Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

RACE

theatre
08.09.2017

Two seasoned top lawyers – one black and one white – are approached by the rich, white businessman Charles Strickland. He is accused of assaulting a black woman in a hotel room. While the media have already branded him a ‘sexist’ and especially a ‘racist’, he claims to be innocent. When the black intern Susan meddles in the case too much, a battle erupts in the lawyers’ office in which guilt, sex, lies, and race form an explosive cocktail. How black and white is this case?

RACE, Eric de Vroedt’s debut as the artistic director of the National Theatre, is a fast-paced and thrilling lawyers’ drama about the destructive effects of (positive) discrimination. David Mamet through visual spectacle and ambiguous acts.

• David Mamet wrote this powerful and successful play in 2009. It was praised for its provocative humour and fast-paced dialogues. David Mamet won the prestigious Pulitzer Prize for his play Glengarry Glen Ross and he was nominated for two Oscars for his screenplays for The Postman Always Rings Twice and Wag the Dog. "RACE is a play about lies. In David Mamet’s own words, “It treats racial difference, the fact that everyone (consciously or subconsciously) still acts based on racial difference, and the lies that we tell ourselves about it”.
The director and our new artistic director Eric de Vroedt is staging RACE as a fast-paced lawyers’ drama with visual spectacle and ambiguous acts. Eric de Vroedt (1972) graduated from the Arnhem Theatre Academy in 1996. Since 2004, he was particularly noted for his ten-part project mightysociety, committed theatre about burning social issues. The performance series won numerous awards, such as the Critics Prize, the Amsterdam Prize, and the Theatre Audience Award at the Theater aan het Spui. In recent years, Eric de Vroedt has worked as a freelance director for the Toneelgroep Amsterdam and Schauspielhaus Bochum, amongst others. He also coaches several young directors.

“Alledaags racisme met humor blootgelegd.” – Trouw

“Strak en snappy, met goed gedoseerde slapstick-momenten.” – Theaterkrant

“Het spel is opvallend licht en heeft vaart, zelfs als de opeenstapeling van spitsvondigheden de toeschouwer doet duizelen.”  – NRC

acteurs Werner Kolf, Mark Rietman, Hein van der Heijden, Romana Vrede | tekst David Mamet | vertaling Pieter Hilhorst, Sacha Hilhorst | regie Eric de Vroedt | regie-assistentie Daria Bukvić | dramaturgie Rezy Schumacher | decorontwerp Maze de Boer | kostuumontwerp Lotte Goos | lichtontwerp Bernie van Velzen | geluidsontwerp Remco de Jong, Florentijn Boddendijk | kap- en grime-advies Cynthia van der Linden | productieleiding Monique Koppers | decoratelier van het Nationale Toneel Ruud Brouwer, Anne Engelbarts, Krijn Peters, Peter Visscher, Moureen Wittekoek (stage) | voorstellingsleiding Joop Spies | techniek Lex Boere, Marco Alibux, Willie Caspers, Henrik van Ketwich Verschuur, Jannes Noorman, Barry van Oosten, Ivo Pas, Paul in het Veld | kostuumatelier van het Nationale Toneel Iris Elströdt | kleedster Kiswati van Keulen | communicatie en marketing Vera Seriese | educatie Lejo De Hingh

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

RACE

théâtre
08.09.2017

Deux avocats retors – un noir, un blanc – sont approchés par Charles Strickland, un homme d’affaires blanc très fortuné, accusé d’avoir agressé une femme noire dans un hôtel. Alors que les médias l’ont déjà qualifié de « sexiste » et surtout de « raciste », Strickland prétend être innocent. Lorsque la stagiaire noire Susan se mêle un peu trop de l’affaire, une lutte acharnée s’engage au cabinet d’avocats. Un affrontement dans lequel sexe, mensonges et race constituent un cocktail explosif. À quel point cette affaire est-elle clairement noire ou blanche ?

RACE, la première mise en scène d’Eric de Vroedt en tant que directeur artistique du Nationale Toneel, est un spectacle captivant au rythme effréné sur les conséquences dévastatrices de la discrimination (positive). Un texte de David Mamet dans une pièce visuelle aux scènes ambiguës.

• David Mamet a écrit cette pièce de théâtre intense en 2009. Avec son humour provocateur et ses dialogues incisifs, RACE a reçu un excellent accueil. Lauréat du prestigieux prix Pulitzer pour sa pièce Glengarry Glen Ross, Mamet a obtenu deux nominations aux Oscar pour les scénarios des films The Postman Always Rings Twice et Wag the Dog. « RACE est une pièce de théâtre à propos de mensonges et de différences raciales : elle met en lumière d’une part, le fait qu’ici chacun agit encore et toujours, consciemment ou inconsciemment, en fonction de ces différences et d’autre part, les mensonges qu’on se raconte à sujet. »
Le metteur en scène et directeur artistique fraîchement nommé Eric de Vroedt (°1972) a achevé ses études à la Toneelschool Arnhem en 1996. Depuis 2004, il s’est forgé une renommée avec son projet en dix violets, mightysociety, du théâtre engagé autour de questions d’une actualité brûlante. La série de représentations lui a valu divers prix, dont le prix de la critique, le prix Amsterdam et le prix des spectateurs du Theater aan het Spui. Au cours des dernières années, Eric de Vroedt a travaillé en tant que metteur en scène free-lance avec le Toneelgroep Amsterdam et la Schauspielhaus Bochum. Il accompagne en outre de jeunes créateurs.

“Alledaags racisme met humor blootgelegd.” – Trouw

“Strak en snappy, met goed gedoseerde slapstick-momenten.” – Theaterkrant

“Het spel is opvallend licht en heeft vaart, zelfs als de opeenstapeling van spitsvondigheden de toeschouwer doet duizelen.”  – NRC

acteurs Werner Kolf, Mark Rietman, Hein van der Heijden, Romana Vrede | tekst David Mamet | vertaling Pieter Hilhorst, Sacha Hilhorst | regie Eric de Vroedt | regie-assistentie Daria Bukvić | dramaturgie Rezy Schumacher | decorontwerp Maze de Boer | kostuumontwerp Lotte Goos | lichtontwerp Bernie van Velzen | geluidsontwerp Remco de Jong, Florentijn Boddendijk | kap- en grime-advies Cynthia van der Linden | productieleiding Monique Koppers | decoratelier van het Nationale Toneel Ruud Brouwer, Anne Engelbarts, Krijn Peters, Peter Visscher, Moureen Wittekoek (stage) | voorstellingsleiding Joop Spies | techniek Lex Boere, Marco Alibux, Willie Caspers, Henrik van Ketwich Verschuur, Jannes Noorman, Barry van Oosten, Ivo Pas, Paul in het Veld | kostuumatelier van het Nationale Toneel Iris Elströdt | kleedster Kiswati van Keulen | communicatie en marketing Vera Seriese | educatie Lejo De Hingh

DURÉE : 105 min.
LANGUAGE : Néerlandais — srt. Anglais