FC Bergman [BE] Toneelhuis / NTGent / KVS

JR

JR
JR

18.03 – 22.03.2020

This show will be staged in the 2019-2020 season – but you can already book your tickets!

In the mid-1970s, the New York stock exchange was brutally disrupted or at least severely shocked when a new player emerged on the market out of the blue: JR Vansandt is smart, merciless and… only eleven years old.

William Gaddis is one of the most influential authors in American postmodern literature. His 1975 magnum opus JR is a complex and hilarious satire on capitalism. FC Bergman has opted for an ambitious adaptation that unmasks contemporary humanity. JR premièred in Antwerp last year and is now being staged in Brussels. The company is building a sky-high set in the halls of Paleis12 at the Heizel, around which an extensive ensemble of actors will reconstruct the kaleidoscopic world of JR.

• FC Bergman was founded by six young theatremakers in 2008. In only a short time, they have developed their own theatre language that is not only anarchistic and mildly chaotic, but especially very visual and poetic. They have previously presented the impressive location-based projects Terminator Trilogie and Het land Nod in the Kaaitheater programme.


presented by Kaaitheater, KVS, CC Westrand, CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, De Munt & Théâtre National

regie Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck | gebaseerd op het boek JR van William Gaddis | tekstbewerking FC Bergman i.s.m. Bart Van den Eynde & Willem Wallyn | met Joé Agemans, Kes Bakker, Gene Bervoets, Jan Bijvoet, Michael De Cock, Rashif El Kaoui, Frank Focketyn, Ella‑June Henrard, Bart Hollanders, Imke Mol, Junior Mthombeni, Anne‑Laure Vandeputte, Stijn Van Opstal, Geert Van Rampelberg, Oscar Van Rompay, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck, e.a. | geluidsontwerp Senjan Jansen | kostuumontwerp Joëlle Meerbergen | lichtontwerp FC Bergman i.s.m. Ken Hioco | figuranten Peter Apers, Cato Baccarne, Maya Cools, Emma Geudes, Geert Goossens, Lore Goossens, Witse Lemmens, Shana Listes, Paul Schrijvers, Assan Sey, Minne van den Broek, Leon van Mieghem, Peter Jan van Mieghem, Jentel Vaes, Jules Verachtert, Natnael Vervliet, Loes Wagemans , Kobe Debie, Foozen Ken Koné, Alya Tahir, Tim Zeegers | productie Toneelhuis | FC Bergman | coproducie KVS, NTGent, Olympique Dramatique | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius, De Neef Milieu en Chemiegroep, Must – Museum voor textiel, Ronse | met dank aan Must – Museum voor textiel Ronse, Café Costume, KunstZ

Related content

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Fri 11.10 - Sat 12.10.19

An apparently endless chain of murders and blood feuds: this is the plot of the Oresteia. In Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combines the tragedy of tragedies with contemporary political conflicts. How will the chain of violence between the parties in the Syrian-Iraqi civil war and their international allies ever come to an end? With an ensemble of Iraqi and European actors, Rau presents an Oresteia for our time.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

FC Bergman [BE] Toneelhuis / NTGent / KVS

JR

JR
JR

18.03 – 22.03.2020

Ce spectacle est programmé pour la saison 2019-2020, mais vous pouvez déja reserver vos billets !

Au milieu des années 70, le monde de la bourse new-yorkaise est brutalement déstabilisé ou du moins sérieusement secoué par l’arrivée impromptue d’un nouvel acteur venu de nulle part qui prend le marché d’assaut : JR Vansandt. Ce dernier est retors, impitoyable et… à peine âgé de onze ans.

William Gaddis est considéré comme l’un des écrivains états-uniens les plus influents de la littérature post-moderne. Son chef-d’œuvre expérimental, JR, est une satire aussi complexe que désopilante du capitalisme. FC Bergman a opté pour une adaptation ambitieuse qui démasque l’homme contemporain. La première de JR a eu lieu l’année passée à Anvers et la production se prépare pour un passage à Paris et ensuite à Bruxelles. Dans les espaces du Palais 12 du Heysel, la compagnie construit un décor colossal autour duquel un vaste ensemble de comédiens et de figurants reconstituent l’univers kaléidoscopique de JR.

• Fondé en 2008 par six jeunes créateurs de théâtre, FC Bergman a rapidement élaboré un langage théâtral bien à lui qui, outre anarchiste et légèrement chaotique, est également infiniment visuel et poétique. Le Kaaitheater a présenté précédemment les projets hors les murs très imposants Terminator Trilogie et Het land Nod de FC Bergman.


presented by Kaaitheater, KVS, CC Westrand, CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, De Munt & Théâtre National

regie Stef Aerts, Joé Agemans, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck | gebaseerd op het boek JR van William Gaddis | tekstbewerking FC Bergman i.s.m. Bart Van den Eynde & Willem Wallyn | met Joé Agemans, Kes Bakker, Gene Bervoets, Jan Bijvoet, Michael De Cock, Rashif El Kaoui, Frank Focketyn, Ella‑June Henrard, Bart Hollanders, Imke Mol, Junior Mthombeni, Anne‑Laure Vandeputte, Stijn Van Opstal, Geert Van Rampelberg, Oscar Van Rompay, Thomas Verstraeten, Marie Vinck, e.a. | geluidsontwerp Senjan Jansen | kostuumontwerp Joëlle Meerbergen | lichtontwerp FC Bergman i.s.m. Ken Hioco | figuranten Peter Apers, Cato Baccarne, Maya Cools, Emma Geudes, Geert Goossens, Lore Goossens, Witse Lemmens, Shana Listes, Paul Schrijvers, Assan Sey, Minne van den Broek, Leon van Mieghem, Peter Jan van Mieghem, Jentel Vaes, Jules Verachtert, Natnael Vervliet, Loes Wagemans , Kobe Debie, Foozen Ken Koné, Alya Tahir, Tim Zeegers | productie Toneelhuis | FC Bergman | coproducie KVS, NTGent, Olympique Dramatique | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius, De Neef Milieu en Chemiegroep, Must – Museum voor textiel, Ronse | met dank aan Must – Museum voor textiel Ronse, Café Costume, KunstZ

Sujets apparentés

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

ve 11.10 - sa 12.10.19

Une succession apparemment sans fin de meurtres et de vengeance : voilà en bref l’intrigue d’Orestie. Dans Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combine la tragédie des tragédies et des conflits politiques actuels. Comment mettre fin à la spirale de violence entre les différentes parties belligérantes de la guerre civile syro-irakienne et leurs alliés internationaux ? Avec un ensemble d’acteurs irakiens et européens, Rau monte une version contemporaine d’Orestie.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre

ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.