Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Louis Nam Le Van Ho & Alain Franco/Rosas [BE]

Zeitigung

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

11.12 – 14.12.2019

Almost ten years after Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Alain Franco used the building blocks of that production to make a new one: Zeitigung. Against the backdrop of a changing world and channelled through the bodies of eight young dancers, they updated their own work. The young choreographer and dancer Louis Nam Le Van Ho brought his own dance language into dialogue with De Keersmaeker’s choreography. His contribution builds a bridge to a new generation of creators and choreographers, offering a different perspective on De Keersmaeker’s and Franco’s ongoing exploration of the intersection between music and dance. In Zeitigung, Alain Franco again takes his seat at the piano. In a broad historical gesture, the music of Bach, Brahms, Schönberg and Webern stretches across the geometric principles and improvisations in the choreography. Zeitigung is returning to the Kaaitheater stage, where it premièred in 2017.

Zeitigung is a joyful thunderclap, a long lightning flash of energy and happiness. Suspended time that awakens you to the magic and the tenderness of the world.’ – LA LIBRE

‘A playful across eight fascinating personalities who portray themselves – while lying down, jumping, and grinning – through and thanks to Franco’s tender piano playing.’ – KNACK FOCUS


concept  Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Alain Franco, Louis Nam Le Van Ho | choreography

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Louis Nam Le Van Ho | piano Alain Franco | created with and danced by Lav Crnčević, José Paulo dos Santos, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Louis Nam Le Van Ho, Luka Švajda, Thomas Vantuycom | music Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Arnold Schönberg, Robert Schumann, Anton Webern | rehearsal director Mark Lorimer, Cynthia Loemij | assistants transmission Zeitung (2008) Mark Lorimer, Cynthia Loemij, Moya Michael, Elizaveta Penkova, Tale Dolven | dance vocabulary in collaboration with David Hernandez | lighting design Luc Schaltin, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz | costume assistant Lila John | sewing Charles Gisèle, Maria Eva Rodriguez | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | technical director Joris De Bolle | sound Alexandre Fostier | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Michael Smets | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie | special thanks to Femke Gyselinck, Theo Livesey, Piano’s Maene, Dominique Duszynski | world premiere 9/11/2017, Kaaitheater | Zeitigung was realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation.

Related content

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

dance music

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

dance

Fri 15.05 - Wed 20.05.20

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most characteristic performances, set to Steve Reich’s Music for 18 Musicians. Seven women and three men allow themselves to be propelled by an unstoppable joined energy. They are connected by a lively network of breathing and speed, as well as the special comradery that forms when you are beyond fatigue. In 2016, Rain was reprised with a new cast, premièring at the Royal Circus.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

dance

Thu 12.09 - Sun 29.09.19

In 2017, Salva Sanchis and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker adapted A Love Supreme with four young, male dancers. The distinctly vibrant production was immediately selected for the TheaterFestival. It is high time that you join the dancers again and succumb to John Coltrane’s spiritual tribute to divine love!

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

dance

Achterland
Achterland

dance

Wed 29.01 - Sun 09.02.20

Achterland (1990) is a seminal choreography in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre. The minimalism and prevalent femininity of Rosas’ early pieces gave way to an ambiguous no-man’s-land in which boundaries and symbols were blurred. Last season, the reprise of Achterland starring a new generation of Rosas dancers made a tremendous impression: don’t miss this opportunity to see it again.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Louis Nam Le Van Ho & Alain Franco/Rosas [BE]

Zeitigung

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

11.12 – 14.12.2019

Près de dix ans après Zeitung (2008), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Alain Franco reprennent les éléments essentiels de cette chorégraphie pour créer Zeitigung. Dans l’intervalle, le monde a muté et, à travers les corps de huit jeunes danseurs, ils actualisent leur propre travail. À l’occasion de cette révision, le jeune danseur-chorégraphe Louis Nam Le Van Ho est invité à confronter son propre langage à l’écriture d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Sa contribution jette un pont vers une nouvelle génération de créateurs et de danseurs et une autre lumière sur la quête continue que mènent De Keersmaeker et Franco autour de la convergence entre la musique et la danse. Alain Franco s’installe à nouveau au piano. Dans un geste historique de large amplitude, les œuvres de Bach, Brahms, Schönberg et Webern croisent les lois de la géométrie et les principes de l’improvisation chorégraphique. Zeitigung sera à nouveau à l’affiche du Kaaitheater, où a eu lieu la première en 2017.

« Zeitigung est un joyeux coup de tonnerre, un long éclair d’énergie et de bonheur. Un temps suspendu qui vous éveille à la magie et la tendresse du monde. » – LA LIBRE

« Un voyage ludique le long de huit personnalités fascinantes qui se portraiturent – couchés, sautant et ricanant – à travers et grâce au tendre jeu de piano de Franco. » – KNACK FOCUS


concept  Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Alain Franco, Louis Nam Le Van Ho | choreography

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Louis Nam Le Van Ho | piano Alain Franco | created with and danced by Lav Crnčević, José Paulo dos Santos, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Louis Nam Le Van Ho, Luka Švajda, Thomas Vantuycom | music Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Arnold Schönberg, Robert Schumann, Anton Webern | rehearsal director Mark Lorimer, Cynthia Loemij | assistants transmission Zeitung (2008) Mark Lorimer, Cynthia Loemij, Moya Michael, Elizaveta Penkova, Tale Dolven | dance vocabulary in collaboration with David Hernandez | lighting design Luc Schaltin, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz | costume assistant Lila John | sewing Charles Gisèle, Maria Eva Rodriguez | artistic coordination and planning Anne Van Aerschot | technical director Joris De Bolle | sound Alexandre Fostier | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Emma Zune, Ella De Vos | technicians Max Adams, Jonathan Maes, Quentin Maes, Michael Smets | production Rosas | co-production De Munt/La Monnaie | special thanks to Femke Gyselinck, Theo Livesey, Piano’s Maene, Dominique Duszynski | world premiere 9/11/2017, Kaaitheater | Zeitigung was realized with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, in collaboration with Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation.

Sujets apparentés

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

danse musique

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

danse

ve 15.05 - me 20.05.20

Rain (2001) est l’une des plus électrisantes productions d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, écrite sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Sept femmes et trois hommes s’abandonnent à une irrépressible énergie collective qui les connecte l’un à l’autre, réseau bouillonnant où se partagent le souffle, la vitesse, et cette étrange amitié qui ne peut naître qu’au-delà de la fatigue. En 2016, une nouvelle distribution a repris Rain au Cirque Royal.

Rosas

A Love Supreme

danse

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

danse

je 12.09 - di 29.09.19

En 2017, Salva Sanchis et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ont retravaillé A Love Supreme avec quatre jeunes danseurs masculins. Un spectacle d’une grande vitalité qui a d’emblée été sélectionné pour le TheaterFestival. Grand temps de s’abandonner une fois de plus avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de John Coltrane à l’amour suprême.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Achterland

danse

Achterland
Achterland

danse

me 29.01 - di 09.02.20

Achterland (1990) tient une place décisive dans le parcours d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Le minimalisme et la féminité dominante des précédents spectacles de Rosas cèdent la place à un no man’s land ambigu où l’on se joue des frontières en brouillant les signes. La saison passée, la reprise d’Achterland avec une nouvelle génération de danseurs a fait grande impression : ne laissez pas cette nouvelle occasion vous échapper !