How to Tell Many Stories?

Storytelling is an ancient tradition found in all cultures. These contemporary performing artists make inventive use of the ingredients of storytelling: voice, role, language, image and interaction.

Lucas Katangila

La veste du président

dance

La veste du président
La veste du président
Kaaistudio's
Thu 27.10 - Fri 28.10.22

With his political solo The President's Jacket, Congolese dancer, choreographer and activist Lucas Katangila tackles the abuses in eastern Congo. In his choreography balances between supple, flowing movements and a very calculated, sometimes even restrained dance. Until the tension can no longer be held back and the piece erupts, spitting out the violence.

Arkadi Zaides

NECROPOLIS (+18)

performance dance

NECROPOLIS (+18)
NECROPOLIS (+18)
De Kriekelaar
Fri 28.10 - Sat 29.10.22

Arkadi Zaides and his team are building an archive of dead people who were only admitted to Europe as bodies. The performance is an invitation to participate in the sensory discovery of a ghostly virtual territory, to question your sense of accountability and your role as a citizen. 

Lígia Soares

Romance

performance

Romance
Romance
Kaaistudio's
Wed 09.11 - Thu 10.11.22

Romance is an invitation to discover the recognition, repulsion and humor that is created when you allow someone else to be your voice. In an intimate setting, Lígia Soares makes us reflect on how we think as individuals within a group by using ordinary sentences to create connections between herself and audience members.  

Effi & Amir

The 8th Letter

lecture performance

The 8th Letter
The 8th Letter
Kaaistudio's
Tue 22.11 - Wed 23.11.22

The 8th letter, H, is the letter that started Effi & Amir's research into the both ancient and contemporary practice of ‘Shibboleth’.  Around a round table, this interactive performance draws lines, measures sounds and tells stories about how a voice becomes a border and a collection of sounds becomes a checkpoint. 

Ahilan Ratnamohan

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

lecture performance

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
Kaaistudio's
Thu 02.02.23

In this three-part lecture series, Ahilan Ratnamohan explores the impact of language on society, drawing on his own experience of learning Tamil. Kaaitheater presents Part I, Parts II and III at the Passa Porta festival and Kunstenfestivaldesarts. 

Rébecca Chaillon

Carte Noire Nommée Désir

theatre performance

Carte Noire Nommée Désir
Carte Noire Nommée Désir
Hallen van Schaarbeek
Wed 15.02 - Thu 16.02.23

Carte Noire Nommée Désir starts with a funny story about colour and colonialism. That marks the beginning of a poetic journey on stage by a group of eight performers. They appropriate their own history as black women, in a country that has yet to decolonise its own imagination.

BERLIN

The Making of Berlin

theatre music

The Making of Berlin
The Making of Berlin
Westrand
Fri 17.02.23

The Making of Berlin is the final part of BERLIN's cycle of cities. With live music on stage - and Opera Ballet Vlaanderen’s orchestra on film - BERLIN takes on an exceptional story in documentary style. The performance focuses on an unfinished chapter in the life of an old Berliner - with Wagner's Götterdämmerung in a crucial role and Klara manager and Pompidou inspiration Chantal Pattyn in a supporting role.

Lisaboa Houbrechts & La Geste (les ballets C de la B + kabinet k)

Vake poes

muziektheater

Vake poes
Vake poes
KVS BOL
Fri 03.03 - Sat 04.03.23

Lisaboa Houbrechts writes and stages a family epic that spans three generations, using Bach's St John Passion as a guideline. At the centre is a twelve-year-old girl who has come to the end of a long history and delves into the hidden traumas of the past.

Tea Tupajić / Münchner Kammerspiele

Licht

theatre

Licht
Licht
KVS BOL
Thu 20.04 - Fri 21.04.23

For Licht, Tea Tupajić uses the power of theatre to reach a place where language and other media cannot get to. For a year, she invited four Yezidi women to retreat together and undertake the journey towards performance.

tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

theatre

About Elly
About Elly
CC Strombeek
Fri 21.04 - Sat 22.04.23

Tg STAN once again delves into the oeuvre of Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi. With a group of eleven actors which includes different generations of creators and actors as well as different nationalities, Tg STAN creates a performance about doubt, friendship, honour and responsibility. Which truth is true and for whom? Is the truth really that relevant? Or can a lie bring salvation?

Dina Mimi

Grinding the wind 

lecture performance

Grinding the wind 
Grinding the wind 
Kaaistudio's
Wed 26.04 - Thu 27.04.23

In Grinding the wind, Dina Mimi tries to fill in the missing parts in the story of her Palestinian great-grandfather who underwent medical tests and heart surgery. Fascinated by the performative nature of the operation, Mimi sets off on a journey through archives, oral histories, dreams and books. 

FC Bergman / Toneelhuis

The Sheep Song

theatre

The Sheep Song
The Sheep Song
CC De Factorij
Fri 12.05 - Sat 13.05.23

A sheep stands up and decides that it no longer is fulfilled. It feels that it is destined for a life more glorious than those of its fellow sheep. In this visually stunning performance, you will see FC Bergman at their best. The impressive sets and silent poetry with a dark side take you into a world where everything comes and goes. The Sheep Song is a modern parable about the fear of, and attraction to, change in a human life.

Tristero

Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée

theatre

Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée
Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée
De Kriekelaar
Tue 04.10 - Sun 23.10.22

“The walls have ears” people sometimes say. But what if they could also speak? For Fluisterbehang, Tristero uncovers the hidden stories stored in the walls of the Schaerbeek residence at 80 Gallaitstraat. During a guided visit you literally listen to the walls of the old building!

Ecopolis 2022

OPGELET: DIT EVENEMENT VINDT PLAATS IN DE ANCIENNE BELGIQUE  !!!

colloquium debate conversations

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Ancienne Belgique
Sat 15.10.22

Social, ecological and economic crises force us to think about a radically different way of living. "The world is not about to end; we are already living with a different world," writes philosopher Bayo Akomolafe, speaker at the eighth edition of Ecopolis where artists, thinkers and doers break open our frames. This year, Ecopolis brings stories that depict an inclusive and sustainable future for this new world.

How to Tell Many Stories?

La narration est une tradition ancienne présente dans toutes les cultures. Ces artistes contemporain·es de la scène utilisent de manière inventive les ingrédients de la narration : voix, rôle, langage, image et interaction.

Lucas Katangila

La veste du président

danse

La veste du président
La veste du président
Kaaistudio's
je 27.10 - ve 28.10.22

Avec son solo politique La veste du président, le danseur, chorégraphe et activiste congolais Lucas Katangila s'attaque aux exactions commises dans l'est du Congo. Dans sa chorégraphie, il oscille entre des mouvements souples et fluides, et une danse très calculée, parfois même retenue. Jusqu'à ce que la tension ne puisse plus être contenue et que la pièce éclate et crache la violence.

Arkadi Zaides

NECROPOLIS (+18)

performance danse

NECROPOLIS (+18)
NECROPOLIS (+18)
De Kriekelaar
ve 28.10 - sa 29.10.22

Arkadi Zaides et son équipe élaborent une archive des corps qui ont été admis en Europe uniquement en tant que corps. NECROPOLIS est une invitation à participer à la découverte sensorielle d'un territoire virtuel fantomatique, à remettre en question votre sens de la responsabilité et votre rôle en tant que citoyen·ne.

Lígia Soares

Romance

performance

Romance
Romance
Kaaistudio's
me 09.11 - je 10.11.22

Romance est une invitation à découvrir la reconnaissance, la répulsion et l'humour qui se créent lorsque vous autorisez une tierce personne à porter votre voix. Lígia Soares nous fait réfléchir dans un cadre intime à la façon dont nous pensons en tant qu'individus au sein d'un groupe. 

Effi & Amir

The 8th Letter

lecture performance

The 8th Letter
The 8th Letter
Kaaistudio's
ma 22.11 - me 23.11.22

La 8e lettre, H, est la lettre qui est à l'origine de la recherche d'Effi & Amir sur la pratique ancienne et contemporaine du "Shibboleth". Autour d'une table ronde, cette performance interactive trace des lignes, mesure des sons et raconte des histoires sur la façon dont une voix se transforme en une frontière, et une collection de sons en un point de contrôle.

Ahilan Ratnamohan

Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community

lecture performance

 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
 Should Have Been My Mother Tongue - I. Community
Kaaistudio's
je 02.02.23

Dans cette série de conférences en trois parties, Ahilan Ratnamohan explore l'impact de la langue sur la société, en s'appuyant sur sa propre expérience d'apprentissage du tamoul. Le Kaaitheater présente le premier volet, tandis que les parties II et III se dérouleront au festival Passa Porta et au Kunstenfestivaldesarts. 

Rébecca Chaillon

Carte Noire Nommée Désir

théâtre performance

Carte Noire Nommée Désir
Carte Noire Nommée Désir
Hallen van Schaarbeek
me 15.02 - je 16.02.23

Carte Noire Nommée Désir commence par une blague sur la couleur et le colonialisme. Elle marque le début d'un voyage poétique sur scène porté par un groupe de huit interprètes. Elles s'approprient leur histoire de femmes noires et ce dans un pays qui n'a toujours pas décolonisé son propre imaginaire.

BERLIN

The Making of Berlin

théâtre musique

The Making of Berlin
The Making of Berlin
Westrand
ve 17.02.23

The Making of Berlin est la dernière pièce du cycle des villes de BERLIN. Avec de la musique en live sur scène - et l'orchestre du Ballet de l'Opéra de Flandre filmé - BERLIN relate une histoire exceptionnelle à travers un style documentaire. Le spectacle se concentre sur un chapitre inachevé de la vie d'un vieux Berlinois - avec le Götterdämmerung de Wagner dans un rôle crucial et Chantal ‘Klara’ Pattyn dans un rôle secondaire.

Lisaboa Houbrechts & La Geste (les ballets C de la B + kabinet k)

Vake poes

muziektheater

Vake poes
Vake poes
KVS BOL
ve 03.03 - sa 04.03.23

Lisaboa Houbrechts écrit et met en scène une saga familiale qui se déploie sur trois générations, utilisant Passion selon saint Jean de J.S. Bach comme fil rouge. Un grand récit entre théâtre et opéra. Une jeune fille de douze ans qui se trouve en bout de chaîne d'une longue histoire et plonge dans les traumatismes enfouis du passé, y occupe une place centrale

Tea Tupajić / Münchner Kammerspiele

Licht

théâtre

Licht
Licht
KVS BOL
je 20.04 - ve 21.04.23

Pour Licht, Tea Tupajić mobilise le pouvoir du théâtre pour atteindre un lieu que le langage et les autres médias ne peuvent pas rejoindre. Pendant un an, elle invite quatre femmes yézidies à se retirer ensemble et à entreprendre le voyage vers la performance.

tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

théâtre

About Elly
About Elly
CC Strombeek
ve 21.04 - sa 22.04.23

Tg STAN se plonge une fois encore dans l'œuvre du cinéaste iranien Asghar Farhadi. Avec un groupe de onze acteur·ices, où différentes générations de créateur·ices et d’acteur·ices et différentes nationalités sont représentées, Tg STAN crée un spectacle sur le doute, l'amitié, l'honneur et la responsabilité. Quelle vérité est vraie et pour qui ? Et est-ce que la vérité importe-t-elle réellement ? Ou un mensonge est-il à même d’apporter le salut ?

Dina Mimi

Grinding the wind 

lecture performance

Grinding the wind 
Grinding the wind 
Kaaistudio's
me 26.04 - je 27.04.23

Dans Grinding the wind, Dina Mimi tente de combler les lacunes de l'histoire de son arrière-grand-père palestinien, qu'il a subit des examens médicaux et une opération du cœur. Fascinée par la nature performative de l'opération, Mimi entreprend un voyage à travers les archives, les histoires orales, les rêves et les livres.   

FC Bergman / Toneelhuis

The Sheep Song

théâtre

The Sheep Song
The Sheep Song
CC De Factorij
ve 12.05 - sa 13.05.23

Un mouton se lève et décide qu'il n'est plus satisfait de lui-même. Il sent qu'il est destiné à une existence plus glorieuse que celle de ses semblables. Le meilleur de FC Bergman se révèle dans cette performance visuellement époustouflante. Les décors impressionnants et la poésie silencieuse avec un côté sombre, vous emmènent dans un monde où tout va et vient. The Sheep Song est une parabole moderne sur la peur - et l'attirance - du changement dans une vie humaine.

Tristero

Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée

théâtre

Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée
Fluisterbehang / Visite Guidée
De Kriekelaar
ma 04.10 - di 23.10.22

On dit parfois que « les murs ont des oreilles". Mais que se passerait-il s'ils pouvaient également parler ? Pour Fluisterbehang, Tristero découvre les histoires cachées, emmagasinées dans les murs de la demeure située au numéro 80 de la rue Gallait à Schaerbeek. Lors d'une visite guidée, vous écoutez littéralement les murs de l'ancien bâtiment !

Ecopolis 2022

OPGELET: DIT EVENEMENT VINDT PLAATS IN DE ANCIENNE BELGIQUE  !!!

colloque débat conversations

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Ancienne Belgique
sa 15.10.22

Les crises sociales, écologiques et économiques nous forcent à réfléchir à un mode de vie radicalement différent. "La fin du monde n'est pas imminente ; nous vivons déjà dans un monde différent", écrit le philosophe Bayo M. Akomolafe, intervenant à la huitième édition d'Ecopolis, où des artistes, des penseur·euses et des créateur·ices brisent nos cadres. Cette année, Ecopolis propose des histoires qui dépeignent un avenir inclusif et durable pour ce nouveau monde.