Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

13 Ways of Looking at a Black Bird / Apiyemiyekî?

2020, 31’ / 2019, 27’

film
05.03.2022

Taking its title from the poem by Wallace Stevens, 13 Ways of Looking at a Blackbird is composed of a series of attempts of looking and being looked at. Beginning as a city state commission under the name and attitude of Unschool, the film became a kaleidoscope of the experiences, questions and wonders of a couple of high school students after a year of experiences with filmmaker Ana Vaz questioning what cinema can be. Here, the camera becomes an instrument of inquiry, a pencil, a song. “The film is a song you can see,” wrote one of the students in a collective constellation of phrases and drawings made during one of the workshops. The phrase is a perfect description of a film that explores a nascent ecology of the senses.

Apiyemiyekî? is a cinematographic portrait that departs from Brazilian educator and indigenous rights militant Egydio Schwade's archive – Casa da Cultura de Urubu  – found in his home at Presidente Figueiredo (Amazonas), where are currently kept over 3.000 drawings made by the Waimiri-Atroari, a people native to the Brazilian Amazon, during their first literacy experience. Based on Brazilian educator and philosopher Paulo Freire's critical pedagogy, drawings became one of the first methods for reciprocal knowledge exchange and production. During these literacy exercises, the most recurrent question posed by the Waimiri-Atroari was: why did Kamña (“the civilized”) killed Kiña (Waimiri-Atraori)? Apiyemiyekî? (Why?). 

The drawings document and construct a collective visual memory from their learning experience, perspective and territory, while attesting to a series of violent attacks the Waimiri-Atroari were submitted to during the Military Dictatorship. Apiyemiyekî? animates and transposes their drawings to the landscapes and sights that they narrate searching to echo their recurrent question and trusting that memory really is a necessary engine to build a common future.


Biographies

Ana Vaz is an artist, film-maker and founder of in(ter)disciplinary collective COYOTE. Her film-poems are underpinned by experimental collages of images and sounds, discovered and produced, to reflect upon situations and contexts which are historically and geographically marked by narratives of violence and repression. Expansions or consequences of her films, her practice may also be embodied in writing, critical pedagogy, installations, film programs or ephemeral events. Her films have been screened and discussed in film festivals, seminars and institutions such as the Tate Modern, Palais de Tokyo, Jeu de Paume, LUX Moving Images, New York Film Festival - Projections, IFFR, TIFF Wavelengths, BFI, Cinéma du Réel, CPH:DOX, Flaherty Seminar, Courtisane, TABAKALERA and Doc's Kingdom. In 2015, she was the recipient of the Kazuko Trust Award presented by the Film Society of Lincoln Center in recognition of artistic excellence and innovation in her moving-image work.

Stoffel Debuysere is a curator of cinema and audiovisual arts. He is the Head of Program of the courtisane film festival and a researcher and lecturer in film-critical Studies at the KASK School of Arts in Ghent, where he obtained a PhD in 2017 with the project Figures of Dissent - Cinema of Politics, Politics of Cinema. Based in Brussels, he continues to organize various film programs and discursive events in collaboration with numerous organizations and institutions in Belgium and abroad. His current research is focused on the politics of sound in cinema and audiovisual arts.

DURATION : 150 min.
BELGIAN PREMIERE

€ 10 / 7 / 4

These two Belgian premières will be followed by an extensive Q&A with Ana Vaz, moderated by Stoffel Debuysere.

Dinner

From 18:30 to 20:00, you can have dinner. Please book in advance here.

Presented by
Kaaitheater VAF
10€
7 €
4€

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

13 Ways of Looking at a Black Bird / Apiyemiyekî?

2020, 31’ / 2019, 27’

film
05.03.2022

Tirant son titre du poème de Wallace Stevens, 13 Ways of Looking at a Blackbird est composé d'une série de tentatives de regarder et d'être regardé·e. Entamé comme une commande de la ville et de l'État sous le nom et l'attitude de Unschool, le film est devenu un kaléidoscope des expériences, questions et émerveillements d'un couple de lycéens après une année d'expériences avec la cinéaste Ana Vaz qui s'interroge sur ce que peut être le cinéma. La caméra devient ici un instrument d'investigation, un crayon, une chanson. " Le film est une chanson que l'on peut voir ", écrit l'un des élèves dans une constellation collective de phrases et de dessins réalisés lors d'un des ateliers. La phrase décrit parfaitement un film qui explore une écologie naissante des sens.

Apiyemiyekî ? est un portrait cinématographique qui part des archives de l'éducateur brésilien et militant des droits des indigènes Egydio Schwade - Casa da Cultura de Urubu - trouvées dans sa maison à Presidente Figueiredo (Amazonas), où sont actuellement conservés plus de 3000 dessins réalisés par les Waimiri-Atroari, un peuple originaire de l'Amazonie brésilienne, au cours de leur première expérience d'alphabétisation. Fondés sur la pédagogie critique de l'éducateur et philosophe brésilien Paulo Freire, les dessins sont devenus l'une des premières méthodes d'échange et de production de connaissances réciproques. Au cours de ces exercices d'alphabétisation, la question la plus récurrente posée par les Waimiri-Atroari était : pourquoi Kamña ("les civilisés") a-t-il tué Kiña (Waimiri-Atraori) ? Apiyemiyekî ? (Pourquoi ?).

Les dessins documentent et construisent une mémoire visuelle collective à partir de leur expérience d'apprentissage, de leur perspective et de leur territoire, tout en attestant d'une série d'attaques violentes auxquelles les Waimiri-Atroari ont été soumis·es durant la dictature militaire. Apiyemiyekî ? anime et transpose leurs dessins dans les paysages et visions qu'iels racontent, cherchant à faire écho à leur question récurrente et à croire que la mémoire est vraiment un moteur nécessaire pour construire un avenir commun.

 


Ana Vaz est une artiste, cinéaste et la fondatrice du collectif in(ter)disciplinaire COYOTE. Ses films-poèmes s'appuient sur des collages expérimentaux d'images et de sons découverts ainsi que produits, visant à réfléchir à des situations et des contextes marqués historiquement et géographiquement par des récits de violence et de répression. Développements ou conséquences de ses films, sa pratique peut également s'incarner dans l'écriture, la pédagogie critique, les installations, les programmes de films ou les événements éphémères. Ses films ont été projetés et débattus dans des festivals de cinéma, des séminaires et des institutions tels que la Tate Modern, le Palais de Tokyo, le Jeu de Paume, LUX Moving Images, le New York Film Festival - Projections, l'IFFR, TIFF Wavelengths, le BFI, le Cinéma du Réel, CPH:DOX, le Flaherty Seminar, Courtisane, TABAKALERA et Doc's Kingdom. En 2015, elle a reçu le Kazuko Trust Award décerné par la Film Society of Lincoln Center en reconnaissance de l'excellence artistique et de l'innovation dans son travail sur l'image en mouvement.

Stoffel Debuysere est un conservateur du cinéma et de l'audiovisuel. Il est responsable de la programmation du festival du film courtisane et chercheur et enseignant en études cinématographiques-critiques à la KASK School of Arts de Gand, où il a obtenu un doctorat en 2017 avec le projet Figures of Dissent - Cinema of Politics, Politics of Cinema. Basé à Bruxelles, il continue à organiser divers programmes cinématographiques et événements discursifs en collaboration avec de nombreuses organisations et institutions en Belgique et à l'étranger. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la politique du son dans le cinéma et les arts audiovisuels.

DURÉE : 150 min.
BELGIAN PREMIERE

€ 10 / 7 / 4

These two Belgian premières will be followed by an extensive Q&A with Ana Vaz, moderated by Stoffel Debuysere.

Dinner

From 18:30 to 20:00, you can have dinner. Please book in advance here.

Presented by
Kaaitheater VAF
10€
7 €
4€