Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Intermedial Meaning-Making in Climate Change Theater

talk
25.09.2023

What if theatre wants to affect people in ways that will let them leave the theatre not simply as people that appreciate art, but as people open to perceiving theatre as an intervention in social discourse and ethical debates? 

Numerous playwrights who address climate change struggle to make us hear and see ideas such as dissolving the dividing lines between the human and the non-human. They experiment with staging the unrepresentable long-term aggregation of data that we call climate. This talk on (anglophone) climate change theatre proposes a range of intermedial methods through which theatre-makers may help us re-think our perspectives on surviving on Planet Earth.  

Nassim W. Balestrini is Full Professor of American Studies and Intermediality at the University of Graz, Austria, where she also heads the Centre for Intermediality Studies in Graz (CIMIG). Contemplating borders and mobility – be it between nations, cultures, languages, or media – informs much of her research. More recently, climate change theater has played a major role in her research and teaching. In this context, she has been exploring ways of collaborating with artists in order to integrate creative work into literary and cultural studies classroom. 

This lecture was originally planned during VUB's weKONEKT.week and is a collaboration between Kaaitheater and the Centre for Literary and Intermedial Crossings (CLIC). The lecture will be held in English but, during the Q&A, questions can be asked in Dutch, English, and German. 

DURATION : 120 min.
LANGUAGE : English
Presented by
Kaaitheater VUB WeKonekt Centre for Literary and Intermedial Crossings

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Intermedial Meaning-Making in Climate Change Theater

talk
25.09.2023

Et si le théâtre voulait toucher les gens de manière à ce qu'ils quittent le théâtre non comme de simples amateur·ices d’art uniquement, mais comme des personnes ouvertes à l’appréhension du théâtre en tant qu'intervention dans le discours social et les débats éthiques ? 

De nombreux·euse dramaturges qui s'intéressent au changement climatique, s'efforcent de nous faire entendre et voir des notions telles que la dissolution des lignes de démarcation entre l'humain et le non-humain. Iels expérimentent la mise en scène de l'irreprésentable agrégation de données à long terme que nous appelons le climat. Cet exposé sur le théâtre (anglophone) du changement climatique propose un éventail de méthodes intermédiales grâce auxquelles les metteur·euses de théâtre peuvent nous aider à repenser nos perspectives de survie sur la planète Terre. 
 
Nassim W. Balestrini est professeure titulaire d'études américaines et d'intermédialité à l'université de Graz, en Autriche, où elle dirige également le Centre d'études sur l'intermédialité de Graz (CIMIG). La contemplation des frontières et de la mobilité - que ce soit entre les nations, cultures, langues ou médias - alimente une grande partie de ses recherches. Le théâtre du changement climatique a plus récemment joué un rôle majeur dans ses recherches et son enseignement. Dans ce contexte, elle a exploré les moyens de collaborer avec des artistes afin d'intégrer le travail créatif dans les cours d'études littéraires et culturelles. 
 
Cette conférence était plannifiée pour se dérouler dans le cadre de la semaine weKONEKT.de la VUB et est une collaboration entre le Kaaitheater et le Centre for Literary and Intermedial Crossings (CLIC). La conférence se déroulera en anglais, mais les questions pourront être posées en néerlandais, en anglais et en allemand pendant la session de questions-réponses. 

DURÉE : 120 min.
LANGUAGE : Anglais
Presented by
Kaaitheater VUB WeKonekt Centre for Literary and Intermedial Crossings