Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 

Burning Ice #9

Festival

Tipping Points

Man’s presence on earth represents only a tiny fraction of the planet’s timeline. Yet according to a considerable number of scientists we have for some time been living in the Anthropocene, the geological era in which the impact of human activity has affected the climate and the atmosphere.

Over the last few decades it has become clear that our actions are taking us closer to dangerous climatological, biological and technological tipping points, when we lose control and are no longer able to foresee the consequences. However, there are no indications that we wish to make fundamental changes to our behaviour.

BURNING ICE #9 once again brings together artists, academics and theorists and asks why we are increasingly eager to brazen it out when it comes to speculating on our own future. Is it a collective desire for the ultimate thrill? The end of the planet as we know it: could this be the main act of the next decade?

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Burning Ice #9

Festival

Moments de basculement

La présence de l’être humain sur terre ne représente qu’une fraction infime de la ligne temporelle planétaire. Néanmoins, selon certains scientifiques nous vivons depuis tout un temps déjà à l’ère de l’Anthropocène, l’époque géologique pendant laquelle l’impact de l’activité humaine s’est révélé déterminant pour le climat et l’atmosphère.

Dans les décennies passées, il s’est avéré évident que nos agissements menaient à de dangereux moments de basculement climatologiques, biologiques et technologiques, entraînant une perte de contrôle et brouillant toute vision d’ensemble des conséquences. Pourtant, rien ne démontre que nous soyons réellement enclins à adapter notre comportement.

BURNING ICE #9 réunit à nouveau des artistes, des scientifiques et des théoriciens et se demande pourquoi nous paraissons toujours empressés de jouer au poker menteur en matière de spéculation sur notre propre avenir. Est-ce un désir collectif d’excitation ultime ? L’(in)évitable déclin de la planète comme acte principal de la décennie à venir ?!

Presented by
Kaaitheater Imagine 2020 European Union | Creative Europe

Programmed in Burning Ice #9:

Events