Boyzie Cekwana & Danya Hammoud [ZA/LB]

Bootlegged

Bootlegged
Bootlegged

21.01 – 22.01.2020

In the American Midwest of the 1880s, men would smuggle illegal bottles of alcohol in their boots. They would trade this alcohol with Native Americans because it was an effective strategy to neutralize recalcitrant Natives by intoxication. The term ‘Bootlegging’ was born.

Now there is Bootlegged: an encounter between Boyzie Cekwana and Danya Hammoud. Two bodies, two stories and two histories collide to create a third, shared story. Both choreographers reveal their vulnerability and show one another the wrinkles that the past has left on their bodies. But this new encounter also leaves its mark.

• Boyzie Cekwana is a choreographer and theatre maker. He grew up in Soweto and currently lives and works in Johannesburg. Cekwana sees art as a form of political activism and is one of the founders of modern dance in South Africa. He has previously presented Influx Controls: I wanna be wanna be at Kaaitheater. Danya Hammoud, who is originally from Lebanon, studied theatre in Beirut and dance in Paris. She has been creating her own work since 2010.


concept & performance Danya Hammoud & Boyzie Cekwana | lighting Danya Hammoud, Boyzie Cekwana, Simon Lichtenberger | music Baby Oh Baby, Marcia Griffiths | texts A Story by Boyzie Cekwana, excerpts from Notes on the Melody of Things by Rainer Maria Rilke | production Danya Hammoud & randomirekshnz | co-production Kaaitheater, Kaserne Basel, Hammana Artist House, Connexion BXL | support Pro Helvetia Cairo – Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

Boyzie Cekwana & Danya Hammoud [ZA/LB]

Bootlegged

Bootlegged
Bootlegged

21.01 – 22.01.2020

Dans le Midwest états-unien des années 1880, les hommes transportaient clandestinement des bouteilles d’alcool dans leurs bottes, également quand ils partaient commercer avec les peuples amérindiens: c’était une stratégie efficace pour neutraliser par l’ivresse les indigènes rétifs. Le terme de « bootlegging » – contrebande – était né.

À présent, il y a Bootlegged : une rencontre entre Boyzie Cekwana et Danya Hammoud. Deux corps, deux récits issus de deux histoires spécifiques composent, non sans heurts, une troisième histoire partagée. Les deux chorégraphes dévoilent leur vulnérabilité ainsi que les traces et les rides que le passé a laissées sur leurs corps. Mais cette nouvelle rencontre laisse à son tour des traces.

• Boyzie Cekwana est chorégraphe et créateur de théâtre. Il a grandi à Soweto et vit et travaille désormais à Johannesburg. Cekwana considère l’art comme une forme d’activisme politique et est l’un des pionniers de la danse moderne en Afrique du Sud. Il était précédemment l’hôte du Kaaitheater avec Influx Controls : I wanna be wanna be. Danya Hammoud est originaire du Liban, où elle a étudié le théâtre. Elle a ensuite suivi une formation de danse à Paris. Depuis 2010, elle crée ses propres spectacles.


concept & performance Danya Hammoud & Boyzie Cekwana | lighting Danya Hammoud, Boyzie Cekwana, Simon Lichtenberger | music Baby Oh Baby, Marcia Griffiths | texts A Story by Boyzie Cekwana, excerpts from Notes on the Melody of Things by Rainer Maria Rilke | production Danya Hammoud & randomirekshnz | co-production Kaaitheater, Kaserne Basel, Hammana Artist House, Connexion BXL | support Pro Helvetia Cairo – Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Pro Helvetia Johannesburg