Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Towards a Ruined Theater

exhibition
24.04—22.05.2024

Together with architect Sébastien Tripod and graphic & floral designer Deborah Robbiano, choreographer and researcher Sara Manente is creating an installation around the fertile ruin, based on fungal imagery. Having previously created architectural fungi columns, they now aim to imagine an entire theatre in collaboration with fungi and molds. 

The theatre turns into a compost in which process equals products and things are not stable but rather in constant decay and regrowth. A situation creating space for questions, metaphors and images around contamination and finality. Is every encounter a form of contamination? Is every performance a ruin that could bring fruit?

Manente invites makers and thinkers at a number of moments to activate the installation in different ways. Clara Lévy's and Victor Guaita's concert takes place on 17 May and further programming will be announced in the spring. 

Together with Pilar and VUB Crosstalks, Kaaitheater presents this exhibition as part of A Series of More-than-human Encounters. This project highlights different ways of being and alternative forms of knowledge. With the forest, the mountains and the deep sea as our thinking partners, we invite you to come and discover what is hidden behind the horizon of human knowledge.  

Towards a Ruined Theater is also part of Pilar's KunstxScience programme and VUB Crosstalks. 

Sara Manente studied dance and semiotics before coming to Brussels, where she works as an artist and researcher. Her projects start from the images and matter of living cultures and fungi in relation to performing arts. In different formats, she reflects on the possible contagion/transfer between pedagogy, research, performance and publication.

• Deborah Robbiano is a multidisciplinary artist who works with found objects, both natural and man-made, to create vegetal sculptures, sets and installations. In her work, she lets chance encounters and the longevity of plants guide her process. Each element is abstracted from its original form and purpose. This shift allows her to celebrate the ephemerality in the many stages of vegetal transformation.

• Sébastien Tripod graduated from the Joint Masters in Architecture of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland and the Luca School of Arts in Ghent. He collaborates with various groups for projects in residence, advocating environmental and social ecology. Closely associated with the knowledge of craftsmanship, interested in traditional building techniques and the use of low technology, he works as an independent architect, based in Lausanne since 2018.

Opening hours: 14:00 > 20:00
Vernissage: 24/04 18:00 > 22:00

Wed 24 Apr 24
18:00
Thu 25 Apr 24
14:00
Fri 26 Apr 24
14:00
Sat 27 Apr 24
14:00
Thu 02 May 24
14:00
Fri 03 May 24
14:00
Sat 04 May 24
14:00
Wed 08 May 24
14:00
Thu 09 May 24
14:00
Wed 15 May 24
14:00
Thu 16 May 24
14:00
Fri 17 May 24
14:00
Sat 18 May 24
14:00
Wed 22 May 24
14:00
Presented by
Kaaitheater VUB/Crosstalks Pilar

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Towards a Ruined Theater

expo
24.04—22.05.2024

Avec l'architecte Sébastien Tripod et la designeuse graphique et florale Deborah Robbiano, la chorégraphe et chercheuse Sara Manente crée une installation autour de la fécondité des ruines basée sur des images de moisissures. Après avoir créé des colonnes de champignons architecturales, iels veulent imaginer un théâtre entier avec le concours de champignons et de moisissures. 

Le théâtre se transforme en un compost dans lequel le processus est égal aux produits et où les choses ne sont pas stables, mais plutôt en constante décomposition et repousse. Cette situation crée un espace propice à susciter des questions, métaphores et images autour de la contamination et de la finitude. Chaque rencontre est-elle une forme de contamination ? Chaque performance est-elle une ruine féconde ? 

Manente invite les créateur·ices et les penseur·euses à activer l'installation de différentes manières. Le 17 mai, vous pourrez assister au concert de Clara Lévy et Victor Guaita. D'autres activités seront au programme et annoncées au printemps. 

En collaboration avec Pilar et VUB Crosstalks, le Kaaitheater présente cette exposition dans le cadre de A Series of More-than-human Encounters. Ce programme met en lumière différentes manières d'être et des formes alternatives de connaissance. En utilisant la forêt, les montagnes et les profondeurs de la mer comme partenaires de réflexion, nous vous invitons à venir découvrir ce qui se cache derrière l'horizon de la connaissance humaine. 
Towards a Ruined Theater fait également partie du programme KunstxScience de Pilar et de VUB Crosstalks. 

• Sara Manente a étudié la danse et la sémiotique avant de s'installer à Bruxelles, où elle travaille comme artiste et chercheuse. Ses projets partent des images et de la matière des cultures vivantes ainsi que des moisissures, qu’elle met en lien avec les arts de la scène. Sa réflexion porte sur la contagion/ transfert potentielle entre la pédagogie, la recherche, la performance et la publication, et ce sous différents formats. 

• Deborah Robbiano est une artiste pluridisciplinaire qui travaille avec des objets trouvés, naturels ou fabriqués par l'homme, pour créer des sculptures, des décors et des installations végétales. Dans son travail, elle se laisse guider par le hasard des rencontres et la longévité des plantes. Chaque élément est abstrait de sa forme et de sa fonction d'origine. Ce décalage lui permet de célébrer l'éphémère dans les multiples étapes de la transformation végétale.

• Sébastien Tripod est diplômé du Master commun en architecture de la Haute école des sciences appliquées et des arts de Suisse occidentale et de la Luca School of Arts de Gand. Il collabore avec divers groupes pour des projets en résidence, prônant l'écologie environnementale et sociale. Étroitement associé à la connaissance de l'artisanat, intéressé par les techniques de construction traditionnelles et l'utilisation des basses technologies, il travaille en tant qu'architecte indépendant, basé à Lausanne depuis 2018.

Opening hours: 14:00 > 20:00
Vernissage: 24/04 18:00 > 22:00

mer 24 avr 24
18:00
jeu 25 avr 24
14:00
ven 26 avr 24
14:00
sam 27 avr 24
14:00
jeu 02 mai 24
14:00
ven 03 mai 24
14:00
sam 04 mai 24
14:00
mer 08 mai 24
14:00
jeu 09 mai 24
14:00
mer 15 mai 24
14:00
jeu 16 mai 24
14:00
ven 17 mai 24
14:00
sam 18 mai 24
14:00
mer 22 mai 24
14:00
Presented by
Kaaitheater VUB/Crosstalks Pilar