Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

dance
music
#ILoveMusic
#BigNames
#Repertoire
01—18.09.2021

The Goldberg Variations belong to Bach’s late period in which the composer pushed the possibilities of musical themes to the extreme in an interplay of variations, canons, and fugues. For this composition, he started from a simple and quiet melody and an underlying bass line that steadily unfolds into a musical cosmos that reveals itself with extraordinary variety and unparalleled complexity.

Along with pianists Pavel Kolesnikov* and Alain Franco*, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker continues her journey with Bach in dialogue with these variations. The large casting of The Six Brandenburg Concertos – the previous Rosas creation to music by Bach – is now brought back as a solo performance danced by De Keersmaeker herself. Here too, the musical score forms a blueprint for the choreography.

With one aria and thirty variations, the music challenges the dance to find a form that is in constant flux but also has an immutable core. De Keersmaeker brings together her journey as a choreographer and her ongoing search for a personal choreographic idiom.

The Goldberg Variations shows a life that is interwoven with dance: one sees an artistic biography that writes itself live, here and now.  —  Etcetera

 

* Pavel Kolesnikov: 01 – 04.09 & 14 – 18.09
* Alain Franco: 08 – 11.09

choreography & dance Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | music Johann Sebastian Bach, The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 | piano Pavel Kolesnikov (1>4/9, 14>18/9) / Alain Franco (8 >11/9) | musical collaboration Alain Franco | choreographic assistant Diane Madden | set and lighting design Minna Tiikkainen | sound Alban Moraud / Erwan Boulay | artistic assistant Martine Lange | artistic coordination & planning Anne Van Aerschot | tour managers Tis Daneels, Bert De Bock & Laura Delaere | technical director Marlies Jacques | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | sewing Emmanuelle Erhart | wardrobe Emma Zune & Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Olivier De Groelard, Bram Geldhof, Jan Balfoort & Michael Smets | production Rosas | co-production Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw, De Munt/La Monnaie, Théâtre de la Ville à Paris - Théâtre du Châtelet, Internationaal Theater Amsterdam, Julidans, Sadler’s Wells, Montpellier Danse | special thanks to Takeshi Sakai, Anke Loh, Kees Van Houten, Leen Decin, Cynthia Loemij & Jacob Storer | piano provided by Yamaha | realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community & by the BNP Paribas Foundation

DURATION : 120 min.

€10/16/22/27/32

Covid Safe Ticket

Rosas, De Munt en het Kaaitheater hebben samen beslist om een Covid Safe Ticket  (CST) in te voeren voor deze voorstellingen. Dankzij het CST gelden er geen afstandsregels meer in de zaal en kunnen we in veilige omstandigheden plaats maken voor meer publiek.

Presented by
Kaaitheater Rosas
10€
16€
22€
27€
32€

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

danse
musique
#ILoveMusic
#BigNames
#Repertoire
01—18.09.2021

Les Variations Goldberg comptent parmi les œuvres de la haute maturité de Bach. Le compositeur y pousse jusqu’à l’extrême les possibilités de thèmes dans un jeu de variations, de canons et de fugues. À partir d’une simple mélodie, assez réservée et d’une basse sous-jacente continue sur laquelle se déploie un univers musical éblouissant, d’une diversité et d’une complexité à couper le souffle.

            Avec les pianistes Pavel Kolesnikov* et Alain Franco*, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker poursuit son entêté compagnonnage avec Bach. Après l’ample distribution des six Concertos brandebourgeois, sa précédente création sur la musique de Bach, elle opte cette fois pour un spectacle en solo, qu’elle interprète elle-même. Mais comme toujours, l’étude des partitions musicales constitue le fondement de la partition.

            Avec une aria et sa trentaine de variations, la musique lance à la danse un redoutable et passionnant défi : inventer une forme dansée en perpétuelle transformation, tout en gravitant pourtant autour d’un foyer immobile. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker fait se croiser le chemin parcouru jusqu’à ce jour et la quête permanente d’un langage chorégraphique qui lui est propre.

 Variations Goldberg montre une vie entrelacée à la danse : on est spectateur d'une biografie artistique qui continue à s'écrire en direct, ‘ici et maintenant’ — Etcetera

* Pavel Kolesnikov: 01 – 04.09 & 14 – 18.09
* Alain Franco: 08 – 11.09

choreography & dance Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | music Johann Sebastian Bach, The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 | piano Pavel Kolesnikov (1>4/9, 14>18/9) / Alain Franco (8 >11/9) | musical collaboration Alain Franco | choreographic assistant Diane Madden | set and lighting design Minna Tiikkainen | sound Alban Moraud / Erwan Boulay | artistic assistant Martine Lange | artistic coordination & planning Anne Van Aerschot | tour managers Tis Daneels, Bert De Bock & Laura Delaere | technical director Marlies Jacques | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | sewing Emmanuelle Erhart | wardrobe Emma Zune & Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Olivier De Groelard, Bram Geldhof, Jan Balfoort & Michael Smets | production Rosas | co-production Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw, De Munt/La Monnaie, Théâtre de la Ville à Paris - Théâtre du Châtelet, Internationaal Theater Amsterdam, Julidans, Sadler’s Wells, Montpellier Danse | special thanks to Takeshi Sakai, Anke Loh, Kees Van Houten, Leen Decin, Cynthia Loemij & Jacob Storer | piano provided by Yamaha | realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community & by the BNP Paribas Foundation

DURÉE : 120 min.

€10/16/22/27/32

Covid Safe Ticket

Rosas, De Munt en het Kaaitheater hebben samen beslist om een Covid Safe Ticket  (CST) in te voeren voor deze voorstellingen. Dankzij het CST gelden er geen afstandsregels meer in de zaal en kunnen we in veilige omstandigheden plaats maken voor meer publiek.

Presented by
Kaaitheater Rosas
10€
16€
22€
27€
32€