Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Billy’s Joy

theatre
19—20.04.2024

For Billy's Violence (2021), Victor Afung Lauwers researched ten of William 'Billy' Shakespeare’s tragedies and rewrote them into a series of intimate dialogues, violent and loving, centred on women. For Billy's Joy, he dives into the comedies. Directed by Jan Lauwers and with the cast of Billy's Violence

"There are many facets of joy. I want to focus on one of them, that of reconciliation. Reconciliation is a benchmark of society. Without the ability to reconcile with each other, we lose our dignity. It is also a major theme in Shakespeare's comic oeuvre.  

The idea that comedies are funny and tragedies are not, is actually a misinterpretation. The only poetic difference between comedy and tragedy (according to Aristotle) is that a comedy ends well, and a tragedy ends badly. Whether the beginning and middle of a story is sombre or cheerful is of no consequence." – Victor Afung Lauwers 

Needcompany is an artist house founded in 1986 by Jan Lauwers and Grace Ellen Barkey. Since 2001, Maarten Seghers has been associated with Needcompany. This central trio of creators performs theatre, dance, performance, visual art, texts, etc. Kaaitheater has been presenting their multidisciplinary, multilingual and international work ever since the start. For example, you could recently see War and Turpentine (2018), All the Good (2020) and of course Billy's Violence (2021) on our stage. 

text Victor Afung Lauwers | music Maarten Seghers | creation Jan Lauwers, Grace Ellen Barkey, Emily Hehl, Nao Albet, Gonzalo Cunill, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen, Martha Gardner | dramaturgy Elke Janssens | technic direction & light Koen De Saeger | sound Ditten Lerooij | execution props & costumes Charlotte Seeligmüller | technicians Jannes Dierynck, Raphael Noel, Jérémy Michel | intern technician Luca van het Groenewoud | company manager Pieter D’Hooghe | production Needcompany | co-production Impulstanz (Wenen), Perpodium, Le Quartz (Brest), The Shakespeare Festival (Gdansk), CC Brugge, Teatro Central (Sevilla) | with the support of Vlaamse overheid en Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest 

DURATION : 105 min.
LANGUAGE : Spanish Dutch English Catalan — srt. Dutch

This performance contains loud/shrill sounds, deep bass, and distinct smells.
Exit and re-entry is permitted.

 

Content warning:

This piece contains nudity and sirens/gunshots.

Fri 19 Apr 24
20:30
Sat 20 Apr 24
20:30
Presented by
Kaaitheater Periferik
32€
28€
*24€
18€
12€

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 

Billy’s Joy

théâtre
19—20.04.2024

Pour Billy's Violence (2021), Victor Afung Lauwers a examiné dix tragédies de William ‘Billy’ Shakespeare et les a réécrites en une série de dialogues intimes, violents et amoureux où les femmes tiennent une place centrale. Pour Billy's Joy, il se plonge dans les comédies. Dans une mise en scène de Jan Lauwers, vous retrouverez les acteur·ices de Billy's Violence

"Le joie comporte de nombreuses facettes. Je veux me concentrer sur l'une d'entre elles, celle de la réconciliation. La réconciliation est une référence pour la société. Sans la capacité de se réconcilier les un·es avec les autres, nous perdons notre dignité. C'est aussi un thème majeur de l'œuvre comique de Shakespeare. 

L'idée que les comédies sont drôles et que les tragédies ne le sont pas est en fait une erreur d'interprétation. La seule différence poétique entre la comédie et la tragédie (selon Aristote) est qu'une comédie se termine bien et qu'une tragédie se termine mal. Que le début et le milieu d'une histoire soient sombres ou joyeux n'a aucune importance." - Victor Afung Lauwers 

Needcompany est une maison d'artistes fondée en 1986 par Jan Lauwers et Grace Ellen Barkey. Depuis 2001, Maarten Seghers est associé à Needcompany. Ce trio central d'artistes fait du théâtre, de la danse, de la performance, de l'art visuel, des textes, etc. Leur travail se caractérise depuis le début par son caractère multidisciplinaire, multilingue et international. Le Kaaitheater le présente depuis ses prémices. Vous avez pu voir récemment notamment War and Turpentine (2018) All the Good (2020) et, bien sûr, Billy's Violence (2021) sur notre scène. 

text Victor Afung Lauwers | music Maarten Seghers | creation Jan Lauwers, Grace Ellen Barkey, Emily Hehl, Nao Albet, Gonzalo Cunill, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen, Martha Gardner | dramaturgy Elke Janssens | technic direction & light Koen De Saeger | sound Ditten Lerooij | execution props & costumes Charlotte Seeligmüller | technicians Jannes Dierynck, Raphael Noel, Jérémy Michel | intern technician Luca van het Groenewoud | company manager Pieter D’Hooghe | production Needcompany | co-production Impulstanz (Wenen), Perpodium, Le Quartz (Brest), The Shakespeare Festival (Gdansk), CC Brugge, Teatro Central (Sevilla) | with the support of Vlaamse overheid en Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid via Cronos Invest 

DURÉE : 105 min.
LANGUAGE : Espagnol Néerlandais Anglais Catalan — srt. Néerlandais

Wunderkammer: Avec votre billet pour Needcompany, vous pouvez assister au festival de musique Wunderkammer, le sa 20/04.

Ce spectacle contient des sons forts et stridents, des basses profondes et des odeurs distinctes. Il est permis de sortir et de rentrer.

Content warning :

Cette pièce contient de la nudité et des coups de feu/des sirènes.

ven 19 avr 24
20:30
sam 20 avr 24
20:30
Presented by
Kaaitheater Periferik
32€
28€
*24€
18€
12€