Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Notes on spiritual extractivism in the Flemish dance scene

Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk)

lecture performance
Dancing At The Crossroads (As We Walk)
22.04.2023

Departing from the text 'On the European Tradition of Stealing' by Weichafe Moira Ivana Millán, denouncing spiritual extractivism done by a Flemish-based choreographer, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche presents a performative reading. She contextualises how the information about stolen dances from the Mapuche Nation, performed for an artsy Brussels audience, reached an actual Mapuche community, how they denounced this practice of epistemic pillage and how Flemish cultural institutions worked intensely to silence the appearance of this indigenous voice that came to interpellate multiculturalism and the apparent trend of decolonial art. Cecilia will share her perspectives on the importance of ancestral dances for the maintenance of cosmic and telluric balance as well as the struggle for earth justice. Mariciwew! 

• Since 2020, Fabián Barba, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Moya Michael, Sujata Goel, Jolie Reymond Ngemi and Carlos Maria Romero aka Atabey Mamasita have been coming together to write, work and converse as Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk). They are a group of non-European, migrant dance professionals who have studied in, lived in or are based in Flanders. Their collective work seeks to unveil and confront colonialism and racism in the established international dance networks of western Europe. For the past two years, they have been supported by workspacebrussels as resident artists. After a period of slow and patient labour they will be sharing their process during the Open Studios. The five-day programme consists of text readings, performances and conversations.

with Cecilia Lisa Eliceche | dance & singing coach Egbomi Nancy de Souza | graphic & environmental assistance Leandro Nerefuh | spiritual work Nengua Mesoeji (Iraildes Maria da Cunha) | special thanks to Fabián Barba, Atabey Mamasita, Houngan Jean-Daniel Lafontant, Weichafe Moira Ivana Millán, Natalia Brizuela, Angela Moreno, Paulo França | supported by workspacebrussels

DURATION : 60 min.
LANGUAGE : English

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Notes on spiritual extractivism in the Flemish dance scene

Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk)

lecture performance
Dancing At The Crossroads (As We Walk)
22.04.2023

Partant du texte On the European tradition of Stealing de Weichafe Moira Ivana Millán, qui dénonce l’extractivisme spirituel d’un chorégraphe actif en Flandre, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche présente une lecture-performance. Elle y contextualise la manière dont des informations sur des danses volées à la nation mapuche et interprétées devant un public de cultureux bruxellois ont atteint une communauté mapuche, la façon dont celle-ci a dénoncé cette pratique de pillage épistémique et l’intensité avec laquelle  des institutions culturelles flamandes se sont efforcées de faire taire cette voix indigène qui cherchait à interpeller le multiculturalisme et l’apparente tendance d’art décolonial. Cecilia Lisa Eliceche partagera ses perspectives sur l’importance des danses ancestrales pour la conservation de l’équilibre cosmique et tellurique ainsi que pour la lutte pour plus de justice planétaire. Marici Wew! 

• Depuis 2020, Fabián Barba, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Moya Michael, Sujata Goel, Jolie Reymond Ngemi et Carlos Maria Romero aka Atabey Mamasita se réunissent à intervalles réguliers pour écrire, travailler et discuter sous le nom de Dancing at the Crossroads (As We Walk). Tous les six sont des professionnels de la danse, sont d’origine immigrée et non européenne, ont étudié ou ont vécu en Flandre à un moment donné ou y résident encore. À travers leur travail collectif, ils souhaitent démasquer et aborder le colonialisme et le racisme dans les réseaux internationaux de danse en Europe occidentale. Depuis deux ans, ils sont des artistes associé·es de workspacebrussels. Après une période de travail lent et patient, ils partagent leur processus avec un public à l’occasion d’Open Studios. Le programme de cinq jours comprend des conférences, des spectacles et des discussions.

with Cecilia Lisa Eliceche | dance & singing coach Egbomi Nancy de Souza | graphic & environmental assistance Leandro Nerefuh | spiritual work Nengua Mesoeji (Iraildes Maria da Cunha) | special thanks to Fabián Barba, Atabey Mamasita, Houngan Jean-Daniel Lafontant, Weichafe Moira Ivana Millán, Natalia Brizuela, Angela Moreno, Paulo França | supported by workspacebrussels

DURÉE : 60 min.
LANGUAGE : Anglais