Tiago Rodrigues [PT]

Antony and Cleopatra

Antony and Cleopatra
Antony and Cleopatra

13.10 – 15.10.2016

The most hopeless of tragic love stories

Who is not familiar with this legend? Plutarch wrote about it in his Parallel Lives, Shakespeare made a tragedy of it and Mankiewicz turned it into a masterful, insanely expensive Hollywood film starring Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. How can you tell the story of Antony and Cleopatra afresh today when every detail of it is so well known?

The Portuguese writer and director Tiago Rodrigues does not opt for the monumentality of the legend but goes for a refined distillation. You will not find classical actors in his adaptation, but two exceptional dancers: Sofia Dias and Vítor Roriz. Their playful dance language is fascinatingly intertwined with his poetic reworking of this most hopeless of tragic love stories.

• Tiago Rodrigues is director of Lisbon’s Teatro Nacional and previously staged with Yesterday’s Men (2008) and By Heart (2016) at Kaaitheater. He also appeared in tg STAN’s 2013 piece Nora. In April 2017, he will once again be working with tg STAN.


text, direction Tiago Rodrigues | with Sofia Dias, Vítor Roriz | with quotes from Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra | translation from Portuguese Joana Frazão | scenography Ângela Rocha | set construction Decor Galamba | light Nuno Meira | costume Ângela Rocha, Magda Bizarro | artistic collaboration Maria João Serrão, Thomas Walgrave, Magda Bizarro, Rita Mendes  | production Teatro Nacional D. Maria II after an original creation by the company Mundo Perfeito | co-production Centro Cultural de Belém (Lisbon), Centro Cultural Vila Flôr (Guimarães), Temps d'images (Lisbon)

Programmaboekje - Programme de salle - Evening programme

Related content

tg STAN

The way she dies

theatre

The way she dies
The way she dies

theatre

Thu 20.04 - Sat 22.04.17

When you read, you make choices. You translate what you read into the language of your life. A book like Tolstoi’s Anna Karenina could also be the collection of lives it has changed, for better or for worse. In this first play Tiago Rodrigues writes for tg STAN, he convincingly builds a bridge between the actors of the Portuguese Teatro Nacional and those of STAN.

Tiago Rodrigues [PT]

Antony and Cleopatra

Antony and Cleopatra
Antony and Cleopatra

13.10 – 15.10.2016

La plus funeste des tragédies amoureuses

Qui ne connaît pas la légende ? Plutarque en parle dans ses Vies parallèles, Shakespeare en a fait une tragédie et Mankiewicz en a tiré un film hollywoodien magistral et parmi les plus chers de tous les temps, avec Elizabeth Taylor et Richard Burton. Comment à nouveau raconter cette histoire dont chaque détail est connu ?

L’auteur et metteur en scène portugais Tiago Rodrigues n’opte pas pour la monumentalité de la légende, mais en distille une pièce délicate. Pas d’acteurs classiques dans son adaptation, mais deux danseurs exceptionnels, Sofia Dias et Vítor Roriz. Leur vocabulaire gestuel ludique s’entremêle de manière fascinante à la traduction contemporaine de la plus funeste des tragédies amoureuses.

• Tiago Rodrigues est directeur du Teatro Nacional à Lisbonne. Il était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Yesterday’s Men (2008) et By Heart (2016). On a aussi pu le voir jouer dans Nora (2013) de tg STAN. En avril 2017, il remonte sur les planches avec tg STAN.


text, direction Tiago Rodrigues | with Sofia Dias, Vítor Roriz | with quotes from Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra | translation from Portuguese Joana Frazão | scenography Ângela Rocha | set construction Decor Galamba | light Nuno Meira | costume Ângela Rocha, Magda Bizarro | artistic collaboration Maria João Serrão, Thomas Walgrave, Magda Bizarro, Rita Mendes  | production Teatro Nacional D. Maria II after an original creation by the company Mundo Perfeito | co-production Centro Cultural de Belém (Lisbon), Centro Cultural Vila Flôr (Guimarães), Temps d'images (Lisbon)

Sujets apparentés

tg STAN & Teatro Nacional D. Maria II

The way she dies

théâtre

The way she dies
The way she dies

théâtre

je 20.04 - sa 22.04.17

Quand nous lisons, nous faisons des choix. Nous traduisons ce que nous lisons vers le langage de notre propre existence. Un roman comme Anna Karénine de Tolstoï peut aussi être la collection des vies qu'il a changées, en bien ou en mal. Tiago Rodrigues écrit pour la première fois un texte de théâtre pour tg STAN : The way she dies jette un pont entre les acteurs du Teatro Nacional et de STAN.