Ligia Lewis [DO/DE]

Water Will (in Melody)

Water Will (in Melody)
Water Will (in Melody)

06.12 – 07.12.2019

Water Will (in Melody) is a devised choreographic work for four performers that uses melodrama as a point of departure. Wrestling with language and notions of ‘the will’, this dystopian fantasy becomes a space for negotiating desire, imagination, and feelings of an encroaching end. Unfolding with playful inventiveness, a wet and cavernous landscape becomes host to a fiction that invites instability, recreation, and catastrophe.

Lewis initiates this world in which voice, gesture, touch and movement flow like waves – both gentle and turbulent. Through the language of mimesis, Lewis and her performers engage with the porousness of the theatre by producing a fantastical-like materiality that is translucent to its metaphoric and symbolic weight. Surrendering to the possibilities of the haptic, sense gets un-done to get re-done, paving the way for an-‘othered’ organization of sight and touch.

Through this process of alienation, exteriorization, and materialization, this melodrama touches the borders of its own making, giving life to both the emotional landscape of its protagonists as well as to the theatre itself. 

• The Dominican-American dancer and choreographer Ligia Lewis has previously presented minor matter – for which she won the prestigious Bessie Award – and Sorrow Swag at Kaaitheater. As a dancer, she has performed on the Kaaitheater stage in 7 Pleasures by Mette Ingvartsen and MONUMENT 0 by Eszter Salamon.

‘Raw and direct, disturbingly grotesque, suddenly beautifully poetic and unwittingly explicit.’ – Katja Vaghi, bachtrack.com


concept & choreography Ligia Lewis | performance Jolie Ngemi, Dani Brown, Ligia Lewis, Susanne Sachsse | dramaturgy Maja Zimmermann | light design Ariel Efraim Ashbel | sound design Jassem Hindi, S. McKenna | stage design Eike Böttcher | technical direction & light Catalina Fernandez | costumes sowrong studio | assistant Carina Zox, Gilad Bendavid | production management HAU Artist Office / Sabine Seifert | touring & distribution HAU Artist Office / Nicole Schuchardt | production Ligia Lewis / HAU Hebbel am Ufer | co-production Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018, Centre D’Art Contemporain, tanzhaus nrw , donaufestival, Arsenic Centre d'art scénique contemporain, Walker Art Center | funded by Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe | supported by Baryshnikov Arts Center

Ligia Lewis [DO/DE]

Water Will (in Melody)

Water Will (in Melody)
Water Will (in Melody)

06.12 – 07.12.2019

Water Will (in Melody), une œuvre chorégraphique conçue pour quatre performeurs, prend pour point de départ le mélodrame. Aux prises avec le langage et des notions de « volonté », cette fantaisie dystopique devient un espace de négociation pour le désir, l’imagination et des sentiments d’une fin gagnant du terrain. Déployé avec une inventivité ludique, un paysage humide et caverneux devient l’hôte d’une fiction qui invite l’instabilité, la récréation et la catastrophe.

Lewis crée ce monde dans lequel la voix, le geste, le toucher et le mouvement ondulent comme une vague, à la fois douce et houleuse. À travers le langage du mimétisme, Lewis et ses performeurs s’engagent dans la porosité du théâtre en produisant une matérialité aux aspects fantastiques, dont la translucidité laisse filtrer son poids métaphorique et symbolique. S’abandonnant aux possibilités du toucher, le sens se construit et se déconstruit, pavant le chemin d’une organisation d’altérité de vue et de toucher. Par le biais de ce processus d’aliénation, d’extériorisation et de matérialisation, ce mélodrame touche aux limites de sa propre création et donne vie au paysage émotionnel de ses protagonistes et au théâtre lui-même.

• La danseuse et chorégraphe américano-dominicaine Ligia Lewis était précédemment à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec minor matter – pour lequel elle a remporté le prestigieux Bessie Award – et avec Sorrow Swag. En tant que danseuse, on a pu la voir sur la scène du Kaaitheater dans 7 Pleasures de Mette Ingvartsen et dans MONUMENT 0 d’Eszter Salamon.

‘Raw and direct, disturbingly grotesque, suddenly beautifully poetic and unwittingly explicit.’ – Katja Vaghi, bachtrack.com


concept & choreography Ligia Lewis | performance Jolie Ngemi, Dani Brown, Ligia Lewis, Susanne Sachsse | dramaturgy Maja Zimmermann | light design Ariel Efraim Ashbel | sound design Jassem Hindi, S. McKenna | stage design Eike Böttcher | technical direction & light Catalina Fernandez | costumes sowrong studio | assistant Carina Zox, Gilad Bendavid | production management HAU Artist Office / Sabine Seifert | touring & distribution HAU Artist Office / Nicole Schuchardt | production Ligia Lewis / HAU Hebbel am Ufer | co-production Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018, Centre D’Art Contemporain, tanzhaus nrw , donaufestival, Arsenic Centre d'art scénique contemporain, Walker Art Center | funded by Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe | supported by Baryshnikov Arts Center