Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - III. Pedagogy

lecture performance
How to Meet in Many Languages?
20.05.2023

Can Western pedagogies work for non-Western structures?  In the three-part lecture series Should Have Been My Mother Tongue, Ahilan Ratnamohan examines the impact of language on society, based on his own learning of the Tamil language.

The third and last part is focused on the learning techniques he has been forced to develop due to the position of Tamil in the global language market and the lack of learning resources, despite its 80 million plus speakers worldwide. The fact that he wishes to acquire Sri Lankan or Jaffna Tamil exacerbates the dearth of traditional, popular learning resources. Confronted with the profoundly disparate grammatical structures, he poses the question, can Western pedagogies work for non-Western structures?  

Ratnamohan presented the first part at Kaaistudio’s and the second during the Passa Porta Festival. Pedagogy takes place at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts.

• Ahilan Ratnamohan, born in Australia to a Sri Lankan and Tamil family, is a theatre maker with an obsession for language. His interdisciplinary work explores language acquisition as a form of performance and vice versa.  His performances have surprising, unconventional forms. In 2021, together with Sulaiman Addonia, he kicked off the series the Wonders of Multilingualism (together with Passa Porta). His solo Alle woorden die ik nog niet kende premiered at Kaaitheater in 2021. For the next three years, we will welcome him as artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater.

presented by Passa Porta, KFDA & Kaaitheater

DURATION : 90 min.
LANGUAGE : English
ARTIST IN RESIDENCE
Presented by
Kaaitheater Passa Porta

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - III. Pedagogy

lecture performance
How to Meet in Many Languages?
20.05.2023

Les pédagogies occidentales peuvent-elles fonctionner pour des structures non occidentales ? Dans la série de conférences en trois parties intitulée Should Have Been My Mother Tongue, Ahilan Ratnamohan se penche sur l'impact de la langue sur la société, en partant de son propre apprentissage de la langue tamoule.

La troisième et dernière partie est consacrée aux techniques d'apprentissage qu'il a été contraint de développer en raison de la position du tamoul sur le marché mondial des langues et du manque de ressources d'apprentissage, malgré ses plus de 80 millions de locuteur·ices à travers le monde. Le fait qu'il souhaite acquérir le tamoul sri-lankais ou le tamoul de Jaffna, exacerbe le manque de ressources d'apprentissage traditionnelles et populaires. Confronté à des structures grammaticales profondément disparates, il pose la question suivante : les pédagogies occidentales peuvent-elles fonctionner pour des structures non occidentales ? Après la première partie au Kaaistudio’s et la deuxième au festival Passa Porta, cette dernière partie est à l’affiche du Kunstenfestivaldesarts.  

• Ahilan Ratnamohan, né en Australie dans une famille sri-lankaise et tamoule, est un metteur en scène de théâtre obsédé par la langue. Dans son travail interdisciplinaire, il explore l'acquisition du langage comme une forme de performance et vice versa. Ses performances adoptent des formes surprenantes et non conventionnelles. En 2021, il a donné le coup d'envoi de la série Les merveilles du multilinguisme (Passa Porta) avec Sulaiman Addonia. En 2022, son solo All the words I didn't know yet a été présenté en première au Kaaitheater. Pour les trois prochaines années, nous l'accueillons comme artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater. 

presented by Passa Porta, KFDA & Kaaitheater

DURÉE : 90 min.
LANGUAGE : Anglais
ARTIST IN RESIDENCE
Presented by
Kaaitheater Passa Porta