#challengethesystem

x

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Fri 11.10 - Sat 12.10.19

An apparently endless chain of murders and blood feuds: this is the plot of the Oresteia. In Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combines the tragedy of tragedies with contemporary political conflicts. With an international ensemble of Iraqi and European actors – including Johan Leysen – he presents an Oresteia for our time.

Michiel Vandevelde

Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance dance

Paradise Now (1968-2018)
Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance

Fri 25.10.19

Michiel Vandevelde goes in search of traces of the legacy of May ’68, along with a new generation of young people. Will they open new perspectives on the future when they research half a century of history in a wild choreography of iconic images?

Ecopolis 2019

#GenerationHope

talk debate

#GenerationHope
#GenerationHope

talk

Sun 10.11.19

It is the most sensational event of the past year: the massive protest of young people against the climate impasse. This Generation Hope holds up a mirror to politicians and has catapulted the climate crisis to the centre of our social debate. Ecopolis 2019 is a special edition for but especially with #GenerationHope, on the theme of a sustainable future on a liveable planet.

Christophe Meierhans

Trials of Money

theatre

Trials of Money
Trials of Money

theatre

Thu 14.11 - Fri 15.11.19

‘Money rules the world,’ it is sometimes said. Is money responsible for what has happened in the world under its governance? Can we call it to account for the horrifying situations in which many people find themselves today? Christophe Meierhans invites you to join him in an exploration of what money is and does. Last season, he premiered Trials of Money. He is now presenting a revised solo version.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

Joost Vandecasteele

Culturo Says No

theatre

Culturo Says No
Culturo Says No

theatre

Tue 05.05 - Wed 06.05.20

‘I resist the laziness of resistance. I am disgusted by how rage imagines itself to be a valid argument. I am ashamed of the dullness of the screamers. After Otaku, In Onaanvaardbare Staat and Habeus Corpus Joost Vandecasteele is returning with this new solo.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

dance

Tafukt
Tafukt

dance

Fri 08.05 - Mon 11.05.20

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena is a dance solo and the first part of a trilogy focused on epistemologies and mythologies of the Tamazigh – the indigenous population of Northern Africa. How can we challenge the current canon? Can performance function as a tool of resistance? Radouan Mriziga seeks to create a space for reflections on the past in order to strive for a more inclusive future.

#challengethesystem

x

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

ve 11.10 - sa 12.10.19

Une succession apparemment sans fin de meurtres et de vengeance : voilà en bref l’intrigue d’Orestie. Dans Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combine la tragédie des tragédies et des conflits politiques actuels. Avec un ensemble international d’acteurs irakiens et européens – dont Johan Leysen –, il monte une version contemporaine d’Orestie.

Michiel Vandevelde

Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance danse

Paradise Now (1968-2018)
Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance

ve 25.10.19

Michiel Vandevelde et une nouvelle génération de très jeunes gens partent à la recherche de ce qui subsiste de l’héritage de Mai 68. De nouvelles perspectives d’avenir se profilent-elles lorsque ces derniers balayent un demi-siècle d’histoire dans une chorégraphie effrénée d’images iconiques ?

Ecopolis 2019

#GenerationHope

talk débat

#GenerationHope
#GenerationHope

talk

di 10.11.19

Il s’agit de l’événement le plus retentissant de l’année passée : le soulèvement massif des jeunes contre l’impasse climatique. Cette #GénérationEspoir tend un miroir aux politiciens et catapulte la question du climat au cœur du débat sociétal. Ecopolis 2019 sera une édition spéciale, pour et surtout avec la #GénérationEspoir, inscrite sous le signe d’un avenir durable sur une planète vivable.

Christophe Meierhans

Trials of Money

théâtre

Trials of Money
Trials of Money

théâtre

je 14.11 - ve 15.11.19

S'il est vrai que l'argent gouverne le monde, ne pourrait-on pas alors lui demander de rendre des comptes sur la misère qui sévit toujours dans le monde aujourd’hui ? Christophe Meierhans nous invite à une investigation de de ce qu’est et de ce que fait précisément l’argent. La saison passée, il a présenté une première de Trials of Money, à présent, il propose une version retravaillée en solo.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre

ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.

Joost Vandecasteele

Culturo Says No

théâtre

Culturo Says No
Culturo Says No

théâtre

ma 05.05 - me 06.05.20

« Je m’insurge contre la paresse de la résistance. J’exècre la façon dont la colère s’imagine être un argument digne. J’ai honte de l’ennui des brailleurs. » Après Otaku, In Onaanvaardbare Staat et Habeus Corpus, Joost Vandecasteele revient avec un nouveau solo.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

danse

Tafukt
Tafukt

danse

ve 08.05 - lu 11.05.20

Tafukt est un solo de danse et le premier volet d’une trilogie sur le (T) amazigh, la culture indigène de l’Afrique du Nord. Comment remettre en question le canon actuel ? La performance peut-elle être un outil de résistance ? Avec Tafukt, Radouan Mriziga souhaite créer un espace de réflexion sur le passé permettant de parvenir à un avenir plus inclusif.