Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Atlas Revisited

performance
#MadeInBxl
09—10.02.2017

A dance about freedom

In 2012 the visual artist Karthik Pandian and the choreographer Andros Zins-Browne visited the Atlas Film Studios in the Ouarzazate desert (Morocco). They rented a group of camels, which they tried to coax into dancing in amongst the film sets of old Hollywood productions. The result could be seen in the video Atlas/Inserts (2014).

With Atlas Revisited, the artists take a look back at this quest for an image of freedom, questioning their motives and attempting to probe deeper. They present brand new video material, shot in front of a green screen using expensive American camels. Was Atlas/Inserts actually staged by projecting these camels onto background images from Morocco? Pandian and Zins-Browne show the making, unmaking and re-staging of a dance about freedom – and the deception that is often required when creating images of it.

• Andros Zins-Browne was born in New York. He came to Brussels to study at P.A.R.T.S. In 2008 he presented Second Life, his first evening-length performance. After this came Welcome to the Jungle (2013), The Lac of Signs (2014) and The Middle Ages (2015). This season, he also presents three evenings of Atlas Insights.

concept/direction Karthik Pandian & Andros Zins-Browne | production The Great Indoors (Brussels),Hiros (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), EMPAC (Troy, NY), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk) | with the support of the Flemish Community Commission, Black Cinema House (Chicago), Vooruit (Ghent), Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brussels) | in the context of DNA (Departures and Arrivals European Project)

DURATION : 60 min.
KAAITHEATER CO-PRODUCTION
BELGIAN PREMIERE

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Atlas Revisited

performance
#MadeInBxl
09—10.02.2017

Une danse sur la liberté

En 2012, le plasticien Karthik Pandian et le chorégraphe Andros Zins-Browne ont visité les studios Atlas Film dans le désert de Ouarzazate au Maroc. Ils ont loué un groupe de chameaux qu’ils ont tenté de faire danser entre les décors de films d’anciennes productions hollywoodiennes. On a pu voir le résultat dans la vidéo Atlas/Inserts (2014).

Avec Atlas Revisited, les artistes portent un regard rétrospectif sur cette quête d’une image de liberté. Ils remettent leur motivation en question, mais tentent de voir plus loin aussi. Ils présentent du matériau vidéo flambant neuf, filmé pour une technique d’incrustation avec des chameaux américains onéreux. La vidéo Atlas/Inserts était-elle au fond mise en scène en projetant ces chameaux sur fond d’images du Maroc ? Pandian et Zins-Browne nous montrent la réalisation, l’annulation et la reconstitution d’une danse sur la liberté – et le trucage auquel il faut souvent avoir recours pour créer des images.

• Andros Zins-Browne est né à New York. Il est venu étudier à PARTS, à Bruxelles. En 2008, il a présenté Second Life, son premier spectacle de pleine soirée. Ensuite ont suivi Welcome to the Jungle (2013), The Lac of Signs (2014) et The Middle Ages (2015). Cette saison, il présente trois soirs Atlas Insights.

concept/direction Karthik Pandian & Andros Zins-Browne | production The Great Indoors (Brussels),Hiros (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), EMPAC (Troy, NY), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk) | with the support of the Flemish Community Commission, Black Cinema House (Chicago), Vooruit (Ghent), Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brussels) | in the context of DNA (Departures and Arrivals European Project)

DURÉE : 60 min.
KAAITHEATER CO-PRODUCTION
BELGIAN PREMIERE