Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

shoe/farm – prelude

performance
16—17.02.2024

In glass slippers and sturdy bottoms, buren (Oshin Albrecht and Melissa Mabesoone) saunter across the playing field, as if on a catwalk. They hoist themselves in ropes, ripped and turned inside-out jeans and delicate lace curtains. On the farm, their worn-out work trousers are a sign of hard labour. In the city, they are a fashion statement.

As in SPARE TIME WORK (2021), in which they first addressed the theme, in this performance the duo starts from their personal experiences. They explore the relationships between customers and sellers, producers and products on a farm in Zeeuws-Vlaanderen, a shoe shop along the Belgian coast and in their own art practice. 

Neither performer intends to take over the family business, but they do engage with the legacy of their ancestors: what mentalities and behaviours have they consciously or unconsciously absorbed? They search for what connects the three worlds: the shoe shop, the farm and the artistry.

• The name buren derives from a term found in Heidegger’s ‘Building, Dwelling, Thinking’ in which ‘büren’ coincides with ‘building’ and ‘inhabiting’. For its founders Melissa Mabesoone and Oshin Albrecht it functions as a noun and as a verb; as an umbrella term for their practice and as a modus operandi. 

Through performance, video, text, objects, photography and installation they navigate ideas of community, domesticity, gender, (art) history and neoliberal fantasies. These subjects are approached with a sense of irony and humour as well as a future-oriented imagination. buren are artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater since 2003. They have already performed Blue Skies Forever (2020), To give voice to (2020) and SPARE TIME WORK (2021).

concept by buren (Oshin Albrecht & Melissa Mabesoone) | created with Oshin Albrecht, Melissa Mabesoone, Vera Martins, Benjamin Cools, Famke Dhont, Margaux Janssens | produced by au bureau | co-production Kaaitheater, Kunstencentrum BUDA, workspacebrussels, C-takt, KAAP, de Brakke Grond, Theaterfestival Boulevard, STUK, apap - FEMINIST FUTURES, a project co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

shoe/farm – prelude

performance
16—17.02.2024

En pantoufles de verre et lourdes bottines, le collectif buren (Oshin Albrecht et Melissa Mabesoone) déambulent sur le terrain de jeu comme sur un catwalk. Elles se hissent à l'aide de cordes, de jeans déchirés et retournés et de délicates tentures en dentelle. Alors que leurs pantalons usés témoignent d’un dur labeur à la ferme, en ville, elles sont en revanche un signe de mode.

Comme dans SPARE TIME WORK (2021), où elles ont abordé le thème pour la première fois, le duo part de ses expériences personnelles lors de cette performance. Elles explorent les relations entre les client·es et les vendeur·euses, les producteur·ices et les produits dans une ferme en Flandre zélandaise, dans un magasin de chaussures le long de la côte belge et à travers leur propre pratique artistique. 

Aucune des deux artistes n'a l'intention de reprendre l'entreprise familiale, mais elles se confrontent à l'héritage de leurs ancêtres : quelles mentalités et quels comportements ont-elles absorbé consciemment ou inconsciemment ? Elles se mettent en quête de ce qui relie les trois mondes - le magasin de chaussures, la ferme et l'art.

• Le nom de buren vient de l'essai de Heidegger Bâtir, habiter, penser, dans lequel büren est lié à la construction et à l’habitation. Le terme est à la fois un concept et un verbe pour Melissa Mabesoone et Oshin Albrecht, les fondatrices de buren. Elles le considèrent comme un terme générique pour leur pratique et leur façon de travailler. 

À travers la performance, la vidéo, le texte, les objets, la photographie et l'installation, elles naviguent entre les idées de formes communautaires, de domesticité, de genre, d'histoire (de l'art) et de fantasmes néolibéraux. Elles abordent ces sujets avec ironie et humour, ainsi qu'avec une imagination tournée vers l'avenir. buren est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater depuis 2023. Elles ont déjà présenté Blue Skies Forever (2020) et To give voice to (2020) et SPARE TIME WORK (2021). 

concept by buren (Oshin Albrecht & Melissa Mabesoone) | created with Oshin Albrecht, Melissa Mabesoone, Vera Martins, Benjamin Cools, Famke Dhont, Margaux Janssens | produced by au bureau | co-production Kaaitheater, Kunstencentrum BUDA, workspacebrussels, C-takt, KAAP, de Brakke Grond, Theaterfestival Boulevard, STUK, apap - FEMINIST FUTURES, a project co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.