Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas [BE]

Achterland

Achterland
Achterland

29.01 – 09.02.2020

Achterland (1990) is a seminal choreography in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre. This was the first dance material that she wrote specifically for men. For this production, three male dancers joined Rosas, which had previously been a predominantly female company. The minimalism and prevalent femininity of Rosas’ early pieces gave way to an ambiguous no-man’s-land in which boundaries and symbols were blurred. In Achterland, young girls dress up in suits, women in men’s suits, while young men eagerly imitate the dancing women. Györgi Ligeti’s and Eugène Ysaÿe’s imbues the production with a playful-virtuoso atmosphere. The violinist and pianist onstage not only interpret the score, but also play an active role in the dancing – an approach that De Keersmaeker would repeat in many subsequent projects. Last season, the reprise of Achterland starring a new generation of Rosas dancers made a tremendous impression: don’t miss this opportunity to see it again.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | mise en scène Jean Luc Ducourt | danced by (alternating) Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, Léa Dubois, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda | created in 1990 with Nordine Benchorf, Bruce Campbell, Vincent Dunoyer, Fumiyo Ikeda, Marion Levy, Nathalie Million, Carlotta Sagna, Johanne Saunier | music György Ligeti, 8 Études for piano solo (Désordre, Cordes à vide, Touches bloquées, Fanfares, Arc-en-ciel, Automne à Varsovie, Galamb Borong, Fém), Eugène Ysaÿe, Sonatas 2, 3 & 4 for solo violin | musicians piano Wilhem Latchoumia / Joonas Ahonen, violin Juan María Braceras / Naaman Sluchin | set Herman Sorgeloos | lighting design Jean Luc Ducourt | costumes Ann Weckx | rehearsal director Fumiyo Ikeda | assistants for the revival Nordine Benchorf, Johanne Saunier, Fumiyo Ikeda, Vincent Dunoyer | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | technical director Joris De Bolle | sound Alexandre Fostier / Antoine Delagoutte | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | sewing Charles Gysèle | wardrobe Ella De Vos / Emma Zune / Ester Manas | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Michael Smets | special thanks to Bruce Campbell | production Rosas | co-production 1990 Kaaitheater, De Munt/La Monnaie, Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville | world premiere 27 November 1990, La Monnaie/De Munt | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation

Related content

Rosas

Zeitigung

dance

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

dance

Wed 11.12 - Sat 14.12.19

Almost ten years after Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Alain Franco used the building blocks of that production to make a new one: Zeitigung. Against the backdrop of a changing world and channelled through the bodies of eight young dancers, they updated their own work. Zeitigung is returning to the Kaaitheater stage, where it premièred in 2017.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

dance

Thu 12.09 - Sun 29.09.19

In 2017, Salva Sanchis and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker adapted A Love Supreme with four young, male dancers. The distinctly vibrant production was immediately selected for the TheaterFestival. It is high time that you join the dancers again and succumb to John Coltrane’s spiritual tribute to divine love!

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

dance music

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

dance

Fri 15.05 - Wed 20.05.20

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most characteristic performances, set to Steve Reich’s Music for 18 Musicians. Seven women and three men allow themselves to be propelled by an unstoppable joined energy. They are connected by a lively network of breathing and speed, as well as the special comradery that forms when you are beyond fatigue. In 2016, Rain was reprised with a new cast, premièring at the Royal Circus.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas [BE]

Achterland

Achterland
Achterland

29.01 – 09.02.2020

Achterland (1990) tient une place décisive dans le parcours d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker : c’était la première fois que la chorégraphe concevait un matériau spécifiquement masculin. Trois danseurs rejoignaient Rosas, une compagnie jusque-là amplement dominée par les femmes. Le minimalisme et la féminité dominante des précédents spectacles de Rosas cèdent la place à un no man’s land ambigu où l’on se joue des frontières en brouillant les signes. Dans Achterland, des jeunes filles enfilent des tailleurs, des femmes mettent des chemises d’homme, tandis que de jeunes hommes imitent avec empressement les femmes qui dansent. La combinaison insolite des musiques de György Ligeti et d’Eugène Ysaÿe engendre un cadre ludique et virtuose. Sur scène, le pianiste et le violoniste n’interprètent pas seulement la partition, mais font preuve d’une plus grande implication dans la dynamique scénique – une approche que De Keersmaeker développera abondamment par la suite. La saison passée, la reprise d’Achterland avec une nouvelle génération de danseurs a fait grande impression : ne laissez pas cette nouvelle occasion vous échapper !


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | mise en scène Jean Luc Ducourt | danced by (alternating) Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, Léa Dubois, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda | created in 1990 with Nordine Benchorf, Bruce Campbell, Vincent Dunoyer, Fumiyo Ikeda, Marion Levy, Nathalie Million, Carlotta Sagna, Johanne Saunier | music György Ligeti, 8 Études for piano solo (Désordre, Cordes à vide, Touches bloquées, Fanfares, Arc-en-ciel, Automne à Varsovie, Galamb Borong, Fém), Eugène Ysaÿe, Sonatas 2, 3 & 4 for solo violin | musicians piano Wilhem Latchoumia / Joonas Ahonen, violin Juan María Braceras / Naaman Sluchin | set Herman Sorgeloos | lighting design Jean Luc Ducourt | costumes Ann Weckx | rehearsal director Fumiyo Ikeda | assistants for the revival Nordine Benchorf, Johanne Saunier, Fumiyo Ikeda, Vincent Dunoyer | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | technical director Joris De Bolle | sound Alexandre Fostier / Antoine Delagoutte | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | sewing Charles Gysèle | wardrobe Ella De Vos / Emma Zune / Ester Manas | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Michael Smets | special thanks to Bruce Campbell | production Rosas | co-production 1990 Kaaitheater, De Munt/La Monnaie, Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville | world premiere 27 November 1990, La Monnaie/De Munt | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation

Sujets apparentés

Rosas

Zeitigung

danse

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

danse

me 11.12 - sa 14.12.19

Près de dix ans après Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Alain Franco reprennent les éléments essentiels de cette chorégraphie pour créer Zeitigung. Dans l’intervalle, le monde a muté et, à travers les corps de huit jeunes danseurs, ils actualisent leur propre travail. Zeitigung sera à nouveau à l’affiche du Kaaitheater, où a eu lieu la première en 2017.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

danse

je 12.09 - di 29.09.19

En 2017, Salva Sanchis et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ont retravaillé A Love Supreme avec quatre jeunes danseurs masculins. Un spectacle d’une grande vitalité qui a d’emblée été sélectionné pour le TheaterFestival. Grand temps de s’abandonner une fois de plus avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de John Coltrane à l’amour suprême.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

danse musique

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

danse

ve 15.05 - me 20.05.20

Rain (2001) est l’une des plus électrisantes productions d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, écrite sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Sept femmes et trois hommes s’abandonnent à une irrépressible énergie collective qui les connecte l’un à l’autre, réseau bouillonnant où se partagent le souffle, la vitesse, et cette étrange amitié qui ne peut naître qu’au-delà de la fatigue. En 2016, une nouvelle distribution a repris Rain au Cirque Royal.