Ahilan Ratnamohan / ROBIN

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

02.02.2023

In the three-part lecture series Should Have Been My Mother Tongue, Ahilan Ratnamohan examines the impact of language on society, based on his own learning of the Tamil language. For this he switched the language he spoke with his 71-year-old mother. The theme of the first lecture is 'community': how does a shared language influence mutual relationships among the Tamil diaspora? Could these relationships exist if there is no shared language? Ahilan also looks at his relationship with his own children whom he is raising in English but really wants to speak Tamil with them.

Part II (Culture) and III (Pedagogy) of the lecture series will take place at the Passa Porta festival and Kunstenfestivaldesarts.

Ahilan Ratnamohan, born in Australia to a Sri Lankan and Tamil family, is a theatre maker with an obsession for language. His interdisciplinary work explores language acquisition as a form of performance and vice versa.  His performances have surprising, unconventional forms. In 2021, together with Sulaiman Addonia, he kicked off the series the Wonders of Multilingualism (together with Passa Porta). His solo Alle woorden die ik nog niet kende premiered at Kaaitheater in 2021. For the next three years, we will welcome him as artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater.


presented by Passa Porta, KFDA & Kaaitheater

There's more

Ahilan Ratnamohan / ROBIN

Une Traduction Infidèle

theatre

Une Traduction Infidèle
Une Traduction Infidèle
Théâtre La Balsamine
Tue 23.05 - Sat 27.05.23

Ratnamohan explores the cultural and linguistic barrier between Wallonia and Flanders through the eyes of a migrant living in Antwerp. What does it mean to learn the globally dominant language in the context of a Flemish-dominated economy?

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture

lecture performance

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture
Kaaistudio's
Sun 26.03.23

In how far does language influences your cultural taste? In the three-part lecture series Should Have Been My Mother Tongue. In part 2, during Passa Porta Festival, he concentrates on social customs, music, film and literature.

Ahilan Ratnamohan / ROBIN

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

02.02.2023

Dans la série de conférences en trois parties intitulée Should Have Been My Mother Tongue, Ahilan Ratnamohan se penche sur l'impact de la langue sur la société, en partant de son propre apprentissage de la langue tamoule. Il a ainsi changé de langue parlée avec sa mère de 71 ans. Le thème de la première conférence est "la communauté". Comment la langue partagée influence-t-elle les relations mutuelles au sein de la diaspora tamoule ? Ces relations pourraient-elles exister en l'absence de langue commune ? Enfin, Ahilan se penche sur sa relation avec ses enfants qu'il élève en anglais, tout en caressant le désir de leur parler en tamoul. Les parties II (Culture) et III (Pédagogie) de la série de conférences auront lieu au festival Passa Porta et au Kunstenfestivaldesarts.  

Ahilan Ratnamohan, né en Australie dans une famille sri-lankaise et tamoule, est un metteur en scène de théâtre obsédé par la langue. Dans son travail interdisciplinaire, il explore l'acquisition du langage comme une forme de performance et vice versa. Ses performances adoptent des formes surprenantes et non conventionnelles. En 2021, il a donné le coup d'envoi de la série Les merveilles du multilinguisme (Passa Porta) avec Sulaiman Addonia. En 2022, son solo All the words I didn't know yet a été présenté en première au Kaaitheater. Pour les trois prochaines années, nous l'accueillons comme artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater. 


presented by Passa Porta, KFDA & Kaaitheater

There's more

Ahilan Ratnamohan / ROBIN

Une Traduction Infidèle

théâtre

Une Traduction Infidèle
Une Traduction Infidèle
Théâtre La Balsamine
ma 23.05 - sa 27.05.23

Ratnamohan explore la barrière culturelle et linguistique entre la Wallonie et la Flandre à travers les yeux d'un migrant vivant à Anvers. Qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'apprendre la langue dominante dans le contexte d'une économie dominée par la Flandre ?

Ahilan Ratnamohan / ROBIN

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture

lecture performance

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - II. Culture
Kaaistudio's
di 26.03.23

Dans quelle mesure la langue influence-t-elle vos goûts culturels? Dans la série de conférences en trois parties intitulée Should Have Been My Mother Tongue. Dans cette deuxième partie, lors du festival Passa Porta, il se concentre sur les habitudes sociales, la musique, le cinéma et la littérature.