Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Cry Me a River. The quest for the source

theatre
#ComeTogether
#gender
#Tender
05—06.02.2020

An expedition to the source of the Styx has taken Karen Røise Kielland and Katja Dreyer to the heart of Greek mythology. This mythical river was thought to be the border between our upper world and the underworld. The water made Achilles immortal, made Narcissus fall in love with his own reflection, and mere mortals lose their memory if they drink from it. Through images, objects, movement and stories, they reconstruct their extraordinary journey. They breathe new life into an old myth through numerous encounters with local residents and their stories about the river. The performance begins with multiplicity and chaos, but the closer to the source, the more order and monochrome silence begin to surface.

• Theatre maker Katja Dreyer lives and works in Brussels, and came to the Kaaistudios for the first time last season with Ophelia Comes to Brooklyn. Karen Røise Kielland co-founded Blood for Roses in Amsterdam during her studies at the Theaterschool. She’s mainly made site-specific performances, but lately also work for theatres and art spaces. A recurring theme is our strangely complex relationship to nature.

idea, direction and performance Karen Røise Kielland & Katja Dreyer | dramaturge Marit Grimstad Eggen | scenography Ole Martin Lund Bø | composition & music Jessica Sligter | lighting design Ingeborg Staxrud Olerud | speachcoach Isabelle Barth | co-production Buda, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Black Box teater | support Norsk Kulturråd, the Flemish Community, The Flemish Community Commission, Fond for Utøvende kunstnere, Norsk Fond for Lyd og Bilde, Performing Arts Hub Norway | thanks to Linda Theodoru, Danae Theodoridou, Dimitris Anagnostopoulos, Anastasia Efstathiou, Willem De Wolf, The Norwegian Institute, Athens Panayotis and his mother, kunstencentrum Nona, Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein

DURATION : 70 min.
LANGUAGE : English
ACT

+ post-performance talk on 6/02

Presented by
Kaaitheater ACT - Art Climate Transition

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Cry Me a River. The quest for the source

théâtre
#ComeTogether
#gender
#Tender
05—06.02.2020

Par le biais d’une expédition à la source du Styx, Karen Røise Kielland et Katja Dreyer atterrissent dans la mythologie grecque. Ce célèbre fleuve formait la frontière entre le monde terrestre et le monde souterrain des Enfers. Achille y a été plongé, Narcisse y est tombé amoureux de son reflet et les simples mortels qui buvaient ses eaux en perdaient la mémoire. À la faveur d’images, d’objets, de mouvements et de récits, elles reconstituent leur voyage particulier. À travers de multiples rencontres avec des habitants locaux et leurs histoires sur le fleuve, elles réinsufflent vie à un ancien mythe. Le spectacle commence dans la profusion et le chaos multicolore, mais plus on se rapproche de la source, plus un ordre rigoureux et un silence monochrome prennent le dessus.

• La femme de théâtre Katja Dreyer vit et travaille à Bruxelles. La saison passée, elle était pour la première fois à l’affiche des Kaaistudio’s avec Ophelia comes to Brooklyn. Karen Røise Kielland a étudié à l’école de théâtre d’Amsterdam. Elle réalise principalement des projets in situ, mais ces derniers temps, son regard se porte aussi sur les salles de théâtre. Un thème récurrent est notre relation complexe avec la nature.

idea, direction and performance Karen Røise Kielland & Katja Dreyer | dramaturge Marit Grimstad Eggen | scenography Ole Martin Lund Bø | composition & music Jessica Sligter | lighting design Ingeborg Staxrud Olerud | speachcoach Isabelle Barth | co-production Buda, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Black Box teater | support Norsk Kulturråd, the Flemish Community, The Flemish Community Commission, Fond for Utøvende kunstnere, Norsk Fond for Lyd og Bilde, Performing Arts Hub Norway | thanks to Linda Theodoru, Danae Theodoridou, Dimitris Anagnostopoulos, Anastasia Efstathiou, Willem De Wolf, The Norwegian Institute, Athens Panayotis and his mother, kunstencentrum Nona, Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein

DURÉE : 70 min.
LANGUAGE : Anglais
ACT

+ post-performance talk on 6/02

Presented by
Kaaitheater ACT - Art Climate Transition