Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 

Pulse Constellations

dance
#NxtGen
#Energizeme
#danceday
27.05.2024

Stellar, cosmic

Pulse Constellations takes as its starting point John McGuire’s 1978 electronic composition Pulse Music III. This complex musical piece combines rhythms, tempos and melodies in a series of 24 sections that are unexpectedly and abruptly woven together. The quality of the sounds, the fullness of the composition and its constantly confusing movement through the space lends the piece a stellar, cosmic air.

In this fascinating dance solo, Gabriel Schenker deconstructs and reconstructs McGuire’s musical web. He explores the boundary between the scientific and the organic, between the digital precision of electronic music and the analogue imprecision of dance, and between the danceable and the audible.

• Gabriel Schenker came from the US to Brussels eleven years ago to study at PARTS. He has danced for Rosas, Thomas Hauert and Eleanor Bauer, amongst others, and was joint founder of the dance collective Busy Rocks. Pulse Constellations is his first solo creation.

…a being racing into the future passes a being racing into the past, two footprints perpetually obliterating one another, toe to heel, heel to toe. – W. B. Yeats, A Vision

concept, performance Gabriel Schenker | muziek Pulse Music III, John McGuire | advies bij het artistieke onderzoek Chrysa Parkinson | uitvoerende productie Caravan Production (Brussel, BE) | coproductie STUK (Leuven, BE), TAKT / Provinciaal Domein Dommelhof (Neerpelt, BE), Tanzhaus Zürich (CH) | residenties Charleroi-Danses (BE), BUDA (Kortrijk, BE) | dank aan Salva Sanchis (Kunst/werk), Pierre Slinckx, Sarah Ludi

DURATION : 30 min.
Dag van de dans
Presented by
Kaaitheater Dag van de Dans

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Pulse Constellations

danse
#NxtGen
#Energizeme
#journeedeladanse
22.04.2024

Stellaire, comique

Pulse Constellations prend pour point de départ la composition électronique de John McGuire, Pulse Music III (1978). Cette pièce musicale complexe combine des rythmes, des tempos et des mélodies dans une série de 24 sections qui s’entremêlent de manière inattendue et abrupte. La qualité des sons, la plénitude de la composition et ses mouvements dans l’espace, constamment déconcertants, confèrent à l’œuvre une qualité stellaire et comique.

Dans ce solo de danse fascinant, Gabriel Schenker déconstruit et reconstruit la toile musicale de McGuire. Il analyse la ligne qui sépare le mathématique de l’organique, la précision numérique de la musique électronique de l’imprécision analogique de la danse, l’audible du dansable.

• Gabriel Schenker a quitté les États-Unis il y a onze ans pour étudier à PARTS. Il a dansé, entre autres, avec Rosas, Thomas Hauert et Eleanor Bauer. Il est cofondateur du collectif de danse Busy Rocks. Pulse Constellations est sa première création.

…un être qui court vers le futur passe un être qui court vers le passé, deux empreintes de pieds s’oblitérant perpétuellement l’une l’autre, de l’orteil au talon, du talon à l’orteil. – W. B. Yeats, A Vision

concept, performance Gabriel Schenker | muziek Pulse Music III, John McGuire | advies bij het artistieke onderzoek Chrysa Parkinson | uitvoerende productie Caravan Production (Brussel, BE) | coproductie STUK (Leuven, BE), TAKT / Provinciaal Domein Dommelhof (Neerpelt, BE), Tanzhaus Zürich (CH) | residenties Charleroi-Danses (BE), BUDA (Kortrijk, BE) | dank aan Salva Sanchis (Kunst/werk), Pierre Slinckx, Sarah Ludi

DURÉE : 30 min.
Dag van de dans
Presented by
Kaaitheater Dag van de Dans