buren

Blue Skies Forever

Blue Skies Forever
Blue Skies Forever

15.10.2020

In 2016, Beyoncé unleashed her music video Hold Up on the world. It was remarkably similar to the 1997 video work Ever is Over All by Pipilotti Rist. Fascinated by the divergent depictions of women in the videos, buren decided to focus on the two figures in Ever is Over All: Dorothy, from the Wizard of Oz, and a police officer called Officer. In a dreamlike, associative performance, these figures are depicted, reinterpreted, dissociated and then reconnected. The young makers at buren playfully subvert the clichés that continue to dominate representations of women.

• The work of buren – the collective led by Oshin Albrecht and Melissa Mabesoone – is located at the intersection of performance, theatre and visual art. With irony, humour and future-oriented imagination, they play with themes like the feminine, pop music and neoliberal fantasies. Blue Skies Forever was their first production. This season you can also see their second production SPARE TIME WORK.

The persuasiveness of the actors, who perform the strangest actions with bitter earnest, ensures that the packed audience’s concentration doesn’t waver for a moment. – METROPOLIS M

A form that balances between a historical plea for emancipation, installation performance and wacky rabbit-hole. – TAZette


by and with Melissa Mabesoone & Oshin Albrecht (buren) | third eye Charlotte Van Den Eynde | voice coach Jakob Ampe | music and sound buren, Benjamin Dousselaere & Ferre Marnef | set design buren & Dominiek Colpaert | light Frouke Van Gheluwe & Ezra Veldhuis | support de Vlaamse Gemeenschap, STUK, Vooruit, De Brakke Grond, wpZimmer, Gouvernement, CC Scharpoord

There's more

‘Clichés help us explore new avenues’

an interview with buren

‘Clichés help us explore new avenues’
‘Clichés help us explore new avenues’

article

Tue 13.10.20

Reality slips away from us and then comes back and bites us. Artists respond to it with their imagination. In their performance Blue Skies Forever, the Buren collective pulls you into a strange dream that makes you question where reality ends and illusion begins. (14/10/2020, BRUZZ)

buren

Blue Skies Forever

Blue Skies Forever
Blue Skies Forever

15.10.2020

En 2016, Beyoncé lance son clip vidéo Hold up. Celui-ci présente de multiples analogies avec l’œuvre vidéo de Pipilotti Rist, Ever is Over All (1997). Fasciné par les différentes représentations de femmes dans les vidéos, buren travaille autour des deux personnages de Ever is Over All: Dorothy, d’après Le Magicien d’Oz et l’agente Officer. Dans un jeu associatif onirique, ces personnages sont représentés, transposés, dissociés et réassociés. Les jeunes créateurs de buren esquivent les clichés autour de la femme qui dominent encore à ce jour les représentations féminines.

• Les réalisations de buren – le collectif autour d’Oshin Albrecht et Melissa Mabesoone – se situent entre la performance, le théâtre et les arts plastiques. Avec de l’ironie et un pouvoir d’imagination tourné vers l’avenir, ils jouent avec des thèmes comme la féminité, la musique pop et les fantaisies néolibérales. Blue Skies Forever était leur premier spectacle. Cette saison, vous pourrez aussi voir leur deuxième production, SPARE TIME WORK.

« La force de persuasion des acteurs qui exécutent les actions les plus étranges avec le plus grand sérieux fait que la salle comble ne perd à aucun moment sa concentration. » – METROPOLIS M

« Entre le plaidoyer d’émancipation historique, l’installation performance et un terrier d’hurluberlus. » – TAZette


by and with Melissa Mabesoone & Oshin Albrecht (buren) | third eye Charlotte Van Den Eynde | voice coach Jakob Ampe | music and sound buren, Benjamin Dousselaere & Ferre Marnef | set design buren & Dominiek Colpaert | light Frouke Van Gheluwe & Ezra Veldhuis | support de Vlaamse Gemeenschap, STUK, Vooruit, De Brakke Grond, wpZimmer, Gouvernement, CC Scharpoord