Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

El cantar del playo or… a song is a rose is a thorn

theatre
How to Love in Many Ways?
21—22.01.2023

In El cantar del playo or... a song is a rose is a thorn, Mario Barrantes Espinoza draws on the musical genre of Plancha, as both a soundtrack and as a red thread to recount his experiences in the gay night scene in Costa Rica of the early 2010s.    

Plancha revives the nostalgic music that mothers and grandmothers once listened to while doing housework (‘música de plancha’ literally translates into ‘music for ironing clothes’). The songs are full of theatricality, often celebrating the fantasy and suffering of romantic love, closely linked to telenovela culture and to the art of transformistas (drag queens). Fifty years later, plancha became an emotional oasis for the younger playo (gay/'faggot') communities, serving as the joyous soundtrack to a celebration of playo identities.   

El cantar del playo or... a song is a rose is a thorn can be imagined as a songbook in which Mario Barrantes Espinoza weaves together poetry, dance and music to reveal a landscape of memories. A place where melodrama, songs and visual poems invoke his personal explorations of queer sexuality and identity, from the perspective of a Central American migrant in Europe.  

Mario José Barrantes Espinoza (1991) is a Costa Rican-Nicaraguan artist based in Brussels. After graduating from P.A.R.T.S, he went on to collaborate with François Chaignaud, The Subs, Michiel Vandevelde and Eszter Salamon. His practice focuses on the articulation of dance, text and voice through the re-appropriation of audiovisual materials found in pop culture and mainstream media. El cantar del playo or…. a song is a rose is a thorn was awarded the Roel Verniers Prize at Het TheaterFestival 2020. 

"A performance that stings like a thorn through the heart." – Etcetera

concept and performance Mario Barrantes Espinoza | artistic assistance Theo Livesey | text Theo Livesey, Martín Zícari, Mario Barrantes Espinoza | music arrangement and sound design Pablo Lilienfeld | music direction and voice coaching Ignacio Jarquín | light design Ryoya Fudetani | costume design Flávio Juán Núñez | video projections Federico Vladimir Strate Pezdirc | artistic accompaniment Manu, Martín Zícari, Stefa Govaart | trailer titles Joris Kritis | production Hiros | co-production Het TheaterFestival, VIERNULVIER, C-takt, KAAP | in collaboration with Kunstencentrum Buda (Kortrijk), workspacebrussels, DE SINGEL, KVS, Kunstenwerkplaats, wpZimmer, PARTS, Decoratelier | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid 
 

DURATION : 75 min.
LANGUAGE : English Spanish

€ 22/19/16/13/10

Dinner time

Taco's à volonté all night long! 

22€
19€
16€
13€
10€

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

El cantar del playo or… a song is a rose is a thorn

théâtre
How to Love in Many Ways?
21—22.01.2023

Dans El cantar del playo ou... a song is a rose is a thorn Mario Barrantes Espinoza s'appuie sur le genre musical de la Plancha, à la fois comme bande sonore et comme fil rouge, pour relater ses expériences dans la scène nocturne gay du Costa Rica du début des années 2010.

La plancha fait revivre la musique nostalgique que les mères et les grands-mères écoutaient autrefois en faisant le ménage (" música de plancha " se traduit littéralement par " musique pour repasser le linge "). Les chansons sont emplies de théâtralité, célébrant souvent la fantaisie et la souffrance de l'amour romantique, étroitement liées à la culture des telenovelas et à l'art des transformistas (drag queens). Cinquante ans plus tard, la plancha s’est transformée en une oasis émotionnelle pour les jeunes communautés playo (gay/'tapette'), et sert de bande sonore joyeuse à la célébration des identités playo.   

El cantar del playo ou... a song is a rose is a thorn peut être imaginé comme un recueil de chansons où Mario Barrantes Espinoza entremêle poésie, danse et musique pour révéler un paysage de souvenirs. Un lieu où mélodrame, chansons et poèmes visuels évoquent ses explorations personnelles de la sexualité et de l'identité homosexuelles, du point de vue d'un migrant d'Amérique centrale en Europe.  

• Mario José Barrantes Espinoza (1991) est un artiste costaricain-nicaraguayen basé à Bruxelles. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme à P.A.R.T.S, il a collaboré avec François Chaignaud, The Subs, Michiel Vandevelde et Eszter Salamon. Sa pratique se concentre sur l'articulation de la danse, du texte et de la voix à travers la réappropriation de matériaux audiovisuels glanés dans la culture pop et les médias grand public. El cantar del playo or.... a song is a rose is a thorn a reçu le prix Roel Verniers à Het TheaterFestival 2020. 

"Une performance qui pique comme une épine dans le cœur." – Etcetera

concept and performance Mario Barrantes Espinoza | artistic assistance Theo Livesey | text Theo Livesey, Martín Zícari, Mario Barrantes Espinoza | music arrangement and sound design Pablo Lilienfeld | music direction and voice coaching Ignacio Jarquín | light design Ryoya Fudetani | costume design Flávio Juán Núñez | video projections Federico Vladimir Strate Pezdirc | artistic accompaniment Manu, Martín Zícari, Stefa Govaart | trailer titles Joris Kritis | production Hiros | co-production Het TheaterFestival, VIERNULVIER, C-takt, KAAP | in collaboration with Kunstencentrum Buda (Kortrijk), workspacebrussels, DE SINGEL, KVS, Kunstenwerkplaats, wpZimmer, PARTS, Decoratelier | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid