Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Allegory of the Painted Woman

performance
23—23.03.2019

Woman-as-mother, Madonna, temptress, prostitute, martyr, saint or goddess are classical motifs that have been painted and sculpted throughout art history from a predominately male gaze, resulting in the historical fixity of women's gestures and objectification of the body. Alexis Blake selected a series of female poses found in artworks from the Renaissance to early Modernism and created a choreography and performance that explores subjectivity and examines gender and representation through embodiment, repetition and sound. Two dancers and four musicians in the Horta Hall at BOZAR will abstract the poses, strip them of their history and context, and confront the viewer to address, contradict and question preconceived notions of a body. 

• Alexis Blake has a multidisciplinary practice that coalesces fine art, movement and performance. Blake received an MA in Fine Art from Piet Zwart Institute, Rotterdam (2007) and was an artist-in-residence at the Delfina Foundation, London (2016) and Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht (2014–15). Her work has been presented at numerous locations, such as: Riga Biennial 2018, Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam), British Museum (London) as part of Block Universe, ExtraCity (Antwerp) and La Triennale di Milano XXI (Milan).

concept, direction & choreography Alexis Blake | dancers Nafisah Baba, Marika Meoli | musicians Raphaëlle Ribouillault (clarinet), Rosa Vidal (clarinet), Jean Xhonneux (tuba), Robert Visser (euphonium) | music score Alexis Blake, Kirsten Gramlich & Robert Visser | costume design Elisa van Joolen 

DURATION : 30 min.
20/02 > 26/05/2019

within the context of the exhibition
BERNARD VAN ORLEY
BRUSSELS AND THE RENAISSANCE

This first ever monographic exhibition of the work of Bernard van Orley – a key figure in the Renaissance world which formed Bruegel – collects masterpieces from around the world, and returns them to the place where they were once created. > Read more

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
 
 
 

Allegory of the Painted Woman

performance
23—23.03.2019

Mère, Sainte Vierge, tentatrice, prostituée, martyre, sainte ou déesse, tels furent tout au long de l’histoire de l’art les motifs classiques de la peinture et de la sculpture vus à travers des regards à très forte prédominance masculine, résultant dans la fixité historique des gestes de la femme et de la chosification de son corps. Alexis Blake a sélectionné une série de poses féminines d’œuvres d’art de la Renaissance et du début du modernisme pour créer une chorégraphie et une performance qui explorent la subjectivité et examinent le genre et la représentation à travers l’incarnation, la répétition et le son. Dans le Hall Horta de BOZAR, deux danseurs et six musiciens adopteront des poses abstraites, les déferont de leur histoire et de leur contexte et inviteront les spectateurs à aborder, contredire et interroger des notions préconçues d’un corps.

• Alexis Blake a une pratique multidisciplinaire qui réunit les beaux-arts, le mouvement et la performance. En 2007, elle a obtenu son Master en Arts au Piet Zwart Instituut, à Rotterdam. En 2014-2015, elle était artiste en résidence à la Jan Van Eyck Academie à Maastricht et en 2016, à la fondation Delfina à Londres. Ses œuvres s’exposent dans de multiples lieux, comme la Biennale de Riga 2018, le Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam), le British Museum (Londres) dans le cadre du festival de la performance Block Universe, ExtraCity (Anvers) et la Triennale de Milan XXI.

concept, direction & choreography Alexis Blake | dancers Nafisah Baba, Marika Meoli | musicians Raphaëlle Ribouillault (clarinet), Rosa Vidal (clarinet), Jean Xhonneux (tuba), Robert Visser (euphonium) | music score Alexis Blake, Kirsten Gramlich & Robert Visser | costume design Elisa van Joolen 

DURÉE : 30 min.
20/02 > 26/05/2019

within the context of the exhibition
BERNARD VAN ORLEY
BRUSSELS AND THE RENAISSANCE

This first ever monographic exhibition of the work of Bernard van Orley – a key figure in the Renaissance world which formed Bruegel – collects masterpieces from around the world, and returns them to the place where they were once created. > Read more