la vue d’un visage inconnu et ensuite s’y rapporter en conséquence ?

Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada

Symphony of Expectation

musique

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

musique

me 18.03.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Symphony of Expectation combine deux pièces musicales iconiques du XXe siècle : Sinfonia de Luciano Berio et Erwartung d’Arnold Schönberg. Une seconde d’excitation spirituelle maximale de la protagoniste explose en une expérience théâtrale intense.

Anneleen Keppens

The moon is the moon is the moon

danse

The moon is the moon is the moon
The moon is the moon is the moon

danse

ve 27.04 - sa 28.04.18

The moon is the moon is the moon démantèle la structure d’un trio de danse et met ses fondements à nu. Tout comme les esquisses qui précèdent un tableau, le spectacle part de perspectives et d’attitudes variées. Les strates autonomes qu’on découvre dans la chorégraphie invitent à une manière nouvelle de regarder.

Pages