Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Modernity’s imaginary

Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk)

conversations
Dancing At The Crossroads (As We Walk)
21.04.2023

Through a personal and embodied account, Fabián Barba reflects on modernity’s seductive technologies, carried out on European theatrical traditions. Situating its own dance history, context and artistic process, Fabián touches in a transparently painful manner and with sharp humour, on the colonial performance of genius, authorship-authority, stardom, individual success and arrogance.

Modernity’s imagination is a personal account of the ways in which modernity can seduce us into trying to work according to its logic. It tells the story of how modernity can welcome (some of) us, at the price of persuasively guiding us into a rather well-defined path. These reflections take place within the world of contemporary dance.

• Since 2020, Fabián Barba, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Moya Michael, Sujata Goel, Jolie Reymond Ngemi and Carlos Maria Romero aka Atabey Mamasita have been coming together to write, work and converse as Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk). They are a group of non-European, migrant dance professionals who have studied in, lived in or are based in Flanders. Their collective work seeks to unveil and confront colonialism and racism in the established international dance networks of western Europe. For the past two years, they have been supported by workspacebrussels as resident artists. After a period of slow and patient labour they will be sharing their process during the Open Studios. The five-day programme consists of text readings, performances and conversations.

With and by Fabián Barba | Supported by workspacebrussels

DURATION : 60 min.
LANGUAGE : English

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Modernity’s imaginary

Dancing at the Crossroads (as we walk)

conversations
Dancing At The Crossroads (As We Walk)
21.04.2023

À travers un compte rendu personnel et incarné, Fabián Barba réfléchit aux technologies séduisantes de la modernité qu’on applique aux traditions théâtrales européennes. En situant sa propre histoire de la danse, dans son contexte et dans son processus artistique, Barba touche de manière à la fois transparente, douloureuse et non dénuée d’humour caustique aux représentations coloniales du génie, de l’autorité qui découle de la paternité d’une œuvre, du vedettariat, du succès individuel et de l’arrogance.

Modernity’s imagination est le récit personnel de Fabián Barba sur les différentes façons dont la modernité peut nous entraîner à agir selon sa logique. Il raconte ainsi de quelle manière la modernité nous accueille – ou plutôt certains d’entre nous – et à quel prix, car elle parvient à nous guider de manière convaincante sur un chemin sérieusement balisé. Des réflexions avec en toile de fond le monde de la danse contemporaine.

• Depuis 2020, Fabián Barba, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Moya Michael, Sujata Goel, Jolie Reymond Ngemi et Carlos Maria Romero aka Atabey Mamasita se réunissent à intervalles réguliers pour écrire, travailler et discuter sous le nom de Dancing at the Crossroads (As We Walk). Tous les six sont des professionnels de la danse, sont d’origine immigrée et non européenne, ont étudié ou ont vécu en Flandre à un moment donné ou y résident encore. À travers leur travail collectif, ils souhaitent démasquer et aborder le colonialisme et le racisme dans les réseaux internationaux de danse en Europe occidentale. Depuis deux ans, ils sont des artistes associé·es de workspacebrussels. Après une période de travail lent et patient, ils partagent leur processus avec un public à l’occasion d’Open Studios. Le programme de cinq jours comprend des conférences, des spectacles et des discussions.

With and by Fabián Barba | Supported by workspacebrussels

DURÉE : 60 min.
LANGUAGE : Anglais