Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Miguel meets Karima

performance
10.09.2008

Differences


The Portuguese choreographer Miguel Pereira studied dance in Lisbon, Paris and New York. He has worked together with people like Francisco Camacho, Vera Mantero and Jérôme Bel, whose work has been staged in the Kaaitheater. He will be presenting his own work at the Spoken World Festival.


Miguel meets Karima tells the story of a joint venture which never materialised. Between 2004 and 2006 Pereira participated in several intercultural residency projects in Southern Europe, North Africa, and South America. During this period he was supposed to create a performance together with the Egyptian dancer and choreographer Karima Mansour. However, their cultural and personal differences led to difficulties and in the end they decided to each create their own solo performance. Both solos were presented one after the other at the Alkantara Festival in Lisbon under the title, Karima meets Lisbon meets Miguel meets Cairo.


In his part, Pereira openly and personally explains why it was so difficult to realise a project together. In the meantime Miguel meets Karima has already been staged in Portugal, Spain, Brazil and Slovenia.

conception and performance Miguel Pereira | collaboration Roger Bernard, Rui Catalão | costume production Mónica Bertran | executive production Rumo do Fumo (Lisbon), Alkantara (Lisbon), Panorama Rio Dança (Rio de Janeiro) | co-production Alkantara 2006, Panorama Rio Dança, O Rumo do Fumo, MAPA / Cel-lula Sant Mori, Jangada de Pedra, Galeria ZDB | artistic residency & support CENTA / Centro de Estudos de Novas Tendências Artísticas, Cel-lula Sant Mori, Negócio / ZDB | support European Cultural Foundation, Telemar (Brasil) | O Rumo do Fumo is supported by Ministério da Cultura, Instituto das Artes

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Miguel meets Karima

performance
10.09.2008

Divergences


Le chorégraphe portugais Miguel Pereira a étudié la danse à Lisbonne, Paris et New York. Il a travaillé avec, entre autres, Francisco Camacho, Vera Mantero et Jérôme Bel, des hôtes réguliers du Kaaitheater. Lors du festival Spoken World, il présente une œuvre personnelle.


Miguel meets Karima relate l’histoire d’une collaboration que n’a jamais vu le jour. Entre 2004 et 2006, Pereira participe à des projets de résidence interculturelle en Europe méridionale, en Afrique du Nord et en Amérique latine. Au cours de cette période, il était censé créer un spectacle avec la danseuse et chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Mais le projet est allé à vau-l’eau. Leurs divergences personnelles et culturelles ont tellement complexifié leur collaboration, qu’ils ont décidé de créer chacun un solo, qui a été présenté – l’un à la suite de l’autre – au Festival Alkantara à Lisbonne, sous le titre de Karima meets Lisbon meets Miguel meets Cairo.


Dans son solo, Pereira décrit d’une façon ouverte et personnelle les difficultés rencontrées pour monter ce projet commun. Entretemps, Miguel meets Karima a tourné au Portugal, en Espagne, au Brésil et en Slovénie.

conception and performance Miguel Pereira | collaboration Roger Bernard, Rui Catalão | costume production Mónica Bertran | executive production Rumo do Fumo (Lisbon), Alkantara (Lisbon), Panorama Rio Dança (Rio de Janeiro) | co-production Alkantara 2006, Panorama Rio Dança, O Rumo do Fumo, MAPA / Cel-lula Sant Mori, Jangada de Pedra, Galeria ZDB | artistic residency & support CENTA / Centro de Estudos de Novas Tendências Artísticas, Cel-lula Sant Mori, Negócio / ZDB | support European Cultural Foundation, Telemar (Brasil) | O Rumo do Fumo is supported by Ministério da Cultura, Instituto das Artes