Anouk De Clercq [BE]

Thing

Thing
Thing

25.09.2013

Imaginary cities

An architect talks about the city he has built. Gradually we realise that the city is imaginary. His account is a futile attempt to give his ideas a fixed shape. This, in a nutshell, is the story of Thing, a book and video film by artist Anouk De Clercq.  

Anouk De Clercq: ‘Spatiality is a key concept in my work. I created Building (2003) following a conversation I had with the architect Paul Robbrecht about the Concertgebouw in Bruges. Oh (2010) was based on the drawings of the French architect Etienne-Louis Boullée. For Thing I talked to Professor Dirk De Meyer about buildings that have not been built, such as those of Boullée, Terragni's Danteum, the architecture of the Futurists, Kenzo Tange's master-plan for Skopje, and so on. These suggestions of buildings are similar to the virtual spaces in my video films. I also found inspiration in cities like Rome, Florence and Berlin. The most powerful feature of Rome is perhaps the layering of time, the survival of the past in the urban patterns and old buildings. In Berlin I am always fascinated by the many memorial plaques in the city. They are reminders of lost places, lost buildings and lost lives, and suggest a parallel, imaginary city. This is precisely what Thing is about: the memory of a place, architectural ghosts of the past that infect the present, imaginary buildings.’

• Anouk De Clercq (b. 1971) studied film at Sint Lukas in Brussels. Her work has also been exhibited at Tate Modern and Centre Pompidou. She is artistic researcher for KASK in Ghent.


by Anouk De Clercq | sound Scanner | image Scanlabprojects | editor Fairuz | voice Liam Byrne | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven | text editing & translation Mari Shields | final sound mixing Maxence Ciekawy at Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains | technical research Elias Heuninck, Yves Marquillie | title design Michael Bussaer | production Auguste Orts | executive producer Marie Logie | support Flanders Audiovisual Fund, CERA Partners in Art, Kaaitheater, Academia Belgica (IT), Nomas Foundation (IT), Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains (FR) | thanks Dirk De Meyer, Paul Robbrecht, Alex Scott-Whitby, Matthew Shaw, Christine Sticher | distributed by Auguste Orts | Thing is part of The art of ~scaping a research project by Anouk De Clercq, funded by the Research Fund University College Ghent

Anouk De Clercq [BE]

Thing

Thing
Thing

25.09.2013

Villes imaginaires

Un architecte parle de la ville qu’il a construite. Chemin faisant, il s’avère qu’il s’agit d’une ville imaginaire. Son exposé est une tentative stérile de donner corps à ses pensées. Voilà en bref l’histoire de Thing, un livre et une vidéo de l’artiste-plasticienne Anouk De Clercq.  

Anouk De Clercq : « L’espace est un concept clé dans mon œuvre. J’ai réalisé Building (2003) suite à une conversation avec l’architecte Paul Robbrecht à propos du Concertgebouw à Bruges. Dans Oh (2010), je suis partie des dessins de l’architecte français Étienne-Louis Boullée. Pour Thing, je me suis entretenue avec Dirk De Meyer au sujet de projets architecturaux jamais réalisés, comme ceux de Boullée, le Danteum de l’architecte futuriste Terragni, ou le plan d’ensemble pour Skopje de Kenzo Tange, etc. Ces propositions de bâtiments sont comparables aux espaces virtuels de mes vidéos. J’ai aussi puisé mon inspiration dans des villes comme Rome, Florence et Berlin. La caractéristique la plus marquante de Rome est sans doute la stratification du temps, la continuité du passé dans des schémas urbains et les édifices anciens. À Berlin, je suis fascinée par les multiples plaques commémoratives. Elles rappellent des lieux, des édifices et des vies perdus et suggèrent une ville imaginaire, parallèle. Thing traite précisément de cela : de la mémoire d’un lieu, de fantômes architectoniques du passé qui hantent le présent, de bâtiments imaginaires. »

• Anouk De Clercq (°1971) a fait des études de cinéma à l’institut Sint Lukas, à Bruxelles. On a pu voir ses réalisations à la Tate Modern, au Centre Pompidou, et dans bien d’autres lieux. Elle est actuellement chercheuse artistique reliée au KASK à Gand.


by Anouk De Clercq | sound Scanner | image Scanlabprojects | editor Fairuz | voice Liam Byrne | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven | text editing & translation Mari Shields | final sound mixing Maxence Ciekawy at Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains | technical research Elias Heuninck, Yves Marquillie | title design Michael Bussaer | production Auguste Orts | executive producer Marie Logie | support Flanders Audiovisual Fund, CERA Partners in Art, Kaaitheater, Academia Belgica (IT), Nomas Foundation (IT), Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains (FR) | thanks Dirk De Meyer, Paul Robbrecht, Alex Scott-Whitby, Matthew Shaw, Christine Sticher | distributed by Auguste Orts | Thing is part of The art of ~scaping a research project by Anouk De Clercq, funded by the Research Fund University College Ghent