Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Steve Reich Evening

dance
music
07—11.03.2007

A tribute to Steve Reich


The repetitive music of the American composer Steve Reich has always occupied an important position in the work of the choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker since the very beginning. However, the Steve Reich Evening Rosas is presenting this season, with live music, is not a retrospective.


To take us back to the beginning, however, they will perform Piano Phase from Fase. Four movements to the music of Steve Reich (1982). In this part the two dancers follow the movements of their right arm, which, like a pendulum, sets their whole body in motion. The first part of Drumming (see the performances Just Before (1997) and Drumming Live (1998)) will also be performed. In Drumming, Movement 1, the twelve dancers set out long phrases of movement to the music, which is played by four percussionists. In this composition one can hear the influence of the study trip Reich took to Ghana shortly before writing it.


A number of new creations will be added to the existing choreographic works, set to music that includes Four Organs, a piece for four Hammond organs and maracas that caused a scandal when it was first performed in 1970, and Eight Lines, a brilliant twenty-minute ostinato for two pianos, inspired by Balinese music.


Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker once said in an interview: ‘I always try, in a very simplistic way, to present in the dance what appeals to me in the music, and that makes me want to dance.’ This respect for the music and for the composer’s development is clear to see in this Steve Reich Evening. In parallel, it also shows the development of the choreographer. From the short phrases of movement in Piano Phase to the longer phrases in Drumming. Or, as the Ictus musician Jean-Luc Plouvier so lucidly summarised it: from the pendulum movement to that of infinite spirals.

Chorégraphie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Danseurs Boštjan Antončič, Tale Dolven, Kosi Hidama, Kaya Kolodziejczyk , Cynthia Loemij, Mark Lorimer, Moya Michael, Elizaveta Penkóva, Zsuzsa Rozsavölgyi, Igor Shyshko, Clinton Stringer, Sue-Yeon Youn, Anne-Lin Akselsen, Anani Dodji Sanouvi
Musique Steve Reich, György Ligeti
Musique en direct Ictus Ensemble: Jean-Luc Plouvier (clavier, piano), Jean-Luc Fafchamps (clavier, piano), Gerrit Nulens (clavier, percussion), Georges-Elie Octors (clavier, percussion), Géry Cambier (percussion), Miquel Bernat (percussion)
Lumières et scénographie Remon Fromont
CostumesTim Van Steenbergen 
Production Rosas & De Munt | La Monnaie
Coproduction Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville Paris

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Steve Reich Evening

danse
musique
07—11.03.2007

Un hommage à Steve Reich


La musique répétitive du compositeur états-unien Steve Reich occupe une place prédominante dans l’œuvre de la chorégraphe Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, et ce depuis toujours. Le Steve Reich Evening que Rosas présente cette saison, accompagnée de musique en public, n’est cependant pas une rétrospective.


Pour jeter un pont avec ses débuts, l’extrait Piano Phase du spectacle Fase. Four movements to the music of Steve Reich (1982) est repris. Dans cette partie, deux danseuses suivent le mouvement de leur bras droit qui, telle une manivelle, enclenche le mouvement de tout le corps. La première partie de Drumming (voir les spectacles Just Before de 1997 et Drumming Live de 1998) est également incluse dans le Steve Reich Evening. Dans Drumming, Movement 1, douze danseurs alignent des phrases gestuelles sur la musique, interprétée par quatre percussionnistes. Cette composition fait résonner les influences du voyage d’étude que Steve Reich avait effectué peu avant au Ghana.


Aux chorégraphies existantes se greffent de nouvelles créations avec e.a. Four Organs, une pièce pour quatre orgues Hammond et des maracas, qui a fait scandale lors de sa première interprétation en 1970, et Eight Lines, un ostinato brillant de vingt minutes, pour deux pianos, inspiré de la musique balinaise.


Dans une interview, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a dit un jour : « À travers la danse, j’essaie toujours de rendre de manière très simpliste ce qui me plaît dans la musique et m’incite à danser. » Le Steve Reich Evening exhale ce respect de la musique et de l’évolution du compositeur. Parallèlement, cette soirée montre aussi l’évolution de la chorégraphe, dont les phrases gestuelles courtes de Piano Phase s'allongent considérablement dans Drumming. Ou pour reprendre les termes éclairants du musicien d’Ictus, Jean-Luc Plouvier : « du mouvement oscillatoire à celui des spirales infinies ».

Chorégraphie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Danseurs Boštjan Antončič, Tale Dolven, Kosi Hidama, Kaya Kolodziejczyk , Cynthia Loemij, Mark Lorimer, Moya Michael, Elizaveta Penkóva, Zsuzsa Rozsavölgyi, Igor Shyshko, Clinton Stringer, Sue-Yeon Youn, Anne-Lin Akselsen, Anani Dodji Sanouvi
Musique Steve Reich, György Ligeti
Musique en direct Ictus Ensemble: Jean-Luc Plouvier (clavier, piano), Jean-Luc Fafchamps (clavier, piano), Gerrit Nulens (clavier, percussion), Georges-Elie Octors (clavier, percussion), Géry Cambier (percussion), Miquel Bernat (percussion)
Lumières et scénographie Remon Fromont
CostumesTim Van Steenbergen 
Production Rosas & De Munt | La Monnaie
Coproduction Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville Paris