Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Flesh can’t can’ t not’t ‘tis flesh h...

performance
27—28.04.2024

Imagine a sci-fi world shaped by the musical genre of reggaeton, the urban dance perreo, the linguistic experience of accessing everyday life through a limited understanding of English, and the historical connection of Central America with the export of exotic fruits.   

After El cantar del playo or... a song is a rose is a thorn, Mario Barrantes returns to Kaaitheater with Flesh can’t can’  t  not’t ‘tis flesh h…, a multimedia performance that mixes live music, projection of text, dance and sculpture. Two burning bodies guide us through the landscapes of a foreign world, to explore the bittersweet ventures of the Global South-Global North migration, and to trace part of the queer histories found in the Central American region.  

Get in the mood with the Flesh can’t can’t not’t ‘tis flesh h... playlist!

• Mario Barrantes Espinoza (1991) is a Costa Rican-Nicaraguan artist based in Brussels. Having graduated from P.A.R.T.S, they went on to collaborate with François Chaignaud, Théo Mercier, Benjamin Abel Meirhaeghe, Jozef Wouters, Michiel Vandevelde and Eszter Salamon, and to perform as guest artist for musician Peaches and The Subs. Their work articulates performance, the (re)writing of texts, and the use of voice, with materials sourced from pop culture and mainstream media. In 2023, Mario curated the first edition of the Culo shaking night... 'til tears get dry at Kaaitheater, around their first performance, El cantar del playo

concept, performance and texts Mario Barrantes Espinoza | performance Luis Javier Murillo Zúñiga | artistic assistance and texts Theo Livesey | dramaturgy and texts Martín Zícari | wax sculptures Mona Oren | light design Ryoya Fudetani | light Assistance Yuika Koizumi | Laser Lenaic Pujol | Music Luis Miguel Ramírez aka DJ Amapola | Costume direction Nikos Kalaz  | silicone sculptures Moran Sanderovich | stage design Amalia Jaulin | technical Assistance Milan Van Doren | video projections Federico Vladimir Strate Pezdirc  | production Hiros | co-production Kaaitheater, Toneelhuis, VIERNULVIER, DeSingel, Kunstenwerkplaats, Perpodium | residencies workspacebrussels, Kunstencentrum BUDA | in collaboration with KAAP, STUK | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid and the tax shelter of the Belgian Federal Government via uFund | special thanks to Robbe Embrechts, Tembi De Koninck, Rinus Chaerle, Amy Clark, and Nathan Isahakyan

DURATION : 80 min.
LANGUAGE : Spanish English — srt. Spanish English
KAAITHEATER CO-PRODUCTION
WORLD PREMIERE
Sat 27 Apr 24
20:30
Sun 28 Apr 24
17:00
24€
20€
*18€
14€
12€
In collaboration with

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Flesh can’t can’ t not’t ‘tis flesh h...

performance
27—28.04.2024

Imaginez un monde de science-fiction façonné par le genre musical du reggaeton, la danse urbaine du perreo, l'expérience linguistique de l'accès à la vie quotidienne à travers une compréhension limitée de l'anglais, et le lien historique de l'Amérique centrale avec l'exportation de fruits exotiques.   

Après El cantar del playo ... a song is a rose is a thorn, Mario Barrantes revient au Kaaitheater avec Flesh can't can't not't 'tis flesh h..., une performance multimédia qui entremêle musique live, projection de texte, danse et sculpture. Deux corps en feu nous guident à travers les paysages d'un monde étranger, pour explorer les aventures douces-amères de la migration entre le Sud et le Nord, et retracer une partie de l'histoire queer de la région d'Amérique centrale.  

Réchauffez-vous avec le playlist du Flesh can’t can’t not’t ‘tis flesh h... !

Mario Barrantes Espinoza (1991) est un·e artiste costaricien·ne-nicaraguayen·ne basé·e à Bruxelles. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme au P.A.R.T.S, iel a collaboré avec François Chaignaud, Théo Mercier, Benjamin Abel Meirhaeghe, Jozef Wouters, Michiel Vandevelde et Eszter Salamon. Il ea joué en tant qu'artiste invité·e pour les musicien·nes Peaches et The Subs. Son travail s'articule autour de la performance, la (ré)écriture de textes et l'utilisation de la voix, et puise dans du matériel issu de la culture pop et des médias grand public. En 2023, Mario a curaté la première édition de la Culo shaking night... 'til tears get dry au Kaaitheater, autour de sa première performance, El cantar del playo

concept, performance and texts Mario Barrantes Espinoza | performance Luis Javier Murillo Zúñiga | artistic assistance and texts Theo Livesey | dramaturgy and texts Martín Zícari | wax sculptures Mona Oren | light design Ryoya Fudetani | light Assistance Yuika Koizumi | Laser Lenaic Pujol | Music Luis Miguel Ramírez aka DJ Amapola | Costume direction Nikos Kalaz  | silicone sculptures Moran Sanderovich | stage design Amalia Jaulin | technical Assistance Milan Van Doren | video projections Federico Vladimir Strate Pezdirc  | production Hiros | co-production Kaaitheater, Toneelhuis, VIERNULVIER, DeSingel, Kunstenwerkplaats, Perpodium | residencies workspacebrussels, Kunstencentrum BUDA | in collaboration with KAAP, STUK | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid and the tax shelter of the Belgian Federal Government via uFund | special thanks to Robbe Embrechts, Tembi De Koninck, Rinus Chaerle, Amy Clark, and Nathan Isahakyan

DURÉE : 80 min.
LANGUAGE : Espagnol Anglais — srt. Espagnol Anglais
KAAITHEATER CO-PRODUCTION
WORLD PREMIERE
sam 27 avr 24
20:30
dim 28 avr 24
17:00
24€
20€
*18€
14€
12€
In collaboration with