WE:SLEEP

Sleep is an uncompromising interruption of the theft of time from us by capitalism.
– Jonathan Crary

Is sleep the best form of meditation, as the Dalai Lama says? At the end of the year, around the time of the longest night on 21/12, we are bringing together artists and thinkers who reflect on the theme of sleep. David Weber-Krebs and Patrícia Portela research the powerful potential of sleeping – in an age in which we might as well be awake 24 hours a day. Nathalie Pattyn gives a lecture on the effects of light on sleep. The Monastery is coming to the Kaaistudios for a second day, with rituals that have been adapted to the winter. And Valentine Kempynck questions how meaningful hibernation may be for us today.

David Weber-Krebs

The Guardians of Sleep

performance

The Guardians of Sleep
The Guardians of Sleep

production

Fri 15.12 - Sat 16.12.17

What happens exactly when we fall asleep? What is it like to be a viewer watching other people fall asleep in a theatre, to witness this most intimate act? The Guardians of Sleep is a collective attempt to withdraw in a world that is always ‘switched on’ – and where an ‘off’ button simply doesn’t seem to exist.

Isabella Gresser

Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin

film

Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin
Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin

production

Mon 18.12.17

This essay film about philosopher Byung-Chul Han encircles the phenomenon of fatigue in our capitalistic societies – and its associated symptoms, such as depression and burnout. Visual artist Isabella Gresser interweaves the cinematic, photographic and drawn observations she made in Korea and Berlin with spoken text and lecture excerpts.

Patrícia Portela

Parasomnia

Parasomnia
Parasomnia

production

Tue 19.12 - Thu 21.12.17

What does it mean to abandon yourself to sleep in a society which considers it to be an inevitable illness? Patrícia Portela invites you to an installation of four rooms, which you walk through one by one. Parasomnia promotes the ‘production of melatonin’, and the ‘appropriate vapours of somnolence for the induction of a regenerative sleep and lucid dreams’.

Nathalie Pattyn

Light and Dark

talk

Light and Dark
Light and Dark

production

Thu 21.12.17

Nathalie Pattyn researches the influence of light and dark on the quality of sleep. She spent long research periods on Antarctica during the summer, with almost permanent sunlight, and during the winter, when the sun never rises. She discusses physical reactions to the presence or absence of light, and the influence of our biological clock on sleep patterns.

Valentine Kempynck

Winter Sleep

brainstorm

Winter Sleep
Winter Sleep

production

Thu 21.12 - Wed 21.03.18

Valentine Kempynck invites you to a brainstorm session about contemporary forms of hibernation. An animal crawls into its cave and eats its stored food – but what about humans in 2017? How can we slow down and digest as a society? Can we reinstate darkness in the role it needs and deserves?

WE:SLEEP

« Le sommeil est une interruption sans compromis du temps que le capitalisme nous vole. »
– JONATHAN CRARY
 
Le sommeil est-il la meilleure méditation comme l’affirme de dalaï-lama ? À la fin de l’année, lors de la plus longue nuit, le 21 décembre, nous réunissons des artistes et des penseurs autour du thème du sommeil. David Weber-Krebs et Patrícia Portela analysent le puissant potentiel du temps de sommeil – à une époque où nous pourrions tout aussi bien rester éveillés 24 heures sur 24. Nathalie Pattyn donne un exposé de l’effet de la lumière sur le sommeil. The Monastery s’empare pour une deuxième journée des Kaaistudio’s avec des rituels adaptés à l’hiver. Et Valentine Kempynck se demande ce qu’une hibernation pourrait signifier pour nous aujourd’hui.

The Monastery

A-LIFE 21/12

rituel

A-LIFE 21/12
A-LIFE 21/12

rituel

je 21.12.17

Pour la deuxième fois, The Monastery débarque aux Kaaistudio’s avec A-LIFE, une journée ritualisée selon le rythme des saisons. Cette fois, les moines urbains vous accompagnent dans le passage de l’automne à l’hiver.

Isabella Gresser

Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin

film talk

Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin
Fatigue Society: Byung-Chul Han in Seoul/Berlin

film

lu 18.12.17

Ce film documentaire sur le philosophe Byung-Chul Han cerne le phénomène de fatigue dans nos sociétés capitalistes et ses symptômes associés, comme la dépression et le burn-out. Suite au film, Bieke Purnelle modère un débat avec Ignaas Devisch, Valentine Kempynck, David Weber-Krebs et Patrícia Portela.

Patrícia Portela

Parasomnia

expo installation

Parasomnia
Parasomnia

expo

ma 19.12 - je 21.12.17

Que signifie « s’abandonner au sommeil » dans une société qui le considère comme une maladie inévitable ? Patrícia Portela nous invite dans une installation composée de quatre espaces en enfilade, à traverser un à un. Une série de tableaux défilent, des images se fondent quasi sans qu’on s’en aperçoive. En écoutant 1001 histoires, on est tenté de sombrer dans le sommeil – ou au contraire de rester éveillé.

Patrícia Portela

Parasomnia - Late Night

expo talk

Parasomnia - Late Night
Parasomnia - Late Night

expo

je 21.12 - je 21.12.17

Que signifie « s’abandonner au sommeil » dans une société qui le considère comme une maladie inévitable ? Patrícia Portela nous invite dans une installation composée de quatre espaces en enfilade, à traverser un à un, chef Annick Gernaey prépare un 'sleeping supper' et Nathalie Pattyn (VUB) donne un exposé de l’effet de la lumière sur le sommeil.

David Weber-Krebs

The Guardians of Sleep

performance

The Guardians of Sleep
The Guardians of Sleep

performance

ve 15.12 - sa 16.12.17

Que se passe-t-il précisément lorsqu’on s’endort ? Que peut signifier le fait de regarder d’autres s’endormir quand on est un spectateur dans une salle de théâtre et qu’on est témoin d’un acte si intime ? The Guardians of Sleep est une tentative collective de rempli dans un monde toujours en mode « allumé » – où un bouton « arrêt » ne semble tout simplement pas exister.

Valentine Kempynck

WINTER:SLEEP

brainstorm

WINTER:SLEEP
WINTER:SLEEP

brainstorm

je 21.12 - me 21.03.18

Valentine Kempynck vous invite à une session de remue-méninges sur les formes contemporaines d’hibernation. Un animal se tapit dans son terrier et se nourrit de ses réserves – mais que faisons-nous en tant qu’êtres humains en 2017 ? Comment pouvons-nous, en tant que société, ralentir, digérer et rendre à l’obscurité sa place indispensable ?