Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras/Rosas [BE/FR]

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten

10.07 – 11.07.2019

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Cello Suites are unquestionably a milestone in the history of Western music. Their ingenious architecture, rhythmic vitality and timeless beauty continue to fascinate people today. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker had already demonstrated her affinity with Bach in earlier choreographies. She continues to pursue a choreographic écriture that captures the essence of Bach’s musical language. Five dancers – including De Keersmaeker herself – adapt, question and dance the six suites, performed by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. This exciting symbiosis of music and dance both reveals the individual character of each suite and their mutual interconnections in the totality of the cycle.

 

If you were going to choose a choreographer to pair with Bach, it would be Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. - The Guardian

Bach-worthy genius – The Arts Desk

Un grand moment de grâce et de beauté. - La Libre

De Keersmaeker verbluft met Bach - De Morgen


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | artistic assistant Carlos Garbin, Femke Gyselinck | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | artistic advice Thierry De Mey | technical director Joris Erven | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Joris de Bolle, Michael Smets, Bert Veris | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

Related content

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

dance music

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

dance

Wed 19.06 - Thu 27.06.19

This special repertory evening will present three early works by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, each of which is based on a piece of classical music. The programme features a combative choreography set to the layered rhythms and harmonies of Bartók’s Quartet n°4, a group piece that defies gravity and depicts the ingenious counterpoint in Beethoven’s Die Grosse Fuge, and a shamelessly romantic duet set to Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht. Ictus and the Brussels Philharmonic will accompany the pieces live especially for the Brussels series.

Anne Teresa & Jolente De Keersmaeker/PARTS

SOMNIA

dance

SOMNIA
SOMNIA

dance

Wed 29.05 - Sat 29.06.19

Anne Teresa and Jolente De Keersmaeker and 44 young dancers take you into the woods. Put on your walking boots for this durational performance that navigates around fragments of Midsummer Night's Dream and Johannes Kepler’s astronomical novella Somnium (1608). Turn your back on the black box and let the wood and the night sky define the stage.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas [BE/FR]

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach 6 Cellosuiten

10.07 – 11.07.2019

Les suites pour violoncelle de Jean-Sébastien Bach constituent un jalon dans l’histoire de la musique occidentale. Leur architecture ingénieuse, leur rythmique dansante et leur beauté intemporelle continuent à fasciner jusqu’aujourd’hui. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a déjà démontré son affinité avec Bach par le passé. Elle poursuit sa quête d’une écriture chorégraphique susceptible de capturer l’essence du langage musical de Bach. Trois danseurs et deux danseuses – parmi lesquels De Keersmaeker en personne – adaptent, interrogent et dansent les six suites qu’interprète le violoncelliste de renommée internationale, Jean-Guihen Queyras. Cette symbiose fascinante de la musique et de la danse révèle à la fois la nature individuelle de chaque suite et leur interaction mutuelle dans l’ensemble du cycle.

 

Un grand moment de grâce et de beauté. - La Libre

De Keersmaeker verbluft met Bach - De Morgen

If you were going to choose a choreographer to pair with Bach, it would be Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. - The Guardian

Bach-worthy genius – The Arts Desk


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | artistic assistant Carlos Garbin, Femke Gyselinck | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | artistic advice Thierry De Mey | technical director Joris Erven | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Joris de Bolle, Michael Smets, Bert Veris | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

Sujets apparentés

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse musique

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse

me 19.06 - je 27.06.19

Cette soirée exceptionnelle de répertoire nous emmène le long de trois anciens spectacles d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, chacun inspiré d’une composition musicale classique. Au programme : une chorégraphie ludique et combative sur les harmonies et rythmes stratifiés du Quartet n° 4, de Bartók ; une chorégraphie de groupe qui défie la gravité et met en image l’ingénieux contrepoint de Beethoven dans Die Grosse Fuge, et un duo d’un romantisme éhonté au son de Verklärte Nacht de Schönberg. Pour cette série de représentations, Ictus et le Brussels Philharmonic interprètent la musique en direct.

Anne Teresa & Jolente De Keersmaeker/PARTS

SOMNIA

danse

SOMNIA
SOMNIA

danse

me 29.05 - sa 29.06.19

Anne Teresa et Jolente De Keersmaeker et 44 jeunes danseurs nous emmènent dans la forêt. Mettez vos chaussures de marche pour cette performance de longue durée qui navigue le long de passages de Songe d’une nuit d’été et de la nouvelle astronomique Somnium (1608) de Johannes Kepler. Tournons le dos à la salle obscure et permettons à la forêt et au ciel nocturne de définir l’espace de représentation.