Ivana Müller

Forces of Nature

Forces of Nature
Forces of Nature

24.11 – 25.11.2020

Ivana Müller has been inspired by the five fundamental mechanical principles of movement: gravity, inertia, resistance, momentum, action, and reaction. These are what compel bodies, objects, animals, water, minerals and plants to move. And we must control them in order to walk and dance. If you apply these forces to social, political and emotional bodies, you open a new perspective on the world around us. For example, a large country stands for a heavier body, and a small country has a lighter and more dynamic constitution. And if a nation is burdened down by a heavy history, you will need just as much momentum to change the course of that history.

Forces of Nature follows the movements of a complex organism that is constituted of five dancers, each with their own energy and ideas. Together, they construct a shared space, a habitat. Their negotiations produce movements, and from their questions flows a score.

• Author and choreographer Ivana Müller grew up in Zagreb and Amsterdam. She currently lives and works in Paris. She has been a guest at Kaaitheater several times, for example with the ecological fable Conversations out of place.


concept, text & choreography Ivana Müller | in collaboration with the performers Hélène Iratchet, Julien Lacroix, Julien Gallée-Ferré, Vincent Weber a.o. | research Anne Lenglet | dramaturgy Jonas Rutgeerts | lights Martin Kaffarnik/Fanny Lacourt | set design Alix Boillot | costumes Suzanne Veiga Gomes | sound design Cornelia Frederike Müller | production I’M COMPANY (Matthieu Bajolet, Gerco de Vroeg, François Maurisse) | co-production Buda, Schauspiel Leipzig, D, CCN2 Centre National Chorégraphique de Grenoble, Tanzfabrik

Ivana Müller

Forces of Nature

Forces of Nature
Forces of Nature

24.11 – 25.11.2020

Ivana Müller s’attaque aux cinq principes mécaniques fondamentaux du mouvement – gravité, lenteur, résistance, moment propice, action et réaction – qui mettent en branle des corps, des objets, des animaux, de l’eau, des minéraux et des plantes. Et nous devons les contrôler pour pouvoir marcher et danser. Si on applique ces forces à des corps sociaux, politiques et émotionnels, on obtient une autre perspective du monde qui nous entoure. C’est ainsi qu’un grand pays symbolise un corps plus lourd, et qu’un petit pays incarne un organisme plus léger et plus dynamique. Et lorsqu’une nation traîne une histoire chargée, il faut autant de moments propices pour modifier le cours de l’histoire.

Forces of Nature suit les mouvements d’un organisme complexe composé de cinq danseurs, avec chacun son énergie et ses idées personnelles. Ensemble, ils construisent un espace partagé, un habitat. De leurs négociations naissent des mouvements, de leurs questions découle une partition.

• L’écrivaine et chorégraphe Ivana Müller a grandi à Zagreb et à Amsterdam. Actuellement, elle vit et travaille à Paris. Elle a été à plusieurs reprises l’hôte du Kaaitheater, entre autres, avec la fable écologique Conversations out of place.


concept, text & choreography Ivana Müller | in collaboration with the performers Hélène Iratchet, Julien Lacroix, Julien Gallée-Ferré, Vincent Weber a.o. | research Anne Lenglet | dramaturgy Jonas Rutgeerts | lights Martin Kaffarnik/Fanny Lacourt | set design Alix Boillot | costumes Suzanne Veiga Gomes | sound design Cornelia Frederike Müller | production I’M COMPANY (Matthieu Bajolet, Gerco de Vroeg, François Maurisse) | co-production Buda, Schauspiel Leipzig, D, CCN2 Centre National Chorégraphique de Grenoble, Tanzfabrik