Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras & Michiaki Ueno / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

26.01 – 11.02.2023

Johann Sebastian Bach's Cello Suites are a milestone in Western music history. Their ingenious architecture, dancing rhythms and timeless beauty continue to fascinate to this day. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker has already proved her affinity with Bach in performances such as The Goldberg Variations and Six Brandenburg Concertos. She continues to strive for a choreography that captures the essence of Bach's musical language.

In Mitten wir im Leben sind, three male and two female dancers - including De Keersmaeker herself - adapt, question and dance the six suites. This exciting symbiosis of music and dance reveals both the uniqueness of each suite individually, as well as their mutual interaction in the totality of the cycle.

• Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and her company Rosas are well established in the international contemporary dance scene. She has been closely associated with Kaaitheater since the beginning of her dance career. During the spring of 2023, we will also present En Atendant and Creation 2023.

“If you were going to choose a choreographer to pair with Bach, it would be Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker.” - The Guardian

"A great moment of grace and beauty". - La Libre


presented by Rosas, De Munt/La Monnaie & Kaaitheater

choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras (on 26, 27 & 28.01 + on 9, 10 & 11.02) or Michiaki Ueno (on 2, 3, 4 & 5.02) | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Suites for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi, Maria Eva Rodriguez | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

There's more

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Cour et Cœur

En Atendant

dance music

En Atendant
En Atendant
Thu 15.09 - Sat 01.10.22

For En Atendant, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker took inspiration from the Ars Subtilior, a 14th century polyphonic musical form. Against the complexity and intangibility of life, she places the body. In 2011, the performance was selected for Het Theaterfestival. Now this gem returns to Brussels in the home of Rosas in Vorst/Forest.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Creation 2023

dance music

Creation 2023
Creation 2023
Wed 31.05 - Sat 10.06.23

With this new creation, Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers shifts her exploration of the relationship between music and dance back to pop music. Creation 2023 not only encourages dance, but also emphasises the need for stories and music that we can relate to and recognise.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras & Michiaki Ueno / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

26.01 – 11.02.2023

Les Suites pour violoncelle de Johann Sebastian Bach constituent un jalon dans l'histoire de la musique occidentale. Leur architecture ingénieuse, leur rythme dansant et leur beauté intemporelle continuent de fasciner jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a déjà démontré son affinité avec Bach dans des interprétations telles que les Variations Goldberg et les Six Concertos Brandebourgeois. Elle continue de tenter de créer une chorégraphie qui capture l'essence du langage musical de Bach.

Dans Mitten wir im Leben sind, cinq danseurs - dont De Keersmaeker elle-même - adaptent, interrogent et dansent les six suites. Cette symbiose passionnante de la musique et de la danse révèle à la fois la singularité de chaque suite et leur interaction mutuelle dans l'ensemble du cycle.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker est, avec sa compagnie Rosas, une valeur établie de la danse contemporaine internationale. Elle est étroitement associée au Kaaitheater depuis le début de sa carrière de danseuse. Parallèlement à cette création, nous présenterons Création 2023 au printemps 2023.

 

« Si vous deviez choisir un chorégraphe à associer à Bach, ce serait Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. » - The Guardian

« Un grand moment de grâce et de beauté. » - La Libre


presented by Rosas, De Munt/La Monnaie & Kaaitheater

choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | violoncelle Jean-Guihen Queyras (on 26, 27 & 28.01 + on 9, 10 & 11.02) or Michiaki Ueno (on 2, 3, 4 & 5.02) | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero | music Johann Sebastian Bach, 6 Suites for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV 1007 to 1012 | costumes An D’Huys | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | sound Alban Moraud | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie, Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie, Montpellier Danse 2018 | special thanks to Thomas Hertog, Palle Dyrvall, Anke Loh, Aurianne Skybyk, Mathieu Bonilla, François Deppe, Alain Franco, Kimiko Nishi, Maria Eva Rodriguez | world premiere 26 August 2017, Ruhrtriennale Bach

There's more

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Cour et Cœur

En Atendant

danse musique

En Atendant
En Atendant
Rosas performance space
je 15.09 - sa 01.10.22

Pour En Atendant, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker s'est inspirée de l'Ars Subtilior, une forme musicale polyphonique du XIVe siècle. Contre la complexité et l'insaisissabilité de la vie, elle impose le corps. En 2011 le spectacle a été sélectionné pour Het Theaterfestival. Cette pépite revient aujourd’hui à Bruxelles au foyer de Rosas à Forest.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas, Meskerem Mees & Jean-Marie Aerts

Creation 2023

danse musique

Creation 2023
Creation 2023
Théâtre National
me 31.05 - sa 10.06.23

Avec cette nouvelle création, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker déplace son exploration de la relation entre la musique et la danse vers la musique pop. Creation 2023 n'encourage pas seulement la danse, mais souligne également le besoin d'histoires et de musique auxquelles nous pouvons nous identifier et reconnaître.