Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation
21—22.02.2020

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming (2016) is a long-term research project that takes as a starting point the radio shows of the liberation movements based in Algeria in the 60s and 70s. During that time, the Algerian capital hosted national liberation movements, political exiles, rebels and disillusioned Westerners and militants from all the continents, who were forging other possible futures.

The first chapter of the project; a common consent to listen. a collective dissent of interpretation is a multimedia cumulative, ongoing and durational performance that borrows from the radio- and theatre documentary genres. A broadcasting company at times, a foreign broadcast monitoring centre at others, this first chapter explores new ways of activating the unique and little-known archive of the 'Mecca of Revolution'.

For Moussem Cities: Algiers, Yasmina Reggad creates two new versions. #8 is the eighth iteration of the ever-evolving we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming performance inspired by the radio documentary genre. #9 is the performative installation that re-enacts different modalities of political engagements and international solidarity through radio broadcasting from exile. The audience is invited to activate the installation and become the radio commentators of a daily live broadcast by reading a projected script inspired by militant movies from the 70s.

• Yasmina Reggad is an independent curator, writer, researcher, performer and choreographer who works between Brussels and Algiers.

concept, script & research Yasmina Reggad | editing Lola Hislaire | sound dramaturgy Myriam Pruvot | production Hiros | co-production Moussem | with the support of Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap), Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Ucross Foundation, Sundance Institute Theatre Progra, the Bouzeurs Family

LANGUAGE : Arabic English French German Portuguese — srt. English

• Continuous installation: see it develop through the days!

• Also see the accompanying performance!

opening hours

Fri 21/02 18:00 > 23:00
Sat 22/02 12:00 > 23:00

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation
21—22.02.2020

we dreamt of utopia and woke up screaming (2016) est un projet de recherche à long terme qui prend pour point de départ les émissions radiophoniques des mouvements de libération basés en Algérie dans les années 60 et 70. À cette époque, la capitale algérienne accueillait des mouvements de libération nationale, des exilés politiques, des Occidentaux rebelles et désillusionnés et des militants de tous les continents qui y forgeaient d’autres avenirs possibles.

Le premier volet du projet, a common consent to listen. a collective consent of interpretation est une performance multimédia cumulative, continue et durable qui emprunte aux genres du documentaire radiophonique et du théâtre documentaire. Par moments, une société de radiodiffusion, à d’autres, un centre étranger de contrôle de diffusion, ce premier chapitre explore de nouvelles façons d’exposer et d’aviver des archives uniques et peu connues d’un temps où Alger était surnommée « La Mecque des révolutionnaires ».

Pour Moussem Cities : Alger, Yasmina Reggad crée deux nouvelles versions : #8 est la huitième itération de la performance en constante évolution we dreamt of utopia and woke up screaming inspirée du genre du documentaire radiophonique. #9 est une installation performative qui remet en scène différentes modalités d’engagements politiques et de solidarités internationales à travers la diffusion radio en exil. Le public est invité à activer l’installation et à devenir le commentateur radio d’une émission quotidienne en direct en lisant le script projeté, inspiré de films militants des années 70.

• Yasmina Reggad est commissaire d’expositions indépendante, écrivaine, chercheuse et performeuse et chorégraphe. Elle vit et travaille entre Bruxelles et Alger.

concept, script & research Yasmina Reggad | editing Lola Hislaire | sound dramaturgy Myriam Pruvot | production Hiros | co-production Moussem | with the support of Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap), Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Ucross Foundation, Sundance Institute Theatre Progra, the Bouzeurs Family

LANGUAGE : Arabe Anglais Français Allemand Portugais — srt. Anglais

• Continuous installation: see it develop through the days!

• Also see the accompanying performance!

opening hours

Fri 21/02 18:00 > 23:00
Sat 22/02 12:00 > 23:00