Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion [NO/BE, IT/UK]

Penelope Sleeps

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

10.05 – 14.05.2019

Along with composer and performer Matteo Fargion, Mette Edvardsen is venturing into opera, a genre that they have both been wanting to tackle for a long time. For Penelope Sleeps, Edvardsen is writing a text in prose, like an essay. Essay, from the French ‘essai’, which means to attempt, and opera, which in Italian means 'work'. In this ‘attempt at work’, a space is created that will take the two creators to unknown landscapes and allow them to deepen their artistic trajectories. The relationship between voice and music and between space and scale are important, but the duo has opted not to refer to images from opera literally. Instead, they are drawing lines with which they can shape an unknown horizon.

• Over the past decade, choreographer, dancer, and performance artist Mette Edvardsen has created a coherent series of performances, almost all of which were presented at the Kaaistudios. She previously collaborated with Matto Fargeon for Any Table Any Room (created by Jonathan Burrows and Fargion) and for oslo (which was presented during Performatik17). In the latter production, Fargion wrote music for a choir – an ‘anti-choir’ in fact – that was hidden among the audience.


text Mette Edvardsen | music Matteo Fargion 
| performed by Mette Edvardsen, Matteo Fargion, a.o. | light and technical support Bruno Pocheron | production Mette Edvardsen/Athome, Manyone
| co-production Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, BUDA Kunstencentrum, Black Box teater,
Teaterhuset Avant Garden, BIT – Teatergarasjen | support Norsk Kulturråd, Norwegian Artistic Research Program – Oslo National Academy of the Arts, APAP network

Related content

Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion

Flowers (we are)

dance music

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

dance

Wed 27.03 - Thu 28.03.19

Claire Croizé engages with two of her favourite sources of inspiration: Bach and Rilke. She places both masters in the hands of Matteo Fargion, the British composer and multi-instrumentalist. They have not created slavish interpretations of Bach and Rilke, but rather opted for a playful, somewhat unruly tribute.

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion [NO/BE, IT/UK]

Penelope Sleeps

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

10.05 – 14.05.2019

Avec le compositeur et performeur Matteo Fargion, Mette Edvardsen s’attaque au genre de l’opéra auquel tous deux souhaitaient s’essayer depuis longtemps. Edvardsen écrit Penelope Sleeps, un texte en prose, comme un essai. Le terme italien d’opera signifie travail, œuvre. Cet essai de travail, cette tentative d’œuvre ouvre un espace qui mène les deux créateurs vers des paysages inconnus et leur permet de sonder leur propre parcours artistique. La relation entre la voix et la musique, entre l’espace et l’échelle est importante, mais le duo choisit de ne pas faire de référence littérale à des images d’opéra. En lieu et place, ils préfèrent tracer les lignes qui permettent d’esquisser un horizon inconnu.

• La chorégraphe, danseuse et performeuse, Mette Edvardsen a créé au cours des dix dernières années une série de spectacles cohérents, qu’on a pu voir dans leur quasi-intégralité aux Kaaistudio’s. Elle a travaillé précédemment avec Matteo Fargion (de Jonathan Burrows et Fargion) pour Any Table Any Room et oslo (à l’affiche de Performatik17) pour lequel Fargion a composé la musique pour un chœur – ou plutôt un anti-chœur – qui était disséminé à travers le public.


text Mette Edvardsen | music Matteo Fargion 
| performed by Mette Edvardsen, Matteo Fargion, a.o. | light and technical support Bruno Pocheron | production Mette Edvardsen/Athome, Manyone
| co-production Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, BUDA Kunstencentrum, Black Box teater,
Teaterhuset Avant Garden, BIT – Teatergarasjen | support Norsk Kulturråd, Norwegian Artistic Research Program – Oslo National Academy of the Arts, APAP network

Sujets apparentés

Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion

Flowers (we are)

danse musique

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

danse

me 27.03 - je 28.03.19

Claire Croizé s’attaque à deux de ses sources d’inspiration favorites : Bach et Rilke. Elle confie les deux esprits illustres au compositeur et performeur britannique Matteo Fargion. Ils ne s’adonnent pas une interprétation servile de Bach et de Rilke, mais optent pour un hommage ludique et quelque peu à rebrousse-poil.