Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

See is for story - Tea is for telling

A deep dive into the different possibilities of storytelling 👀✍🏾☕🗣️👁🥟📔

performance
workshop
dinner
party
01—02.12.2023

See is for story - Tea is for telling is a focus programme curated by a community of artists, art lovers and art workers that are active in and around the artistic working and meeting place Globe Aroma. 
From September 2023, Globe Aroma will bring together a temporary community of storytellers, listeners, translators and intermediaries around workshops, performative dinners, narrative tea sessions, try-outs and more. Over the first weekend of December, they will share these practices with a congenial audience* across all the spaces of the Kaaistudios.

The programme is built around some of the themes that the temporary community currently is working on (sometimes individually, sometimes collectively): 

rereading heritage - toy stories - intimate journals - dumpling tales - sewing your story - subjective mapping - sipping a narrative - the (im)possibility of translating 

 

PROGRAMME

Friday 1st of December

→ 2-5pm 🚪 What is a Door? @ Kaaistudios (Concertstudio) | book your free ticket
→ 6pm 🥟 Dumpling Tales: performatief diner @ Globe Aroma | buy your tickets (PWYC €12/14/18*/20/24)

Saturday 2nd December           

→ 2pm 🧵 Getting Softer with Espace Fxmme @ Kaaistudios (Dance studio) | book your free ticket
→ 2-4pm 🥟 Dumpling Tales: a workshop about food and stories with Mirra Markhaeva @ Kaaistudiosbook your free ticket
→ 4.30-5.30pm ☕ Tales from the First Floor @ Kaaistudios | book your free ticket
→ 6-8pm 🌶️ Comfort is found in a spicy sauce @ Kaaistudios | buy your tickets (PWYC €4/6*/8)
→ 8.30pm 👁️ Trying things out @ Kaaistudios  | buy your tickets (PWYC €0/5/8*/12)
→ 10pm-3am 💫 Party with Liaison Collective @ Globe Aroma | free

 

PROGRAMMe

Friday 1 December

→ 2-5pm 🚪 What is a Door? @ Kaaistudios (Concertstudio):

A conversation on accessibility & hospitality of cultural institutions.

As part of the Art for All project, Globe Aroma visits many different cultural houses on a monthly basis for concerts, exhibitions, theatre, workshops,... Each time, we are faced with a door: sometimes open, sometimes closed or occasionally unclear which door to use. It brought us to the question of what a door should look like, if it wants to welcome us.

Over the past few weeks, the Art for All community went out with a photo camera to capture inspiring doors. We now invite all cultural workers, programmers and casual interested parties to walk through our door collection with us and start collective reflection on how cultural places are both physically and mentally accessible.

Free reservation

 

→ 6pm 🥟 Dumpling Tales: performative dinner @ Globe Aroma

Dumpling Tales is a series of performative dinners taking place in Globe Aroma, during which people are invited to share food and stories. Why dumplings? Making dumplings requires patience, physical exercise and the wish to share time with other people. And by eating them together we want to celebrate the art of telling stories, be them personal, collective, traditional, invented, true... Eating and making dumplings together as a starting point to speak about our habits, childhood memories, about who we are and how we are in the world.

For this dinner, artist Mirra Markhaeva and other two cooks will delight guests with dumplings from different countries. Guests, from their side, are invited to learn how to make traditional dumplings and bring a recipe as an ‘entry fee’.  These recipes will become a book in the future.

A heads-up: The traditional dumplings chosen for this dinner are meat-based. If you join for this activity, please be aware that the dumpling making session will include touching/using meat and the dinner will be mainly based on meat.
This dinner is conceived as interactive: as a guest you will be invited to publicly share stories and anecdotes about food.

6pm dumpling making session 

8pm dinner 

Tickets PWYC € 12/ 14/ 18* / 20/ 24


Saturday 2 December          

→ 2pm 🧵 Getting Softer with Espace Fxmme @ Kaaistudios (Dance studio)

Every Thursday, a group of women meet at Globe Aroma as part of Espace Fxmme. They share stories with each other and exchange a variety of textile techniques. Over the past few years, the group has been working on a series of colourful patchworks, based on and inspired by stories carefully embroidered together. The themes meandering through the textile works range from motherhood, family, being at home to friendship and freedom.

During the 2-day event at Kaaistudios, we will exhibit the finished patchworks in the form of a tent that serves as a safe shelter for stories. On Saturday, the Espace Fxmme sisters activate the tent by stitching stories and experiences together, surrounded by the soft and wild colours of the already existing patchworks. Come along and learn different narrative textile techniques.

Free reservation

→ 2-4pm 🥟 Dumpling Tales: a workshop about food and stories with Mirra Markhaeva @ Kaaistudios

A collective journey into childhood memories, recipes, and (more or less) fun facts around food. Let's share our stories with each other, and turn them into one single tapestry of illustrations, ornaments and lettering with the help of artist Mirra Markhaeva. The outcome will become a coloring mural in Globe Aroma to be realized in spring of 2024. Our individual stories will become a part of a bigger one. This workshop is the follow up of Dumpling Tales: performative dinner.

Artist Mirra Markhaeva, currently based in Brussels, works with illustration, graphic design, mural painting and textile sculptures.

Free reservation

 

→ 4.30-5.30pm ☕ Tales from the First Floor @ Kaaistudios

The first floor of Globe Aroma building hosts the dedicated ateliers of the artists part of the Artistic Workplace. Globe Aroma accompanies these artists by providing them with tools, a network in the arts and a space where to work and think. Their individual artistic practices are supported via tailored-made trajectories aimed at lowering the threshold of accessibility to the art field.

With Tales from the First Floor, we want to invite the audience to have a tea together with the artists…and their artworks. Come and discover the art practices of artists active in Globe Aroma, and discover their works in the words of the artists, but also by feeling their works with the five senses.

Free reservation

 

→ 6-8pm 🌶️ Comfort is found in a spicy sauce @ Kaaistudios

Ifrah Yusuf has been a regular participant in Globe Aroma's co-creation projects for several years: from TXT is not written plain to Underneath Which Rivers Flow. During these projects, we got to know Ifrah as a fantastic cook who always managed to conjure up a magical spicy sauce.

On Saturday 2 December, you are invited to an experimental tasting: together we will explore how to find comfort in the story of a spicy sauce. You are welcome to join the tasting between 6 and 8pm.

Tickets PWYC € 4/ 6*/8

 

→ 8.30pm 👁️ Trying things out @ Kaaistudios

A glimpse of different projects still in their making, among which a theater project around the complexity of human and love relationships in our times; a performative-installation that starting from a medieval epic poem from Georgia offers a new perspective on it, by exploring themes of love, identity, and the challenges of living in a society discriminating LGBTQ+ individuals; a collection of videos and pictures to tell to a broader audience more about Dumpling Tales project. Given that the projects are still in fieri,  Trying things out is for the attentive and caring eyes of those who want to discover what’s still being researched and developed. 

Tickets PWYC € 0/ 5/ 8*/12

 

→ 10pm-3am 💫 Party with Liaison Collective @ Globe Aroma

Liaison Collective is in residence at Globe Aroma's rehearsal space this year to build from there a platform and network supporting queer musicians from newcomer backgrounds. They will conclude the 2-day focus programme on storytelling with a celebration. In the words of Liaison:

“We envision a world where music is a tool for social justice and empowerment, where queer musician migrants are celebrated and supported, and where solidarity and community are at the forefront of our work.”

Free without reservations: full is full

 

FRIDAY AND SATURDAY IN THE SPACE PERMANENTLY:

👁️ Art For All photo exhibit (related to What is a Door?) at the entrance

As part of the Art for All project, Globe Aroma visits many different cultural houses on a monthly basis for concerts, exhibitions, theatre, workshops,... Each time, we are faced with a door: sometimes open, sometimes closed or occasionally unclear which door to use. It brought us to the question of what a door should look like, if it wants to welcome us.

Over the past few weeks, the Art for All community went out with a photo camera to capture inspiring doors. Welcome to walk through our door collection during this 2-day focus programme and start a collective reflection on how cultural places are both physically and mentally accessible.

📹 Media Lab Station in the bar

A temporary meeting and working space for the youngsters we work with in the frame of the project Art for You(th). Every Wednesday afternoon, youngsters from reception centers such as Fedasil Schaarbeek and Bordet come and take possession of the space and equipment of Globe Aroma in an informal atmosphere. During See is for Story, Tea is for Telling, part of the bar at Kaaistudios will be turned into a media lab station hosted by Boly Mpany Mpongo. With video and sound equipment, the youngsters will interview artists and guests, and document the whole focus program, producing multiple narratives through their eyes and voices.

🎪TENT by Espace Fxmme in the dance studio

Every Thursday, a group of women meet at Globe Aroma as part of Espace Fxmme. They share stories with each other and exchange a variety of textile techniques. Over the past few years, the group has been working on a series of colourful patchworks, based on and inspired by stories carefully embroidered together. The themes meandering through the textile works range from motherhood, family, being at home to friendship and freedom. During the 2-day event at Kaaistudios, we will exhibit the finished patchworks in the form of a tent that serves as a safe shelter for stories.

programme by Nastasiya Kharitonova, Liaison Collective (Mariami Ochigava, Erekle Mgeladze Stela Namgaladze), Ali Almir, Mirra Markhaeva, Egoo Dallas, Kled Kapexhiu, Tatiana Zubieta, Habib Saher, Tamila, Tamara (ttamo) MamulashviliAnch1t, Giorgi Elizbarashvili, Henry Keller, Karl Joonas Alamaa, Salome Grdzelischvili, Rémi Sarmini, Sarmini Shilemeza Prins, Ifrah Yusuf, Sepideh AlaghaSmaia Abdul, Oyuna (Oyunchimeg) Bayanjargal, Hafiza Azimi, Gueladio Ba, Alice Ciresola, Fadia Fraide, Gaëlle Khalife, Marjoleine Maes, Amina Saâdi, Brecht Theunis, An Vandermeulen, Raf Muylle, Sara Pasternacki Pereira, Boly Mpany Mpongo, WA, New South, The Kitchen (Reem Shilleh, Mohanad Yaqubi, Joachim Ben Yakoub, Yazan Khalili, Omar Jabary Salamanca, Christopher Daley), Looops, Terra Nova, Pigment, etcetera | concept, production, support Globe Aroma | co-production Kaaitheater | thanks Monty, Europalia, VGC, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, De Nationale Loterij, Welzijnszorg, Instituut voor de gelijkheid van vrouwen en mannen

A number of the activities in this programme are exclusively for Globe Aroma's active community but there are also a number of activities for which we invite a wider audience.

*Sommige activiteiten in dit programma zijn uitsluitend voor de actieve community van Globe Aroma, voor andere activiteiten nodigen we dan weer een breed publiek uit.

20€
18€
14*€
12€
8€

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

See is for story - Tea is for telling

A deep dive into the different possibilities of storytelling 👀✍🏾☕🗣️👁🥟📔

performance
workshop
diner
party
01—02.12.2023

See is for story - Tea is for telling est un programme ciblé, conçu par la communauté d'artistes, d’amateur·ices d'art et de travailleur·euses artistiques actif·ves dans et autour du lieu de travail et de rencontre artistique Globe Aroma. 

À partir de septembre 2023, Globe Aroma réunira une communauté temporaire de conteur·euses, d’auditeur·ices, de traducteur·ices et d'intermédiaires autour d'ateliers, de dîners performatifs, de séances de thé narratif, des try-outs, etc. Le premier week-end de décembre, iels partageront ces pratiques avec un public sympathique* dans tous les espaces du Kaaistudios.

Le programme s'articule autour de certains des thèmes sur lesquels la communauté temporaire travaille actuellement (parfois individuellement, parfois collectivement) :

relecture du matrimoine/patrimoine - histoires de jouets - journaux intimes - histoires de boulettes - coudre son histoire - cartographie subjective - siroter un récit - l'(im)possibilité de traduire

 

PROGRAMME

Vendredi 1 décembre

→ 14h-17h 🚪 What is a Door? @ Kaaistudios (Concertstudio) | réservez votre place gratuit
→ 18h 🥟 Dumpling Tales: performatief diner @ Globe Aroma | achetez vos billets (PWYC €12/14/18*/20/24)

Samedi 2 decembre           

→ 14h 🧵 Getting Softer with Espace Fxmme @ Kaaistudios (Dance studio) | réservez votre place gratuit
→ 14h-16h 🥟 Dumpling Tales: a workshop about food and stories with Mirra Markhaeva @ Kaaistudiosréservez votre place gratuit
→ 16h30-17h30 ☕ Tales from the First Floor @ Kaaistudios | réservez votre place gratuit
→ 18-20h 🌶️ Comfort is found in a spicy sauce @ Kaaistudios | achetez vos billets (PWYC €4/6*/8)
→ 20h30 👁️ Trying things out @ Kaaistudios  | achetez vos billets (PWYC €0/5/8*/12)
→ 22h-3h 💫 Party with Liaison Collective @ Globe Aroma | gratuit

 

PROGRAMME

Vendredi 1 décembre

→ 14h-17h 🚪 What is a Door? @ Kaaistudios (Concertstudio):

Une conversation sur l’accessibilité et l’hospitalité des institutions culturelles.

Dans le cadre du projet Art for All, Globe Aroma visite chaque mois toute une série de lieux culturels destinés à des concerts, des expositions, du théâtre, des workshops, …. A chaque fois, nous nous retrouvons face à une porte, tantôt fermée, tantôt ouverte et parfois, nous ne savons pas très bien quelle porte pousser. Nous nous sommes alors demandé à quoi devrait ressembler une porte accueillante.

Au cours des dernières semaines, la communauté d'Art for All s'est munie d'un appareil photo pour capturer des portes inspirantes. Nous invitons à présent tous·tes les travailleur·euses du secteur culturel, les programmateur·ices et les personnes intéressées à se joindre à nous pour arpenter notre collection de portes et entamer une réflexion collective sur l'accessibilité physique et mentale des lieux culturels.

Gratuit sur réservation

 

→ 18h 🥟 Dumpling Tales: dîner performatif @ Globe Aroma

Dumpling Tales est une série de dîners performatifs qui se tiennent à Globe Aroma et au cours desquels des personnes sont invitées à partager de la nourriture et des histoires. Pourquoi des dumplings ? Parce que les préparer requiert de la patience, de l’effort physique et le désir de partager du temps avec d’autres personnes. Et en les dégustant ensemble, nous voulons célébrer l’art de raconter des histoires, qu’elles soient personnelles, collectives, traditionnelles, inventées, réelles, …Préparer et manger des dumplings ensemble est un point de départ pour parler de nos habitudes, de souvenirs d’enfance, de qui nous sommes et de notre manière d’être dans le monde.

Lors de ce dîner, l’artiste Mirra Markhaeva et deux autres cuisinier·ères vont régaler leurs hôtes avec des dumplings de différents pays. En guise de « prix d’entrée », les convives seront quant à eux·elles invité·es à apprendre à préparer des dumplings traditionnels et à apporter une recette. Ces recettes feront l’objet d’un futur ouvrage.

Attention: Les dumplings traditionnels choisis pour ce dîner sont à base de viande. Si vous participez à cette activité, sachez que la séance de fabrication des dumplings consistera à toucher/utiliser de la viande et que le dîner sera principalement basé sur la viande.
Ce dîner est conçu comme interactif : en tant qu'invité, vous serez invité à partager publiquement des histoires et des anecdotes sur la nourriture.

18h00 séance de préparation de dumplings

20h00 dîner

Tickets PWYC € 12/ 14/ 18* / 20/ 24


Samedi 2 décembre      

→ 14h 🧵 Getting Softer avec Espace Fxmme @ Kaaistudios (Dance studio)

Un groupe de femmes se réunit chaque jeudi à Globe Aroma dans le cadre d’ Espace Fxmme. Elles échangent des récits et différentes techniques de textile. Ces dernières années, ce groupe a travaillé sur une série de patchworks colorés basés et inspirés par des histoires soigneusement brodées les unes aux autres. Les thèmes qui sinuent à travers les œuvres textiles vont de la maternité, la famille, le foyer, l’amitié à la liberté.

Durant les deux jours de l’évènement aux Kaaistudios, nous présenterons les patchworks achevés sous la forme d’une tente qui servira de safe space au recueil de récits. Les Espace Fxmme sisters activeront la tente le samedi en brodant ensemble des histoires et expériences, entourées des patchworks déjà existants, aux coloris doux et sauvages. Venez apprendre différentes techniques de textiles narratives.

Gratuit sur réservation

→ 14h-17h 🥟

Dumpling Tales: un workshop sur la nourriture et les histoires avec Mirra Markhaeva @ Kaaistudios

Un voyage collectif à travers des souvenirs d’enfances, des recettes et des faits (plus ou moins) amusants autour de la nourriture. Partageons nos histoires et transformons-les en une vaste tapisserie d'illustrations, d'ornements et de lettres avec l'aide de l'artiste Mirra Markhaeva. Le résultat prendra la forme d'une fresque murale colorée qui sera réalisée au printemps 2024 à Globe Aroma. Nos histoires individuelles se fondront dans un récit plus grand. Ce workshop est la suite de Dumpling Tales : dîner performatif.

L'artiste Mirra Markhaeva est actuellement basée à Bruxelles et intègre l'illustration, le design graphique, la peinture murale et les sculptures textiles dans sa pratique.

Gratuit sur réservation

 

→ 16h30-17h30 ☕ Tales from the First Floor @ Kaaistudios

Le premier étage du bâtiment abritant Globe Aroma accueille les workshops dédiés aux artistes faisant partie de l’espace de création. Globe Aroma accompagne ces dernier·ères en mettant à leur disposition des outils, un réseau artistique et un espace où travailler et réfléchir. Leurs pratiques artistiques individuelles sont soutenues par des trajectoires sur mesure visant à abaisser le seuil d'accessibilité au domaine de l'art.

Avec Tales from the First Floor, nous souhaitons inviter le public à prendre le thé en compagnie des artistes... et de leurs œuvres. Venez découvrir les pratiques artistiques des artistes actif·ves à Globe Aroma, et découvrez leurs œuvres tant à travers leurs mots qu’à l’aide des cinq sens. 

Gratuit sur réservation

 

→ 18-20h 🌶️ Comfort is found in a spicy sauce @ Kaaistudios

De TXT is not written plain à Underneath Which Rivers Flow, Ifrah Yusuf participe régulièrement aux projets de co-création de Globe Aroma et ce depuis plusieurs années. Au cours de ces projets, nous avons appris à connaître cette fantastique cuisinière qu’est Ifrah qui, à chaque fois, sort une sauce épicée magique de sa manche.
Le samedi 2 décembre, vous êtes invité·es à une dégustation expérimentale : nous explorerons ensemble comment puiser du réconfort dans l'histoire d'une sauce épicée. Vous pouvez joindre la dégustation entre 18 et 20h.

Tickets PWYC € 4/ 6*/8

 

→ 20h30 👁️ Trying things out @ Kaaistudios

Un aperçu de différents projets en cours de création, parmi lesquels un projet théâtral sur la complexité des relations humaines et amoureuses à notre époque ; une installation performative qui, à partir d'un poème épique médiéval de Géorgie, offre une nouvelle perspective sur celui-ci, en explorant les thèmes de l'amour, de l'identité et des défis de la vie dans une société discriminant les individus LGBTQ+ ; une collection de vidéos et d'images pour en divulguer davantage sur le projet Dumpling Tales à un public plus large. Étant donné que les projets sont encore en cours, Trying things out s'adresse aux yeux attentifs et bienveillants de celleux qui veulent découvrir une œuvre encore en phase de recherche et de développement. 

Tickets PWYC € 0/ 5/ 8*/12

 

→ 22h-3h 💫 Party with Liaison Collective @ Globe Aroma

Cette année, Liaison Collective est en résidence dans l’espace de répétition de Globe Aroma afin de construire une plateforme et un réseau soutenant les musicien·nes queer issu·es de milieux nouveaux. Iels concluront le programme de deux jours consacrés à la narration par une célébration. Selon les termes de Liaison :

"Nous envisageons un monde où la musique est un outil de justice sociale et d'autonomisation, où les musicien·nes migrant·es queers sont célébré·es et soutenu·es, et où la solidarité et la communauté sont au premier plan de notre travail. »

Gratuit sans réservation: complet = complet

 

EN PERMANENCE DANS L'ESPACE LE VENDREDI ET SAMEDI:

👁️ Exposition de photos Art For All (en rapport avec What is a Door?) à l'entrée

Dans le cadre du projet Art for All, Globe Aroma visite chaque mois toute une série de lieux culturels destinés à des concerts, des expositions, du théâtre, des workshops, ….A chaque fois, nous nous retrouvons face à une porte, tantôt fermée, tantôt ouverte et parfois, nous ne savons pas très bien quelle porte pousser. Nous nous sommes alors demandé à quoi devrait ressembler une porte accueillante.

Au cours des dernières semaines, la communauté d'Art for All s'est munie d'un appareil photo pour capturer des portes inspirantes. Nous invitons à présent tous·tes les travailleur·euses du secteur culturel, les programmateur·ices et les personnes intéressées à se joindre à nous pour arpenter notre collection de portes et entamer une réflexion collective sur l'accessibilité physique et mentale des lieux culturels.

📹 Media Lab Station dans le bar

Un espace temporaire de rencontre et de travail pour les jeunes avec lesquel·les nous travaillons dans le cadre du projet Art for You(th). Chaque mercredi après-midi, des jeunes de centres d'accueil tels que Fedasil Schaerbeek et Bordet, viennent prendre possession de l'espace et de l'équipement de Globe Aroma dans une atmosphère informelle. Dans le cadre de See is for Story, Tea is for Telling, une partie du bar du Kaaistudios sera transformée en station de laboratoire médiatique animée par Boly Mpany Mpongo. Avec du matériel vidéo et audio, les jeunes intervieweront les artistes ainsi que les invité·es, et documenteront l'ensemble du programme, produisant ainsi de multiples récits à travers leurs yeux et leurs voix.

🎪TENT par Espace Fxmme dans le studio de danse

Un groupe de femmes se réunit chaque jeudi à Globe Aroma dans le cadre d’ Espace Fxmme. Elles échangent des récits et différentes techniques de textile. Ce groupe a travaillé ces dernières années sur une série de patchworks colorés basés et inspirés par des histoires soigneusement brodées les unes aux autres. Les thèmes qui sinuent à travers les œuvres textiles vont de la maternité, la famille, le foyer, l’amitié à la liberté. Durant les deux jours de l’évènement aux Kaaistudios, nous présenterons les patchworks achevés sous la forme d’une tente qui servira de safe space au recueil de récits.

programme by Nastasiya Kharitonova, Liaison Collective (Mariami Ochigava, Erekle Mgeladze Stela Namgaladze), Ali Almir, Mirra Markhaeva, Egoo Dallas, Kled Kapexhiu, Tatiana Zubieta, Habib Saher, Tamila, Tamara (ttamo) MamulashviliAnch1t, Giorgi Elizbarashvili, Henry Keller, Karl Joonas Alamaa, Salome Grdzelischvili, Rémi Sarmini, Sarmini Shilemeza Prins, Ifrah Yusuf, Sepideh AlaghaSmaia Abdul, Oyuna (Oyunchimeg) Bayanjargal, Hafiza Azimi, Gueladio Ba, Alice Ciresola, Fadia Fraide, Gaëlle Khalife, Marjoleine Maes, Amina Saâdi, Brecht Theunis, An Vandermeulen, Raf Muylle, Sara Pasternacki Pereira, Boly Mpany Mpongo, WA, New South, The Kitchen (Reem Shilleh, Mohanad Yaqubi, Joachim Ben Yakoub, Yazan Khalili, Omar Jabary Salamanca, Christopher Daley), Looops, Terra Nova, Pigment, etcetera | concept, production, support Globe Aroma | co-production Kaaitheater | thanks Monty, Europalia, VGC, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, De Nationale Loterij, Welzijnszorg, Instituut voor de gelijkheid van vrouwen en mannen

*Certaines activités de ce programme sont exclusivement réservées à la communauté active de Globe Aroma, d'autres sont destinées à un public plus large.

20€
18€
14*€
12€
8€