Rosas [BE]

Golden Hours (As you like it)

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

20.12 – 22.12.2016

Shakespeare meets Brian Eno

What happens when Shakespeare’s rhythmic and poetic visual language becomes dance? How do you embody the act of listening to a partner who is speaking to you through dance, but otherwise remains silent? With the double title Golden Hours (As you like it), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker alludes to an encounter between Brian Eno’s ambient album Another Green World and Shakespeare’s eccentric comedy As You Like It. In the play, two enamoured characters escape back to nature – to the idyllic Forest of Arden where time stands still – away from a corrupt royal court.

An enchanted world full of capricious characters unfolds during an intrigue comprised of glances, amorous gestures and steps. Delicately balancing between formal abstraction and concrete gestures, they dance uninterruptedly through their intricate entanglements, masquerades, temptations and misunderstandings. Golden Hours (As you like it) draws you into the intensity and sensuality of a mildly ironic world, where the characters speak a language that doesn’t need deciphering to be grasped, yet isn’t pantomime.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | created with and danced by Aron Blom, Linda Blomqvist, Tale Dolven, Carlos Garbin, Tarek Halaby, Mikko Hyvönen, Veli Lehtovaara, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Georgia Vardarou, Sue-Yeon Youn | music Brian Eno | scenography Ann Veronica Janssens | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Bojana Cvejić | artistic assistant Femke Gyselinck | costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Steirischer Herbst (Graz), Ruhrtriennale 2015, Concertgebouw Brugge, Festival Montpellier Danse 2015, Kaaitheater (Brussels)

Related content

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

dance

Thu 23.02 - Sat 04.03.17

In 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, along with Salva Sanchis, created a quartet set to John Coltrane’s jazz album A Love Supreme. Improvisation and composition interweave until they melt together. Join a new cast of young performers, in giving yourself over to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Wed 21.06 - Thu 29.06.17

In 1983, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker firmly put her newly formed dance company Rosas on the international map with Rosas danst Rosas. Four dancers dance themselves, again and again. For this revival, an entirely new, young cast will dance Rosas danst Rosas.

Rosas

Rain (live)

dance

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

dance

Tue 04.10 - Fri 07.10.16

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker's most effervescent performances and is set to Steve Reichs Music for 18 Musicians. Mathematical figures, continuous repetitions, the geometric utilisation of space and the art of continual variation: here De Keersmaeker pushes to its limits everything that had gradually become her trademark.

Rosas [BE]

Golden Hours (As you like it)

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

20.12 – 22.12.2016

Shakespeare rencontre Brian Eno

Que se passe-t-il quand la rythmique et la poésie du langage imagé de Shakespeare deviennent de la danse ? Comment incarne-t-on l’écoute de son partenaire qui s’exprime à travers la danse et ne dit mot au demeurant ? Avec le double titre, Golden Hours (As you like it), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker fait référence à une rencontre entre l’album ambient de Brian Eno, Another Green World, et la comédie singulière de Shakespeare As you like it, dans laquelle deux amants s’enfuient dans la nature, dans la forêt idyllique d’Arden, où le temps n’existe pas, loin de la cour corrompue.

Tout au long d’une intrigue composée de regards, de gestes et de pas amoureux se déploie un monde enchanté, peuplé de personnages extravagants. Oscillant discrètement entre abstraction formelle et mouvements concrets, ils dansent sans relâche à travers leurs épineux manèges, mascarades, séductions et malentendus. Golden Hours (As you like it) entraîne dans l’intensité et la sensualité d’un monde tendrement ironique où les personnages parlent une langue qui n’a pas besoin d’être déchiffrée pour être comprise.

Une pièce à la fois incroyablement romantique et dépouillée jusqu'à l'os. – Le Soir


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | created with and danced by Aron Blom, Linda Blomqvist, Tale Dolven, Carlos Garbin, Tarek Halaby, Mikko Hyvönen, Veli Lehtovaara, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Georgia Vardarou, Sue-Yeon Youn | music Brian Eno | scenography Ann Veronica Janssens | lighting design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Bojana Cvejić | artistic assistant Femke Gyselinck | costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Steirischer Herbst (Graz), Ruhrtriennale 2015, Concertgebouw Brugge, Festival Montpellier Danse 2015, Kaaitheater (Brussels)

Sujets apparentés

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

danse

je 23.02 - sa 04.03.17

En 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Salva Sanchis ont créé un quatuor sur l’album jazz de John Coltrane, A Love Supreme. L’improvisation et la composition s’imbriquent jusqu’à se fondre. Abandonnez-vous avec une nouvelle distribution de jeunes performeurs, à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

danse

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

danse

me 21.06 - je 29.06.17

En 1983, avec Rosas danst Rosas, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a résolument imposé Rosas, sa compagnie de danse fraîchement fondée, sur la scène internationale. Quatre danseuses se dansent, encore et encore. Cette reprise est interprétée par une toute nouvelle distribution de jeunes danseuses.

Rosas

Rain (live)

danse

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

danse

ma 04.10 - ve 07.10.16

Rain est un des spectacles les plus étourdissants d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Figures mathématiques, répétitions persistantes, usage géométrique de l’espace, art de la variation perpétuelle : De Keersmaeker y a poussé à l’extrême tout ce qui appartient entre-temps à sa signature.