Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Light Bulb Music & Expirateur

music
15.02.2009

Light bulbs and vacuum cleaners

Q-O2, the Brussels workshop for experimental music and sound art, is presenting a double concert at Performatik.

Michael Vorfeld, musician and visual artist, plays percussion and self designed stringed instruments and realises electro-acoustic sound pieces. Light Bulb Music is an audio-visual performance working with sounds generated by the use of different light bulbs and actuating electric devices. The changes in the light intensity, the rhythm of the flickering and pulsating lights are directly transformed into a rich microcosmic world of sound. Within this expansive installation of various types of incandescent lamps Michael Vorfeld creates a multi-layered and vivid sound and light performance.

Michael Vorfeld works in the field of improvised, experimental music and sound art and is often involved in site-specific art projects. He realises light installations and performances and works with photography and film. Besides his solo activities he is a member of various groups and collaborates with artists from different art forms. His list of activities includes numerous concerts, performances and exhibitions in Europe, the USA, Asia and Australia.

Pierre Berthet, composer and percussionist, designs and builds sound objects and installations. One of his inventions is the reversed vacuum cleaner. At the end of the tubes of the reversed vacuum cleaners are fixed flexible tubes (bicycle air chamber). When it is switched on, the flexible tube gets in regular motion on the ground. An assortment of rigid tubes of various dimensions are disposed along the way of the flexible tube. The air blowed in the tubes results in sounds. For his concert in Performatik he will bring together and make a piece for a ‘chamber orchestra” of vacuum cleaners.

Pierre Berthet (°1958 - Liège, BE) studied percussion with André Van Belle and Georges-Elie Octors. Improvisation with Garrett List. Composition with Frederic Rzewski. Music theory with Henri Pousseur. Designs and builds sound objects and installations (steel, plastic, water, magnetic fields,…). Presents them in exhibitions and solo or duo performances with Brigida Romano (C.D. "Continuum asorbus" on the label Sub Rosa) or Frédéric Le Junter (C.D. "Berthet Le Junter" on the label Vandœuvres). Collaborated with "13th tribe" (C.D. "Ping pong anthropology"). Played percussion in Arnold Dreyblatt’s "Orchestra of excited strings" (C.D. "Animal magnetism", label Tzadik ; C.D. "The sound of one string", label Table of the elements).

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

Light Bulb Music & Expirateur

musique
15.02.2009

Ampoules et aspirateurs

L’atelier bruxellois de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore Q-O2 présente un double concert dans le cadre de Performatik.

Le musicien et plasticien Michael Vorfeld joue des percussions et des instruments à cordes, qu’il conçoit lui-même, et crée des œuvres sonores électroacoustiques. Light Bulb Music est une performance audiovisuelle, dont les sons sont produits par l’usage de diverses ampoules et appareils électriques. Les changements d’intensité lumineuse, le rythme des scintillements et des pulsations lumineuses se transforment directement en un univers sonore microcosmique d’une grande richesse. Dans cette installation en expansion, composée de plusieurs types de lampes à incandescence, Michael Vorfeld crée une performance sonore et lumineuse animée et stratifiée.

Artiste sonore, musicien expérimental et improvisateur, Michael Vorfeld participe régulièrement à des projets artistiques liés à des lieux spécifiques. Il réalise des installations et des performances lumineuses et s’essaie également à la photographie et au cinéma. Outre ses activités en solo, Vorfeld est membre de plusieurs groupes et collabore avec des artistes de disciplines diverses. Ses concerts, performances et expositions voyagent en Europe, aux États-Unis, en Asie et en Australie.

Pierre Berthet, componiste et percussioniste, construit des objets et installations sonores. Un de ces inventions est l’aspirateur inversé. Au bout des tuyaux des aspirateurs inversés est fixé une chambre à air de vélo. Quand on envoie de l’air, la chambre à air, posée sur un sol lisse, fait un mouvement de va et vient. Le long du trajet de la chambre à air sont disposés des tuyaux rigides de longueurs variées. Les sons résultent de l’air insufflé dans les tuyaux. Pour le concert de Performatik il créera une pièce pour un ‘orchestre de chambre’ des aspirateurs.

Pierre Berthet (1958, Liège) a étudié les percussions avec André Van Belle et Georges-Elie Octors, l’improvisation avec Garrett List, la composition avec Frederic Rzewski et la théorie musicale avec Henri Pousseur. Pour ses objets et ses installations sonores, il se sert de matériaux comme le métal, le plastique, l’eau et le champ magnétique. Il présente ses installations, tant en solo qu’en collaboration avec, par exemple, Brigida Romano (CD Continuum asorbus sorti sous le label Sub Rosa), Frédéric Le Junter (CD Berthet Le Junter sorti sous le label Vandœuvres). Il a également travaillé avec 13th Tribe (CD Ping Pong Anthropology) et a joué des percussions avec l’ensemble Arnold Dreyblatt’s Orchestra of Excited Strings (CD Animal Magnetism sorti sous le label Tzadik et le CD The Sound of One String sorti sous le label Table of the Elements).