Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters [BE]

Underneath Which Rivers Flow

Underneath Which Rivers Flow
Underneath Which Rivers Flow

11.09 – 14.09.2019

‘One day, a large banner suddenly appeared on the facade of the Decoratelier, showing a virtual vision of what the neighbourhood might look like in the future. The studio and its surroundings had been replaced by a large park. That same day, I met a group of people from Globe Aroma and we decided to dig a hole towards this future park that, right now, is still an old factory. In the enormous void we taught each other to build out loud: a form of construction in which there is no difference between speaking, dreaming and building. Gradually an alternative park took shape, a park where memories and imagination intermingle, a secret garden filled with shadows and a jumble of grey zones. As yet I understand little of it, but it seems to be a place where people can decide for themselves whether or not to be visible or invisible, and this in the heart of the city.’ – JOZEF WOUTERS

For a year, Decoratelier Jozef Wouters worked with Open Arts House Globe Aroma on Underneath Which Rivers Flow. A group of women and men – builders, poets and dreamers – met weekly in the Decoratelier in Molenbeek. Together, they built stories, a secret garden full of wormholes to unsuspected worlds. Underneath Which Rivers Flow was selected for the TheaterFestival 2019, and is now opening this Kaaitheater season.

• The socio-artistic workplace Globe Aroma enables people to learn about the richness of other people’s cultures and creates opportunities for refugees and newcomers with artistic ambitions. Decoratelier is a project in constant development by scenographer Jozef Wouters. From old industrial buildings in Brussels, he launches various projects in collaboration with a heterogeneous group.


a project by Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | building poets Barry Ahmad Talib, Ali Alkrizi, Mimouna Amri, Mbarek Bouallaga, Zohir Boumelha, Sekou Coumbassa, Chantal Gyselinx, Idris Hassan Hardi, George Khuroshvili, Bushra Lamsyeh, Soumaya Mahroug, Shilemeza Prins, Randy Renders, Tahar Sadam, Marie-Ange Sibi, Ifrah Yusuf Magan | artistic direction Jozef Wouters | artistic collaborator Jeroen Peeters | dramaturgy Vladimir Miller | decoratelier Menno Vandevelde (technical director), Lukas Geerens, Jan Rymenants, Willem Rys, Koen Schetske, Vic Van den Bossche, Siemen Van Gaubergen, Casper van Overschee | film Robbrecht Desmet | light Michiel Soete | sound in collaboration with Vincent Malstaf | production management Penelope Desloovere, Brecht Theunis, Camille Thiry, Ewoud Vermote | production Damaged Goods, Globe Aroma | co-production Kaaitheater, Netwerk Aalst | special thanks to Saïd Amrawu, Alex Cepile | thanks to Thomas Collier, Wannes Cré, Philip Delbecque, Pieter Dumoulin, Marlies Jacques, Sirine Jen, Lila John, Sanae Khamlichi, Ferre Marnef, Hana Miletić, Kristof Vande Walle (M – Museum Leuven), Sarah Vanhee, Nathanael Van Hoecke, De Lork vzw, Gemeente Molenbeek, L’Escaut Architectures, WijkAntenne de Quartier

Related content

Globe Aroma

Landscape Orchestra

music theatre

Landscape Orchestra
Landscape Orchestra

music

Thu 10.10 - Sat 12.10.19

Landscape Orchestra seeks a musical answer to the question of how we can depict departure, travel, and arrival. The production visits the landscapes that we traverse on our way to different and better places. A series of portraits shows people for whom the world is difficult but not necessarily less poetic.

Secret Gardens

essay by Guy Gypens for Underneath Which Rivers Flow

Secret Gardens
Secret Gardens

article

Mon 18.03.19

When the project group of Underneath Which Rivers Flow entered their new, secret work-space, it was made clear to them that their workspace would become part of a public park in the near future. The question was how they – as newcomers to the city – thought about that future park.

Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters [BE]

Underneath Which Rivers Flow

Underneath Which Rivers Flow
Underneath Which Rivers Flow

11.09 – 14.09.2019

« Un jour, la façade de Decoratelier s'est soudain ornée d'un grand calicot portant une représentation virtuelle du futur quartier. L'atelier et ses environs y avaient cédé la place à un grand jardin public. Le même jour, j'ai rencontré un groupe de membres de Globe Aroma, et nous avons décidé de creuser un trou conduisant à ce futur parc, qui est pour le moment encore un ancien site industriel. Dans le vide immense, nous avons appris les uns aux autres à bâtir à voix haute, un mode de création associant la parole, le rêve et la construction. Petit à petit un parc différent a pris forme, un parc où le souvenir et l'imagination se confondent, un jardin secret avec beaucoup d'ombre et un enchevêtrement de zones obscures. Je n'y comprends pas encore grand-chose, mais cela me semble être un lieu où les gens peuvent choisir d'être tantôt visibles et tantôt invisibles, en plein cœur de la ville. » – JOZEF WOUTERS

Pendant un an, Decoratelier Jozef Wouters a collaboré avec la Maison des Arts ouverte Globe Aroma pour Underneath Which Rivers Flow. Un groupe de femmes et d'hommes – bâtisseurs, poètes et rêveurs – s’est réuni toutes les semaines à Decoratelier à Molenbeek. Ensemble, ils ont construit des récits, un jardin secret truffé de trous de vers menant à des univers insoupçonnés. Le spectacle a été sélectionné pour le TheaterFestival 2019, et ouvre cette saison du Kaaitheater.

•  L’espace de travail socio-artistique Globe Aroma permet à des personnes de découvrir la richesse d’autres cultures et offre aux primo-arrivants aux ambitions artistiques l’occasion de les déployer. Decoratelier est un projet en constante évolution du scénographe Jozef Wouters. A partir d'anciens bâtiments industriels bruxellois, il lance différents projets en collaboration avec un groupe heteroclite.


a project by Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | building poets Barry Ahmad Talib, Ali Alkrizi, Mimouna Amri, Mbarek Bouallaga, Zohir Boumelha, Sekou Coumbassa, Chantal Gyselinx, Idris Hassan Hardi, George Khuroshvili, Bushra Lamsyeh, Soumaya Mahroug, Shilemeza Prins, Randy Renders, Tahar Sadam, Marie-Ange Sibi, Ifrah Yusuf Magan | artistic direction Jozef Wouters | artistic collaborator Jeroen Peeters | dramaturgy Vladimir Miller | decoratelier Menno Vandevelde (technical director), Lukas Geerens, Jan Rymenants, Willem Rys, Koen Schetske, Vic Van den Bossche, Siemen Van Gaubergen, Casper van Overschee | film Robbrecht Desmet | light Michiel Soete | sound in collaboration with Vincent Malstaf | production management Penelope Desloovere, Brecht Theunis, Camille Thiry, Ewoud Vermote | production Damaged Goods, Globe Aroma | co-production Kaaitheater, Netwerk Aalst | special thanks to Saïd Amrawu, Alex Cepile | thanks to Thomas Collier, Wannes Cré, Philip Delbecque, Pieter Dumoulin, Marlies Jacques, Sirine Jen, Lila John, Sanae Khamlichi, Ferre Marnef, Hana Miletić, Kristof Vande Walle (M – Museum Leuven), Sarah Vanhee, Nathanael Van Hoecke, De Lork vzw, Gemeente Molenbeek, L’Escaut Architectures, WijkAntenne de Quartier

Sujets apparentés

Globe Aroma

Landscape Orchestra

musique théâtre

Landscape Orchestra
Landscape Orchestra

musique

je 10.10 - sa 12.10.19

Landscape Orchestra cherche une réponse musicale à la question : comment représenter le départ, le voyage et l’arrivée ? Le spectacle visite des paysages qu’on traverse en route vers de meilleurs ailleurs. Une série de portraits nous montre des gens pour qui le monde n’est pas évident, mais pas moins poétique pour autant.

Secret Gardens

essay par Guy Gypens pour Underneath Which Rivers Flow

Secret Gardens
Secret Gardens

article

lu 18.03.19

Lorsque le groupe de travail du projet Underneath Which Rivers Flow est entré dans son nouvel espace de travail secret, on lui a clai-rement fait savoir que dans un proche avenir, ce lieu serait transformé en parc public. La question était de savoir comment, en tant que nouveaux venus dans cette ville, ils envisa-geaient ce futur parc.