Bashar Murkus / Khashabi Theatre [PS]

The Museum

The Museum
The Museum

10.12 – 11.12.2019

A man commits a terrorist attack in a museum of contemporary art, killing 49 children and a teacher. His plan to commit suicide by cop fails, however. They arrest and interrogate him, resulting in a death sentence.

He waits on death row for seven years. A week before his execution, he convinces the police detective who was in charge of his case to join him for his last meal. The two men meet each other in the space where the lethal injection will be administered, where they play risky and manipulative games that could only take place on a final night. What meaning do these two men hope to find in the death that they both desire, each in their own way?

• Baskar Murkus is a Palestinian theatremaker and founder of the Khashabi Theatre and Ensemble. He previously presented New Middle East and Other Places at Kaaitheater.


written and directed by Bashar Murkus | research Majd Kayyal | dramaturgy Khulood Basel | scenography Majdala Khoury | with Henry Andrawes, Ramzi Maqdisi | music Nihad Awidat | light design & technical director Muaz Aljubeh | graphic design Nihad Awidat | translation Lore Baeten | production Khashabi Theatre | co-production Schlachthaus Theatre, Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre, Vooruit

Bashar Murkus / Khashabi Theatre [PS]

The Museum

The Museum
The Museum

10.12 – 11.12.2019

Un homme commet un attentat terroriste dans un musée d’art contemporain : 49 enfants et un enseignant meurent. Son plan d’être abattu par la police rate et il est arrêté, interrogé, jugé et condamné à mort.

Il attend sept ans durant son exécution capitale dans une cellule. Une semaine avant sa mise à mort, il convainc l’inspecteur de police qui a enquêté sur l’affaire de lui tenir compagnie lors de son dernier repas. Les deux hommes se rencontrent dans l’espace où l’injection létale lui sera administrée. Ils s’aventurent à des jeux manipulateurs et risqués qui ne peuvent se jouer qu’au soir d’un dernier repas. Quel sens ces deux hommes espèrent-ils trouver dans la mort qu’ils convoitent tous deux, chacun à sa manière ?

• Le Palestinien Bashar Murkus est créateur de théâtre et fondateur du Khashabi Ensemble Theatre. Le Kaaitheater a précédemment présenté New Middle East et Other Places.


written and directed by Bashar Murkus | research Majd Kayyal | dramaturgy Khulood Basel | scenography Majdala Khoury | with Henry Andrawes, Ramzi Maqdisi | music Nihad Awidat | light design & technical director Muaz Aljubeh | graphic design Nihad Awidat | translation Lore Baeten | production Khashabi Theatre | co-production Schlachthaus Theatre, Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre, Vooruit

Sujets apparentés

Ne pas se battre pour sa vie, mais pour le sens de sa vie

Un entretien avec Bashar Murkus

Ne pas se battre pour sa vie, mais pour le sens de sa vie
Ne pas se battre pour sa vie, mais pour le sens de sa vie

article

me 16.10.19

Au moment où nous nous entretenons avec Bashar Murkus sur sa dernière pièce, The Museum, il profite de quelques jours de répit. Le moment idéal pour une interview, affirme-t-il. Avec The Museum, il met en scène un jeu de pouvoir dangereux : « la violence n’est pas le propre d’une personne en particulier, elle fait partie de tous les êtres humains. »