Orla Barry [IE]

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade
Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

04.03 – 05.03.2020

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade is a humorous and passionate monologue rooted in a form of artistic barefoot anthropology. Orla Barry directs Einat Tuchman, who explores the boundaries of art, gender, and the rural everyday. Reflecting on a culture in which the connection with nature has been broken, she describes the experiences of an artist who returns from the city to her rural roots and is reborn as a hybrid ‘farmer-artist’. Coincidence, humour and a subtle language game are the ingredients of a performance that blends oral historiography with personal memories.

• Orla Barry is both a visual artist and a shepherd. She lived in Brussels for 16 years and now runs a Lleyn sheep farm in the Irish countryside. During Performatik13, she presented Mountain at Bozar and during Performatik17, she presented Breaking Rainbows – also starring Einat Tuchman – at Argos.


written & directed by Orla Barry | with the collaboration of Einat Tuchman | performed by Einat Tuchman & Orla Barry | chronicle points by Orla Barry | design assistance Tanad Williams & Lutece Mauger | commissioned by MuZee, EVA International | funded by Arts Council of Ireland and Culture Ireland | support Kaaitheater

Related content

Syreeta Hector

Black Ballerina

dance

Black Ballerina
Black Ballerina

dance

Wed 04.03 - Thu 05.03.20

Black Ballerina is based on Syreeta Hector’s relationship with race and classical ballet. The Canadian dancer explores the identity and the unconscious ways in which we try to blend in. ‘I wanted to examine how the body of minorities is depicted onstage, and how white culture has influenced the relationship I have to my own blackness and indigeneity.’

Esther Mugambi & Marloeke van der Vlugt

Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid

performance

Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid
Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid

performance

Wed 04.03 - Thu 05.03.20

Podcast for Introverts is a one-woman performance, a poetic guide to living in this media-saturated world. Esther Mugambi and Marloeke van der Vlugt invite you into the process of creating their podcast – an ironic self-help manual. Especially for WoWmen!, they aremaking a new episode: How to be fluid. they explore shifting gender identities, watery landscapes and the search for a suitable pronoun for individual and collective stories.

Orla Barry [IE]

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade
Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

04.03 – 05.03.2020

Dans ce monologue drôle et passionné écrit pour Einat Tuchman, Orla Barry explore les limites de l’art, du genre et du quotidien rural. Réfléchissant à une culture dont les liens avec la nature sont coupés, elle décrit les expériences d’une artiste qui retourne de la ville vers sa terre natale et y revit en tant que paysanne-artiste. Hasard, humour et jeu de langage subtil composent les ingrédients d’un spectacle qui entrelace l’historiographie orale et les souvenirs personnels.

• Orla Barry est plasticienne et bergère. Elle a vécu 16 ans à Bruxelles et dirige actuellement une ferme de moutons Lleyn dans la campagne irlandaise. Lors de Performatik13, elle a présenté Mountain à Bozar et lors de Performatik17, Argos a montré Breaking Rainbows, auquel Einat Tuchman participait aussi.


written & directed by Orla Barry | with the collaboration of Einat Tuchman | performed by Einat Tuchman & Orla Barry | chronicle points by Orla Barry | design assistance Tanad Williams & Lutece Mauger | commissioned by MuZee, EVA International | funded by Arts Council of Ireland and Culture Ireland | support Kaaitheater

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Syreeta Hector

Black Ballerina

danse

Black Ballerina
Black Ballerina

danse

me 04.03 - je 05.03.20

Black Ballerina s’inspire de la relation de Syreeta Hector à la race et au ballet classique. La danseuse canadienne explore l’identité et les manières inconscientes dont nous tentons de nous intégrer. « Je voulais examiner la façon dont le corps des minorités est représenté sur scène et dont la culture blanche a influencé ma négritude et mes origines indigènes. »

Esther Mugambi & Marloeke van der Vlugt

Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid

performance

Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid
Podcast for introverts. Episode 4: How to be fluid

performance

me 04.03 - je 05.03.20

Podcast for Introverts est une performance seule en scène, un guide poétique pour la vie dans ce monde saturé de média. Esther Mugambi et Marloeke van der Vlugt nous invitent dans le processus de création de son podcast, une sorte de manuel ironique de développement personnel. Spécialement pour WoWmen!, elles réalisent un nouvel épisode : « Comment être fluide ». Elles explorent les identités de genre changeantes, des paysages aquatiques et la quête d’un pronom adéquat pour des récits collectifs et individuels.