Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Sheep Song

theatre
15—16.12.2023

A sheep stands up and decides that it is no longer fulfilled. It feels that it has more to give, is destined for a life more glorious than those of its fellow sheep. The road to the ultimate transformation is long, but the sheep perseveres, determined to defy fate, the laws of physics and good taste. A story about identity, wanting to belong somewhere but ultimately failing to do so.   
 
In this visually stunning performance, you will see FC Bergman at their best. The impressive sets and silent poetry with a dark side take you into a world where everything comes and goes. The Sheep Song is a modern parable about the fear of, and attraction to, change in a human life. The tragedy of man as a fundamentally changing being. 
 
FC Bergman was founded in 2008 by six young theatre makers. In a short time, they developed their very own theatrical language, which in addition to being idiosyncratic and slightly chaotic, is above all very visual and poetic. They brought 'Van den Vos' (2014) to the Kaaitheatre scene and we presented impressive location projects like 'Terminator Trilogy' (2012), 'The Land of Nod' (2016) and 'JR' (2020, cancelled due to the pandemic). The Sheep Song was also selected for the cultural programme of Belgium's presidency of the Council of the European Union.

"A visually impressive fable about a sheep that wants to become human, but doesn't really belong anywhere." — De Standaard 

"With a premise that is as absurd as it is simple, FC Bergman once again makes shimmering and beautiful theatre. In ‘The Sheep Song, the collective creates without words a bizarre and confusing, but above all beautiful universe."  — De Morgen  

by Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Matteo Simoni, Jonas Vermeulen, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck | with Jonas Vermeulen, Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Matteo Simoni, Dries De Win, Yorrith De Bakker, Jan Deboom, Marie Vinck, Gudrun Ghesquière, Thomas Verstraeten, Bart Hollanders | light design Ken Hioco | sound design Senjan Jansen | costume design Joëlle Meerbergen | music & live execution Frederik Leroux / Ruben Machtelinckx | production FC Bergman, Toneelhuis | co-production Holland Festival, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg,  Piccolo Teatro di Milano - Teatro d’Europa | with the support of de Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius 

DURATION : 90 min.
LANGUAGE : Unspoken
Presented by
Kaaitheater Periferik
35€
*30€
25€
19€
13€
In collaboration with

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

The Sheep Song

théâtre
15—16.12.2023

Un mouton se lève et conclu qu'il n'est plus satisfait de lui-même. Il sent qu'il a davantage en lui, qu'il est destiné à une existence plus glorieuse que celle de ses congénères. Le chemin vers la transformation ultime est long, mais le mouton persévère, déterminé à défier le destin, les lois de la physique et le bon goût. Une histoire sur l'identité, sur le désir d'appartenir à quelque chose sans finalement y parvenir.  

Cette performance visuellement époustouflante propose la quintessence de FC Bergman. Les décors impressionnants et la poésie feutrée avec un côté sombre, vous emmènent dans un monde où tout va et vient. The Sheep Song est une parabole moderne sur la peur et l'attrait du changement dans la vie humaine. La tragédie de l’humain·e en tant qu'être fondamentalement changeant·e. 

• La compagnie FC Bergman fut fondée en 2008 par six artistes de théâtre. En peu de temps, ses membres ont développé un langage théâtral qui leur est propre et qui, en plus d'être excentrique et légèrement chaotique, est surtout très expressif et poétique. Iels sont apparus sur la scène théâtrale du Kaaitheater avec "Van den Vos" (2014) et nous avons présenté des projets impressionnants en extérieur comme "Terminator Trilogy" (2012), "The Land of Nod" (2016) et "JR" (2020, annulé en raison du Covid). The Sheep Song a aussi été sélectionné pour le programme culturel de la présidence belge du Conseil de l'Union européenne. 

« Une fable visuellement impressionnante sur un mouton qui veut devenir humain, mais qui n’est nulle part vraiment complètement chez lui. » — De Standaard 

« Avec un postulat aussi absurde que simple, FC Bergman signe une fois de plus un théâtre chatoyant et de toute beauté. Dans "The Sheep Song", le collectif crée sans mots un univers bizarre et déroutant, mais surtout magnifique. »  — De Morgen  

by Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Matteo Simoni, Jonas Vermeulen, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck | with Jonas Vermeulen, Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Matteo Simoni, Dries De Win, Yorrith De Bakker, Jan Deboom, Marie Vinck, Gudrun Ghesquière, Thomas Verstraeten, Bart Hollanders | light design Ken Hioco | sound design Senjan Jansen | costume design Joëlle Meerbergen | music & live execution Frederik Leroux / Ruben Machtelinckx | production FC Bergman, Toneelhuis | co-production Holland Festival, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg,  Piccolo Teatro di Milano - Teatro d’Europa | with the support of de Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius 

Part of
DURÉE : 90 min.
LANGUAGE : Muet

35/30/25/19/13

Presented by
Kaaitheater Periferik
35€
*30€
25€
19€
13€
In collaboration with