Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Chto Delat?, Hedwig Houben, Zoe Laughlin & Christoph Hefti

music
performance
talk
film
01.03.2011

CHTO DELAT? [RU]
The Tower: A Songspiel

VIDEO • Chto Delat? (What is to be done?) is an activist art collective that asks crucial questions about the links between art and political commitment. The Tower: A Songspiel (Russia, 2010) is a video film based on original documents from the current Russian political scene and deals with the conflict around the construction of a 403-metre tower in St. Petersburg by the oil and gas giant Gazprom. A devastating picture of oppressive power in Russia today.

HEDWIG HOUBEN [NL]
Colour and Shapes, a short explanation of my artistic practice + Six Possibilities For A Sculpture

LECTURE-PERFORMANCE • In Colour and Shapes, the artist Hedwig Houben, who does research at the HISK in Ghent, talks about several basic shapes: the sphere, cylinder, pyramid and cube. They are symbols of the emotions involved in the creative process. In Six Possibilities for a Sculpture she shows us the doubts associated with creating things. She very refreshingly approaches art from a quite unexpected angle.

ZOE LAUGHLIN [GB]
The Performativity of Matter

LECTURE-PERFORMANCE • Zoe Laughlin creates a world that gives one an amazing insight into the wonderful realm of materials. She examines malleable liquids, the sound and feeling of objects and the relationship between objects and materials, all in a way that is clever, humorous and utterly charming.

CHRISTOPH HEFTI [CH]
Climbin’ down the tree and walking to town

PERFORMANCE/CONCERT • The Swiss fashion designer, performer and musician Christoph Hefti appeared at the Kaaistudios with his pop group Taxi Val Mentek in Performatik 09. Now he is appearing at the Beurs with an out of hand carnivalesque concert packed with capers and metamorphoses of all sorts, a mixture of luscious musical, stomping samba, atmospheric crooning and more, invoked by the crackling Theremin sounds of Locke Wheeler.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

Chto Delat?, Hedwig Houben, Zoe Laughlin & Christoph Hefti

musique
performance
talk
film
01.03.2011

CHTO DELAT? [RU]
The Tower: A Songspiel

VIDEO • Chto Delat? (Que faut-il faire ?) est un collectif d’artistes militants qui soulèvent des questions cruciales à propos des liens entre l’art et l’engagement politique. La vidéo The Tower: A Songspiel (Russie, 2010) s’appuie sur des documents originaux de la politique russe actuelle et traite du conflit autour de l’édification d’une tour de 403 m de haut à Saint-Pétersbourg par le géant du gaz et du pétrole Gazprom. Une image écrasante du pouvoir répressif de la Russie d’aujourd’hui.

HEDWIG HOUBEN [NL]
Colour and Shapes, a short explanation of my artistic practice + Six Possibilities For A Sculpture

LECTURE-PERFORMANCE • Dans Colour and Shapes, l’artiste Hedwig Houben, qui effectue des recherches au HISK à Gand, parle de certaines formes de base : la sphère, le cône, le cylindre, la pyramide et le cube. Celles-ci symbolisent les émotions qui font surface lors du processus de création. Avec Six Possibilities For A Sculpture, elle nous montre les doutes qui accompagnent la création. L’angle totalement inattendu à partir duquel elle approche l’art est particulièrement rafraîchissant.

ZOE LAUGHLIN [GB]
The Performativity of Matter

LECTURE-PERFORMANCE • Zoe Laughlin crée un univers qui donne une vision stupéfiante dans le monde merveilleux des matériaux. Elle étudie des liquides malléables, le son et le sentiment des objets, et la relation entre les objets et les matériaux. Elle le fait avec humour, répartie, et un charme désarmant.

CHRISTOPH HEFTI [CH]
Climbin’ down the tree and walking to town

PERFORMANCE/CONCERT • Le styliste de mode, performeur et musicien suisse Christoph Hefti s’est produit avec son group pop Taxi Val Mentek aux Kaaistudio’s lors de Performatik 09. Cette fois, il sera sur la scène du Beurs avec un concert carnavalesque qui dégénère, émaillé d’extravagances et de métamorphoses, un mélange de comédie musicale savoureuse, de samba trépidante, de chansons de charme plaisantes, et bien plus encore. Le tout est ensorcelé par les crépitements sonores du thérémine, produits par Locke Wheeler.