Milo Rau/NTGent [CH/BE]

Orestes in Mosul

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

11.10 – 12.10.2019

An apparently endless chain of murders and blood feuds: this is the plot of the Oresteia. Agamemnon sacrifices his daughter Iphigeneia, his wife Clytaemnestra murders him but is in turn murdered by their own son. Aeschylus’ tragedy is considered the foundation myth of Western civilization, in which the principles of blood feuds and ‘an eye for an eye’ were replaced with jurisprudence, integration and reconciliation.

In Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combines the tragedy of tragedies with contemporary political conflicts. With an international ensemble of Iraqi and European actors he presents an Oresteia for our time. The central question is: how will the chain of violence between the parties in the Syrian-Iraqi civil war and their international allies ever come to an end? Milo Rau imbues the tragedy with its ancient grandeur, but simultaneously connects it with topical questions. What might the Oresteia – rehearsed and performed in Western Europe and Mosul – mean today?

• The award-winning Swiss director Milo Rau makes gripping films and plays that blend art, history and politics. At Kaaitheater, he has presented Hate Radio, Five Easy Pieces and Compassion – History of the Machine Gun, among others. Milo Rau has been the artistic director of NTGent since 2018.

‘In Orestes in Mosul, Rau and his dramatist Stefan Bläske present a crystal-clear conjunction of the tragedy of the past with Mosul today.’ — DE STANDAARD

Orestes in Mosul is a new standard in the modern adaptation of classical texts.’ — NRC HANDELSBLAD


direction Milo Rau | with Johan Leysen, Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, ​Susana Abdul Majid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kubar, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy | dramaturgy Stefan Bläske | text Milo Rau & ensemble | based on Oresteia by Aeschylos | film Daniel Demoustier & Moritz von Dungern | film editing Joris Vertenten | direction assistance Katelijne Laevens | trainee direction assistance Bo Alfaro Decreton | assistance dramaturgy Eline Banken | stage manager Marijn Vlaeminck | music Saskia Venegas-Aernouts | light design Dennis Diels | costume design An De Mol | set design ruimtevaarders | sound technique Dimitri Devos | video technique Stijn Pauwels | licht technique Dennis Diels | stage technique Joris Vanhoutte | production NTGent & Schauspielhaus Bochum | in co-production with Tandem Arras-Douai | with the support of Romaeuropa Festival | realised with support through Belgian Tax Shelter

Related content

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

FC Bergman

JR

theatre

JR
JR

theatre

Wed 18.03 - Sun 22.03.20

William Gaddis is one of the most influential authors in American postmodern literature. His 1975 magnum opus JR is a complex and hilarious satire on capitalism. FC Bergman has opted for an ambitious adaptation that unmasks contemporary humanity. The company is building a sky-high set in the halls of Paleis12 at the Heizel, around which an extensive ensemble of actors will reconstruct the kaleidoscopic world of JR.

Milo Rau/NTGent [CH/BE]

Orestes in Mosul

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

11.10 – 12.10.2019

Une succession apparemment sans fin de meurtres et de vengeance : voilà en bref l’intrigue d’Orestie. Agamemnon sacrifie sa fille, Iphigénie. Sa femme, Clytemnestre, le tue pour venger sa fille. À son tour, Oreste, leur fils, tue sa mère tour pour venger son père. La tragédie d’Eschyle constitue le mythe fondateur de la civilisation occidentale dans laquelle le principe de la vengeance – œil pour œil, dent pour dent – cède la place à la justice, l’intégration et la réconciliation.

Dans Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combine la tragédie des tragédies et des conflits politiques actuels. Avec un ensemble international d’acteurs irakiens et européens, il monte une version contemporaine d’Orestie. La question centrale est la suivante : comment mettre fin à la spirale de violence entre les différentes parties belligérantes de la guerre civile syro-irakienne et leurs alliés internationaux ? Milo Rau concède à la tragédie sa grandeur antique, mais y accole en même temps des questions actuelles. Que peut signifier Orestie – répétée et jouée en Europe occidentale et à Mosul – à l’heure actuelle ?

• Le metteur en scène suisse primé et prisé Milo Rau réalise des films et des spectacles documentaires poignants, où s’entremêlent l’art, l’histoire et la géopolitique. Le Kaaitheater a présenté Hate Radio, Five Easy Pieces et Compassion – History of the Machine Gun. Depuis 2018, Milo Rau est le directeur artistique de NTGent.

« Dans Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau et son dramaturge Stefan Bläske tissent avec une limpidité cristalline le lien entre la tragédie d’antan et Mosul aujourd’hui. » – DE STANDAARD

« Orestes in Mosul est le nouveau critère pour une adaptation moderne de textes classiques. » – NRC HANDELSBLAD


direction Milo Rau | with Johan Leysen, Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, ​Susana Abdul Majid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kubar, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy | dramaturgy Stefan Bläske | text Milo Rau & ensemble | based on Oresteia by Aeschylos | film Daniel Demoustier & Moritz von Dungern | film editing Joris Vertenten | direction assistance Katelijne Laevens | trainee direction assistance Bo Alfaro Decreton | assistance dramaturgy Eline Banken | stage manager Marijn Vlaeminck | music Saskia Venegas-Aernouts | light design Dennis Diels | costume design An De Mol | set design ruimtevaarders | sound technique Dimitri Devos | video technique Stijn Pauwels | licht technique Dennis Diels | stage technique Joris Vanhoutte | production NTGent & Schauspielhaus Bochum | in co-production with Tandem Arras-Douai | with the support of Romaeuropa Festival | realised with support through Belgian Tax Shelter

Sujets apparentés

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre

ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.

FC Bergman

JR

théâtre

JR
JR

théâtre

me 18.03 - di 22.03.20

William Gaddis est considéré comme l’un des écrivains états-uniens les plus influents de la littérature post-moderne. Son chef-d’œuvre expérimental, JR, est une satire aussi complexe que désopilante du capitalisme. FC Bergman a opté pour une adaptation ambitieuse qui démasque l’homme contemporain. La compagnie construit un décor colossal autour duquel un vaste ensemble de comédiens et de figurants reconstituent l’univers kaléidoscopique de JR.